Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuff movies are made from!
Got this book as a gift a few months ago.
Finally got round to reading it, and what a read!

It's a must for true crime readers. Personally I doubt if I ever read about an individual so gruesome and cold-blooded.

After finishing the book, I watched the interviews Kuklinski gave from prison, he seemed to be an intelligent and articulate guy,...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by Philip Gatt

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look, this isn't true.....
Having read this a couple of times, and cross-referenced it with other Mafia books I have, I am pretty convinced that this tale isn't true.

Undoubtedly Kuklinski was a bad guy who killed people, but the big mafia hits he claimed to have been involved with - up to and including Jimmy Hoffa - do not, on examination, stand up.

The book is compelling. If...
Published on 20 April 2008 by Kentspur


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuff movies are made from!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Philip Gatt (Isle of Man, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Got this book as a gift a few months ago.
Finally got round to reading it, and what a read!

It's a must for true crime readers. Personally I doubt if I ever read about an individual so gruesome and cold-blooded.

After finishing the book, I watched the interviews Kuklinski gave from prison, he seemed to be an intelligent and articulate guy, though it made him even more scary!

I'd recommend this book to anyone who likes reading about real life murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to comprehend, but true, unfortunately, 2 April 2008
A Book that is superbly written. Each page engrosses you more which has you not only trying to comprehend each stage of this man's life, but looking for where each 'story' ends up. You quickly find out that it always ends in murder, but the comprehension this man had for life was not only nil, but stalking out his victims were which was once a game for him, became a profession for him & one he was extremely proficient at. I would like to think that Richard Kuklinski is a one off & books like this will not be seen again. This book is absolutely gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing....but repetitive..., 22 Jun 2009
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book follows the rise and fall of Richard Kulkinski nicknamed the "Ice Man", who claims to have killed over 200 people during 30 years of violence in which he claims to be intimately inolved in the killing of Jimmy Hoffa.

From the very outset, this book sets out to shock and is definitely a harrowing, yet somehow absorbing true life account of a psychopath who suffered immeasureably during his childhood at the hands of abusive parents, something which no doubt deepend his psychosis and shaped him into the monster he became.

Philip Carlo talks of Rich's callous attitude and detatchment toward emotion, how he has no feeling or concept of human suffering. The insight into the mind of a man who feels nothing and thinks nothing of killing someone who merely cuts him up or throws him the finger, who can descend into a mindless rage at whim, inflicting brutal beatings on his wife makes this a chilling, disturbing tale.

But as absorbing as this book is, there is somewhat a feel of deja vu when reading. Philip Carlo often hammers the point home regarding Rich's remorselessnes over and over again. The pleasure Richard got from torturing his victims, of devising new and grisly ways to make his "marks" suffer - the way he liked to be up close and personal and see the life fade from their eyes. Philip Carlo obviously wants us to truly understand how monsterous this man was - but the point is made too often, and becomes actually quite tiresome. Philip's accounts, gathered from over two hundred hours of interviewing and the way the killings come about give us this distinct impression in any case, so there really wasn't a need to reiterate the point as often as it was.

Barbara, for example feels trapped by her husband, feeling she had to stand up for herself, because it was the only power she had left - she could not leave him, she knew he would find her, kill her, kill them all, her children, her family. I really felt for Barbara throughout this book and completely sympathise with why she would have found it so hard to break free.

In essence, this is a well written, put together account of a man who certainly earned his name. Its definitely worth reading - but be warned, this book is extemely grisly and does not pull its punches. It is a harrowing, distrubing look into the twisted mind of a psychopath of monumental proportions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look, this isn't true....., 20 April 2008
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Having read this a couple of times, and cross-referenced it with other Mafia books I have, I am pretty convinced that this tale isn't true.

Undoubtedly Kuklinski was a bad guy who killed people, but the big mafia hits he claimed to have been involved with - up to and including Jimmy Hoffa - do not, on examination, stand up.

The book is compelling. If you are into crime, it neatly straddles the serial killer genre with the organised crime genre. Those who like reading about Ted Bundy are happy; those who like reading about Carlo Gambino are happy, but there are too many holes in this thing and, after reflection, it annoys. Every traffic misdemeanour turns into mass murder. I want the author to actually do some research. If you've got four guys dead because they cut Richard up and wanted to take him apart, who were they? When did it happen?

There was one incident when Kuklinski, to make 'his Mafia bones,' shoots some dog-walker in the back of the head, but this is not followed up. Surely a pedestrian shot in the head in a residential street in New York could be cross-referenced.

Killers lie. Henry Lee Lucas showed that. Even if they come across as taciturn and, perversely, decent, they lie. Kuklinski seems to have lied. Every Mafia hit short of JFK, he was the button man. I think not.

Philip Carlo spends too much time looking at the causes of the ice man - terrible childhood, unfocussed rage - and not enough journalistic detachment to what the guy claimed.

Look, this is fascinating, a glimpse of Hell, but is it true? I don't think so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I ever read!, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't for the life of me put this book down! It just doesn't let up. I really believe he was a product of his upbringing, no excuse I know but abuse played a factor in his future! Buy it today, you won't be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need More, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most compelling book for years. Couldn't wait to get home and read it.
I cant tell you enough how much this was part of my life for one week !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!!!, 30 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not being much of a book reader and struggling to find a genre that kept my interest... this has certainly convinced me true crime is my sort of thing. The book was amazing to read and couldn't put it down. Fascinating to learn the inner workings of a serial killer who undoubtedly was the result of his fathers actions. Have already followed up this book by watching the documentary's HBO recorded - they're on youtube if anyone wants to know.

Great book, read it twice and now following my new found passion for true crime and Mafia in particular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling but gripping from start to end, 29 Dec 2007
By 
L. M. STOCKLEY "LMS" (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great book. You don't have to be interested in the 'mafia' to read this book you will get through it in no time at all. Great detail in the book which flows all the way through so you can visualise all the events that took place in the book, from the rubout of Carmine Galante to the way he fed some of his victims to the rats. The book does seem a bit fictional in places because of some of the audacious killing methods employed by Kuklinski but I have no doubt that the majority is real. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE KIND!, 13 Jan 2014
By 
paul (Stansted, England) - See all my reviews
You won't find a story as good as this one anywhere! Book itself is not a writing masterpiece it just tells one the greatest criminal stories of 20th century!

BE AWARE: Film has just been made and released in 2013 but it DOESN'T EVEN SCRATCH A SURFACE OF THE STORY IN THIS BOOK SO DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON DVDs and read this book!

Better than Goodfellas, Once upon a time in America etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The shockingly brutal story of a cold blooded killer., 5 Jun 2008
This is a tale of murder, revenge and out and out violence by Richard "The Ice Man" Kuklinski, a man who was seemingly remorseless to his actions. It's also a quasi-psycho analysis of a man who was a hired killer who tortured and killed people he was paid to, and often took great pleasure in doing so. For me, that's as complex as the book gets. It begins interestingly enough, describing Richard's background and extremely violent childhood, including the horrific story of the confrontation between his father and his elder brother. From here it's fairly obvious the path that Richard's life will go down, and so we follow his entry into petty crime, and ultimately, murder. Initially, it's shocking just how unmoved he is by his actions and the pleasure takes from them. But as the book goes on, it just lists one brutal murder after another, with the author seemingly trying to always out-gore the previous chapter. And so it goes on, following Richard as he enters the world of organised crime, and the murders keep coming, only this time the victims are of a slightly higher profile. It seems that the author used these scenarios involving notoriously infamous underworld figures to create more tension and raise the pulse, but you almost knew the end before it has been told. As the book reached its conclusion, I found it to be tediously dragged out, and ultimately feeling that the author had not really given a good representation of what made The Ice Man tick. Yes it's obvious he was a cold-blooded killer (the book forces this point home on several occasions), but the author doesn't tend to offer any other insight to his personality, a surprising fact considering the subject and the author spent so much time together. Initially, the book was a real page turner, but I felt the book ambled along once Richard had begun his life of crime, relying too much on gory murders and tales of torture to keep the reader interested. Not the deep insight and fascinating evaluation of a self-confessed contract killer I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer
The Ice Man: Confessions of a Mafia Contract Killer by Philip Carlo (MP3 CD - 15 Aug 2006)
19.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews