Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part II of 'The Destroyermen' Series
The story continues from the first book, 'Into the Storm'. Captain Matthew Reddy and his crew on the obsolete 4 stacker destroyer USS Walker continue their struggles to help the Lemurians against the Grik invaders, who would wipe them out. There are already many problems and things are about to take a turn for the worse. The book combines history, politics, action and...
Published on 27 Nov 2009 by G. Fergus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars present
as said previous was bought for present arrived promptly and well packaged partner enjoyed the book as well price reasonable
Published 16 months ago by miss rh reardon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part II of 'The Destroyermen' Series, 27 Nov 2009
By 
G. Fergus "jollyjambo" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story continues from the first book, 'Into the Storm'. Captain Matthew Reddy and his crew on the obsolete 4 stacker destroyer USS Walker continue their struggles to help the Lemurians against the Grik invaders, who would wipe them out. There are already many problems and things are about to take a turn for the worse. The book combines history, politics, action and mystery in an excellent addition to the series. I am looking forward to reading the third book 'Maelstrom' and am very pleased to note that a fourth book 'Distant Thunders' is due to be published next year (2010).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More! More!, 15 April 2010
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This second episode of the Destroyermen saga continues the adventures of a WW 2 ship and its crew that are swept into a time warp in 1942 and emerge into a very different world.

If I have one criticism it is that some of the twist and turns in the story are flagged up a little too early and reduce the dramatic effect but I accept that is a very subjective view.

Excellent gritty writing coupled with colourful and innovative plot make this a difficult book to put down.

JNB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crusade, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Crusade is excellent; I am eager to read the next book in the series. Anderson combines carfully crafted characters, with whom one completely identifies, and ripping war scenes. Fantastic. Buy it. Buy the series of three. It is a book to see dawn with; it is so difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WW2, Dinosaurs, Sailing ships. What's not to love?, 18 Mar 2014
In this excellent series, anderson presents us with an excellent new spin on the "shipwreck in time" theme, in which a parallel world has close links to our own, and occasionally things from our own world fall through. Several important things being the two trashed vintage american destroyers fleeing the Japanese at the start of WW2, and the ruddy great big battleship that was chasing them. This is the second book in the series, and probably one of my favourite, as it takes everything we've grown to like from the first novel, then turns it into a great, and very fas paced story. This is one of the very few books that i can truly say that I found impossible to put down, as I read it in a day.
Anderson is one of the rare writers who has the ability to seamlessly blend a brilliant visual style of writing with superb characterisation and story. What's more, his stories all have brilliant little moments of quiet philosophy by certain characters that makes it so much more. What's even better is the fact that his stories genuinely have heart, and you really feel for the characters, the Revenge story arc in this book being a good example, of a few characters who we barely see for 15 pages, yet the scene with many Islands is heart rending. I recommend this series very highly, even if it does get a little drawn out after the initial "trilogy", but this book works superbly in a semi self contained way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars present, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
as said previous was bought for present arrived promptly and well packaged partner enjoyed the book as well price reasonable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Second Installment, 22 Feb 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'll keep this review short. If you read and enjoyed Into the Storm (Destroyermen), the first in the Destroyermen series, then you will enjoy the second volume, Crusade. It continues the story established in volume one, whilst expanding the alternative universe that the book's human protagonists have found themselves stranded in. All the strengths and weaknesses of the first book are on display in this one.

For those who disliked Into The Storm then I doubt you'll pick this one up anyway. For anyone considering tackling the series for the first time, go back and start with Into The Storm. Anderson does provide a potted recap of events from the first book at the beginning of this one, but you'll still miss out on a lot of backstory if you start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and exciting!, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Mieczyslaw Kasprzyk (Oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, here we are back in that alternate Earth - you know the one - the one inhabited by those nice, furry, sociable,sea-going "meerkats". Except it's not a nice furry, fluffy Earth, that one. It's dangerous, very dangerous with its oceans populated by amazingly nasty voracious fish, dinosaur-like creatures walk the forests and all the cute life-forms are threatened by psychotic, murderous, intelligent lizards that just love to eat you alive. And the nasty Japs have allied with them! What chance do clean-living American boys have?
I'm actually doing the book a disservice here because it becomes very easy to forget the "meerkats" aren't human, and the story really does become an exciting and gripping one of struggle as the Americans and the Lemurians form an alliance in the struggle to survive against the Grik threat. Our heroes aren't supermen, either. Lives are lost. And not all the "goodies" are good - the enemy within must be dealt with as well. Yes, the heroes can be a bit too noble (at times) and the speeches are perhaps a bit over the top but this is a good, entertaining and easy read (I couldn't put it down) and the story rolls along at a goodly pace, drawing you in. I'm hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Getting tedious..., 1 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first book was entertaining - not great literature but filled an evening. It offered a few new twists to an admittedly well established theme and some decent action sequences. Aside from the now seemingly obligatory rabidly right wing US stance this genre invokes, it made a decent read. The second book was OK - a bit repetitive but readable. However number three is something of a wash out.

This book is grossly padded out with thinly disguised explanatory text cut and pasted from the earlier books. At times the author seems to forget he has already explained a character/situation and pastes the same material again in a subsequent chapter. A lot happens in this book but much of the action is dismissed in a couple of pages before the author drifts back into waffle mode for chapters at a time.

Hopefully Mr Anderson can regain some interest in his subject before writing anything more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crusade, 8 Oct 2008
By 
John Gilmour (durham england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
just finished this book and enjoyed it very much indeed,it is turning into a superb series,characters are very good, lots of action and adventure ,you realy want to know what is going to happen to them,i can hardly wait till the next in the series is out ,hope the series lasts longer than three books,it has great potential to go a lot futher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crusade (Destroyermen)
Crusade (Destroyermen) by Taylor Anderson (MP3 CD - 7 Oct 2008)
20.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews