Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Spermatozoa Have Calories?
This book is perfect toilet reading, if you're one of those people who sit on the toilet for ages (which, incidentally, can lead to a higher chance of developing piles, according to this book; so remember that next time you want to take three hours in the bathroom). It's basically a guide of sorts--it answers the questions that you've probably always wanted to know (such...
Published 16 months ago by George Kelly

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good idea ruined
Have to disagree with the other reviewers - it's the unnecessary, self congratulatory, trying-far-too-hard "humour" that forced me to put this book down before I'd barely got past the first chapter. When the writers eventually stop talking about what wacky characters they both are and realise there's a question to be answered, the answer is normally so short as to be...
Published on 7 May 2006 by RevBingo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does Spermatozoa Have Calories?, 18 Feb. 2014
This book is perfect toilet reading, if you're one of those people who sit on the toilet for ages (which, incidentally, can lead to a higher chance of developing piles, according to this book; so remember that next time you want to take three hours in the bathroom). It's basically a guide of sorts--it answers the questions that you've probably always wanted to know (such as: does sperm have calories?), and many questions you've never thought to ask (such as: is it healthier for someone to spit in my mouth or urinate in it?). But it's interesting. It's a quick read, and it doesn't take itself too seriously. It's merely question after question, with answers to the questions that you do-and-don't care about.

The only parts I didn't particularly care for were the pointless IM chats between the two "authors" of this book. I'm not sure if the IM chats were faked for the sake of the book, or if they were real conversations between the two of them, but they weren't relevant, they weren't funny, and they didn't add anything to the book. If anything, they bugged me, and I constantly wanted to skip them. I didn't, but I wanted to.

Anyway, it's an okay book to put in someone's Christmas stocking, or to read when you're in a queue, or bored, or on the bus.

Otherwise, it's pretty pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!, 11 Mar. 2006
By 
Ms. N. E. Tamplin "Nomi" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Do Men Have Nipples?: Hundreds of Questions You'd Only Ask a Doctor After Your Third Martini (Paperback)
This book really is wonderful. It gives you real scientific answers, so some of the text isn't easy to understand unless you have basic scientific knowledge, but it's as hilarious as it is factual. It answers questions people have wondered for ages, but never asked a doctor, just as it says in the title. Well worth a read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but obvious at times..., 28 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
I bought this book feeling i might find the answer to some of life's querkiest questions, and was not completely disappointed. However, some of the facts are pretty obvious, and at times the book becomes a little tedious.A large positive is the witty humour, and the ongoing commentry from Leyner and Goldberg brings a smile to your face. They seem to have a strange friendship, two very similar personalities living entirely different lives. A book that will stay in the bathroom to let house guests skim through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A good idea ruined, 7 May 2006
By 
RevBingo (Bournemouth, UK) - See all my reviews
Have to disagree with the other reviewers - it's the unnecessary, self congratulatory, trying-far-too-hard "humour" that forced me to put this book down before I'd barely got past the first chapter. When the writers eventually stop talking about what wacky characters they both are and realise there's a question to be answered, the answer is normally so short as to be pointless. In the right hands (think Bryson), it could have been entertaining, but this is utterly tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some off-color humor amid some semi-serious Q and A, 13 Dec. 2006
By 
Dennis Littrell (SoCal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I knew why men have nipples before I read this book. Because we're all female for the first six weeks after conception until the male hormones kick in. Yes, macho men, the default human is female. But I can never resist the kind of book in which there are questions we'd like the answers to and answers.

Ah, but this book is a little different. First, some of the questions are given equivocal answers, which is to be expected, since most of what there is to know isn't known. Some of the questions, like "Will using a cell phone give you a brain tumor?" or "Is it true that left-handed people are smarter than right-handed people?" aren't answered at all. Leyner, who is a writer, and Goldberg, who is an MD, have a way of going around the question. I got the feeling that the extent of their research didn't go much past the Internet--which might raise the question, how did this book ever become a best seller and inspire a sequel? The answer, my friend, is in the comedy.

Leyner and Goldberg are a comedy team. While the bulk of the book is in the Qs and As, a good part consists of some hijinks at a cocktail party (thus the three martinis, although Leyner is mostly into Don Julio tequila). A third part seems to be lifted verbatim from their emails to each other.

Part of the fun are those emails because they seem to give the reader a realistic glimpse into the cooperative creative process. It is also kind of fun to read what a doctor writes when he lets his hair down, so to speak, or at least takes off the white coat. However all of this is carefully staged. This is one of those "best seller" ideas that actually worked. These guys trade raunchy humor spiked with some information and lo and behold it works.

Well, it semi-works. I liked the book and read it through in a setting, but some of the humor may be a little too raunchy for some.

Bottom line: diverting enough for a rainy day or for that cross country flight, or if you need a break from War and Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 3 Jan. 2008
By 
Ms. V. Buy "vicstick stuck in a book" (Shrewsbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved this book, being a real 'Fact Finder' this was the perfect book for me, and funny too. All those little questions about humans that somehow make it into your head - answered, right here. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good mixture of humour and facts, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book kept me thoroughly entertained from start to finish. Had it just been Q&A throughout it may have become tedious, and acted more as a reference book you flicked through from time to time.

Instead, questions are separated by excerpts of conversations between the authors which made me laugh.

The answers are scientific enough that you can understand, but not so much that you need a science degree to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It a funny story how i came to know about this book, i live in Bahrain and found this english book store, i found this book and started to read a page here and there.. i found myself laughing out loud in the shop... i was planning on getting this for my hubby as a stocking filler, i ended up buying 5 books in bahrain for friends and also ordered from her for my friends and family in uk.. i just think this is a funny and great book....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time., 16 July 2014
Flippant unfunny comments instead of interesting answers. I skipped a lot of questions because they are so well know now, finished book in 20 mins.
Would not recommend, very lazy effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is quite humorous. Its nice to read when you have got nothing else to do and just want a laugh really. Great that its answers lots of random questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Do Men Have Nipples?: Hundreds of Questions You'd Only Ask a Doctor After Your Third Martini
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews