Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect little thriller
"A dedicated man" is the second of the Inspector Banks novels by Peter Robinson.
The book follows the investigation into the murder of Harry Steadman, an historian, who apparently had no enemies.
I am not usually a fan of thrillers of less than 300 pages as they are often either rushed or lacking in detail. The same cannot be said for this excellent book. The...
Published on 11 Mar 2004 by R. Shear

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated to good story telling
A Dedicated Man is the second in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series which are now being reissued due to his growing popularity. If you haven't tried him yet I think you'll be amazed by how much Chief Inspector Alan Banks becomes a real character in your life. The mystery here is why "A Dedicated Man" would be murdered and Robinson skillfully weaves the tale by...
Published on 11 Dec 2002


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect little thriller, 11 Mar 2004
By 
R. Shear - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dedicated Man (Paperback)
"A dedicated man" is the second of the Inspector Banks novels by Peter Robinson.
The book follows the investigation into the murder of Harry Steadman, an historian, who apparently had no enemies.
I am not usually a fan of thrillers of less than 300 pages as they are often either rushed or lacking in detail. The same cannot be said for this excellent book. The pacing is perfect, and the plot twists back and forth as the investigation of the crime centres on five people who had known Harry for some time. The author skillfully leads you round the houses and from one suspect to the next until pulling the answers out at the end like a rabbit from a magician's hat.
In my opinion, what sets Peter Robinson above the bulk of thriller writers is the believability of his characters. Robinson does not populate his books with larger-than-life characters, but rather with ordinary people, with ordinary jobs and ordinary lives, who commit crimes for motives which can be understood and even empathised with. In this respect, Peter Robinson is rivaled only by Ian Rankin's Inspector Rebus series.
Another excellent aspect of Robinson's writing is his description of the area in which his books are set. He vividly conjures mental images of the Yorkshire dales which even those who haven't seen "All creatures great and small" or visited the area would be able to envisage. Once again, comparison's to Rankin's descriptions of Edinburgh and Glasgow are inevitable.
This book carries on where the excellent "Gallows view" left off, and left me itching to read the third book in the series. I am at a total loss to find any areas which could have been improved.
For fans of great detective fiction, this book and it's predecessor are a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly fantastic read. The Banks series is fantastic., 10 Dec 2001
By 
This was my first exposure to the Chief Inspector Banks series. I became hooked immediately; enough so that I purchased all the books in the series and am reading through them one-by-one in chronological order.
Chief Inspector Banks ranks among the best in terms of his ability to solve a crime. Yet there is a softer side to him that has been developed fantastically. I think some review of the Banks series said that you are left wondering what the characters are up to long after you finished the book. How true! I often wonder what Banks is up to, how his family relationships are going, what Sgts. Hatchley and Gay have been doing lately, and so on.
I thoroughly praise and thank Peter Robinson for giving us Chief Inspector Banks. Though somewhat different in style, if you enjoy the Chief Inspector Morse series, you'll love the Banks series. A Dedicated Man would be an excellent introduction to a fantastic series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Twists and Very Good Ending, 26 Sep 2003
By 
Julian S. Smith "julio" (rio, brasil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dedicated Man (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. It is a liitle better than his first book, Gallows End, and I would mention four aspects in support of this view:
First, I found the characters more intruiging, especially the attractive ex hippie Penny Cartright and her father. Secondly the plotting was more skillful with plenty of twists and turns which left me suspecting everyone at some point during the book. Thirdly, the Yorkshire Dales backdrop is more evocatively woven into the story and fourthly the ending is very clever and not one I had imagined.
Robinson's books are excellent and some of his more recent efforts, such as In A Dry Season and Aftermath are also worth looking out for. Only John Harvey comes close to conjouring up such an evocative and tense atmosphere. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated to good story telling, 11 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Dedicated Man (Paperback)
A Dedicated Man is the second in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series which are now being reissued due to his growing popularity. If you haven't tried him yet I think you'll be amazed by how much Chief Inspector Alan Banks becomes a real character in your life. The mystery here is why "A Dedicated Man" would be murdered and Robinson skillfully weaves the tale by lining up his suspects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life And Death In The Yorkshire Dales, 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: A Dedicated Man (Paperback)
I have read books from later in the `Alan Banks' series, so I already know what happens to the character in his personal life, although this does not detract in any way from my enjoyment in back-tracking a little, in this, the second book in the series.

Peter Robinson is still establishing the character and his family, fleshing them out, to give them a life of their own. They are becoming totally believable, not too exuberant or larger than life, as they strive to fit into their new home and community in the Yorkshire dales, after the hustle and bustle of life in London.

Banks is coming to like his new found peace and quiet, mentally leaving the investigation for short periods, to share his random thoughts and to wax lyrical in his very vivid and real descriptions, of his adopted Yorkshire Dales.

Much of the investigation seems to take place in or around various public houses and involves quite a large intake of both alcohol and tobacco, with much of the time in between spent driving between remote locations in the Dales, to the accompaniment of his latest interest, folk music. I found this flawed side to his character quite endearing and in keeping with the whols ethos of this intimate community, although I did have more than a passing thought that the similarity of the character with that of Colin Dexter's character of `Morse', was quite uncanny in many instances, although of course Morse had his musical tastes firmly rooted in the Classical genre.

In fact, all of the characters in the story are well developed and believable, in their individual roles, within this tightknit community. Banks is still treated as something of an outsider, with the locals reluctant to talk to, or confide in him, despite the fact that everyone knows everyone else and everyone has an opinion to share. As is so often the case in smaller communities however, they are so busy minding everyone else's business, that they have been caught unawares and are blissfully ignorant about the identity of the murderer in their midst.

The plot isn't hurried along, which is a little unfortunate for Banks, who subsequently and very emotionally for him personally, has two crimes on his hands. We now get to go beyond that bluff exterior and see the softer side to his personality, as he strives to come to terms with his own shortcomings in the investigation, in this often reflective study of human nature.

Banks is a man of great tenacity in his ability to solve a crime, despite the many false leads and intricate sub-plots, that stand in his way and following his thought processes and powers of deduction was quite interesting, changing my mind about the identity of the person he was seeking out several times and keeping me guessing right until the end.

This book was nothing less than the quality of writing and levels of suspense, that I have come to expect from Peter Robinson and personally, I would highly recommend it, if you are in the market for a great crime fiction read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Banks, 22 Jun 2009
By 
N. Wright "Norm" (Bolton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Dedicated Man (Paperback)
I have now read the full Inspector Banks Series. I have thoroughly enjoyed every story. All the stories are different so reading them out of order as I did is not a great problem. Banks's career and private life continue throughout the series so if possible it would be best to read them in order. Just hoping the author keeps writing more novels in this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thoroughly enjoyed plot mixed with his relationships at work and family ..., 15 July 2014
By 
M. Lishman "literature lover" (north east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
dedicated man. thoroughly enjoyed plot mixed with his relationships at work and family life. Finding reading back to back books layout of plots very similar but not spoiling the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Peter Robinson delivers the goods brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant as per usual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Dedicated Man (Inspector Banks)
A Dedicated Man (Inspector Banks) by Peter Robinson (Audio CD - 8 Mar 2010)
24.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews