Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book a first rate guide to hormones for men and women
I was highly impressed by the hormone book by Dr Hertoghe. It was comprehensive, highly detailed and without the popular dumb down style used frequently today. The book covered many main hormones including cortisol, pregnanolone, melatonin, DHEA , HGH, insulin and others.
This book is a must have for people aged thirty and over who do not wish to succumb to the aging...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by L. S. Sinclair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to understand
you need to have some idea about the types hormones to understand its workings a struggle to return to the book
Published 2 months ago by mrs mary p brazel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book a first rate guide to hormones for men and women, 17 Oct 2009
By 
L. S. Sinclair "louise318" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
I was highly impressed by the hormone book by Dr Hertoghe. It was comprehensive, highly detailed and without the popular dumb down style used frequently today. The book covered many main hormones including cortisol, pregnanolone, melatonin, DHEA , HGH, insulin and others.
This book is a must have for people aged thirty and over who do not wish to succumb to the aging process.
Anti aging medicine does not get the publicity it deserves and often hormones are only mentioned by menopausal women. However Dr Hertoghe demonstrates their use in a wide range of people.
I was also pleased by his excellent dietry suggestions.Having consulted an anti aging specialist I can say that it is money well spent and if Dr Hertoghe's ideas were used by the national health service I suspect many aging problems would be history.
Most doctors have little knowledge of hormones and would probably find this booka fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 11 Oct 2013
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
I bought this book only because it was recommended by a Broda Barnes trained doctor who only treats cancer patients with low thyroid problems (many, but not all, cancers are caused by thyroid problems - thyroiduk[dot]org[dot]uk offers a list of the very few thyroid sympathetic doctors in this country).

I'm glad I did get this book. Dr Hertoghe appears to be writing from experience [I've since learned his grandfather and father were also hormone specialists and that he successfully treats many in his Belgium clinic) and covers 15 of what he believes are the most important hormones, such as melatonin, cortisol, aldosterone, DHEA, testosterone, estrogen, progesterone, growth hormone, vasopressin, ACTH, insulin, pregnenolone. He explains that most hormone levels reduce with age. I was surprised there was no mention of 7-keto: as wiki states "7-Keto is not directly converted to testosterone or estrogen, and has thus been investigated as a potentially more useful relative of DHEA" - certainly for women, as well as many men, as it avoids the known side effects of DHEA.

Dr Hertoghe states that DHEA, melatonin and thyroid hormones are the most important. I disagree as my research and personal experience indicate that, for instance:
1. Pregnenolone (from which DHEA is made by the body) is more important than DHEA;
2. I was surprised there was no mention of 7-keto: as wiki states "7-Keto is not directly converted to testosterone or estrogen, and has thus been investigated as a potentially more useful relative of DHEA" - certainly for women, as well as many men, as it avoids the known side effects of DHEA; and
3. Hertoghe does not really cover thyroid adequately, which I think is THE most important, even though it seems to get the most mentions in the book. `Hypothyroidism Type 2' by Mark Starr ("type 2" meaning the thyroid problems for which there are no lab tests) explains how a lot of depression and mental/emotional difficulties as well as all chronic pain is linked to low thyroid, including those involved with diabetes, heart problems, both bleeding & blood clots (including strokes) and some cancers. If you have any kind of chronic pain, you need to know 1. some are calling low thyroid the silent epidemic (silent because officially denied) and 2. there are no lab tests for most causes of low thyroid (and your doctor only treats lab tests, not you).

The FREE basal (at rest) temperature self-test is THE gold standard for low thyroid problems and - with your symptoms - means more than any lab test (although most conventional doctors, including endos, won't agree but then they're not trained to understand thyroid problems; only the Broda Barnes trained doctors are). The basal temperature test will pick up conditions that current lab tests don't, such as thyroid resistance. The stopthethyroidmadness website has excellent instructions for this self-test, as well as several for adrenal fatigue, which often goes hand-in-hand with low thyroid. The two most common health problems worldwide, they're rarely diagnosed or treated.

This book is organised in an unusual way, in that it covers the hormones as they apply to various problems, like energy, sex, sleep, memory, skin & hair, weight control, stress, mood, circulation (heart and stroke), joints, bones, and your immune system (infections and cancer). I wasn't really sure I liked this but, on reflection, it's good to have one book set out in this unusual way, given most books cover just one hormone rather than mentioning all relevant hormones that may affect a particular condition or issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent authority - his father and grandfather were 'hormone' specialists, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. It's well written and easy to follow - full of case studies and tables of various hormones, whereby you can check your
levels - just as a guide! Then possibly discuss the results with your 'specialist'. It's certainly eye opening. A lot of the ailments that we attribute to old age - some can be helped with hormones. (bio identical not chemical/mare urine HRT)

I'm going to have to rebuy the book as at present I have the kindle version so I can't print out the tables..... (a pity)

This book is very easy to follow for the lay person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of information, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
For those of us that like to know how to remain fit and eat the correct substances, this is very informative. Hormones are important and I feel that some G.P's should take their time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing info, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great to know, I wish I could have some support from my local GP.... need to dig help to apply these changes! easy to read, amazing source of info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 9 May 2013
By 
A. Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
Very useful and helpful book to work out what's not quite working with you. Shame though in the UK doctors and GPs aren't interested and just give you antidepressants when it's your hormones that need a bit of help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Read, 2 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
If you are interested in hormone optimizing or have read Sue Somers' books you should buy this book. I bought it for a friend who has been to see Dr. Hertoghe for first consultation and began reading it myself and couldn't put it down. It's a really easy read and very well written. I am a doctorphobe and wouldn't go for this kind of treatment however, Dr. Hertoghe does offer guidelines as to supplements and diet for wimps like me. I've since handed the book over however I think I will go back and buy my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Paperback)
Thoughtful, clear, easy to assimilate. Highly recommended to any health professional, CAM practitioner or anyone with a personal interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars difficult to understand, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
you need to have some idea about the types hormones to understand its workings a struggle to return to the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just started reading, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hormone Solution (Hardcover)
I Didn't realise how much hormones control you body and since i want to stay as you as possible for as long as possible I will hopefully get some great advice from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hormone Solution
Hormone Solution by Dr Thierry Hertoghe (Paperback - 17 Mar 2004)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews