Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crisis involving the theft of a donut
Nestled among Seattle's skyscrapers, The Zephyr Holdings Building is a bleak rectangle topped by an orange-and-black logo that gives no hint of Zephyr's business. Lack of clarity, it turns out, is Zephyr's defining characteristic. The floors are numbered in reverse. No one has ever seen the CEO or glimpsed his office on the first (i.e., top) floor. Yet every day people...
Published on 28 Sep 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated to Hewlett-Packard!
I originally added this to my wishlist after reading an article on Seth Godin's blog on some books he recommended to read.

I knew I would like the book from the minute the dedication page said the book was for Hewlett-Packard. As an ex HP employee who had to go through the Compaq merger and the dreaded Carly years, that had my attention straight away. The...
Published 5 months ago by SSP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crisis involving the theft of a donut, 28 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Company (Hardcover)
Nestled among Seattle's skyscrapers, The Zephyr Holdings Building is a bleak rectangle topped by an orange-and-black logo that gives no hint of Zephyr's business. Lack of clarity, it turns out, is Zephyr's defining characteristic. The floors are numbered in reverse. No one has ever seen the CEO or glimpsed his office on the first (i.e., top) floor. Yet every day people clip on their ID tags, file into the building, sit at their desks, and hope that they're not about to be outsourced.
Stephen Jones, a young recruit with shoes so new they squeak, reports for his first day in the Training Sales Department and finds it gripped by a crisis involving the theft of a donut. In short order, the guilty party is identified and banished from the premises and Stephen is promoted from assistant to sales rep. He does his best to fit in with his fellow workers-among them a gorgeous receptionist who earns more than anyone else, and a sales rep who's so emotionally involved with her job that she uses relationship books as sales manuals-but Stephen is nagged by a feeling that the company is hiding something. Something that explains why when people are fired, they are never heard from again; why every manager has a copy of the Omega Management System; and most of all, why nobody in the company knows what it does.
Both of Max's last books kept me up reading into the wee early hours and I am hopping up and down in anticipation of his next General Smedley Butler'n adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maxx You've Done It Again, 17 Jun 2011
By 
A. J. Bailey (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
If you've ever worked at any office job, then this is the book for you. I still think I'm in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dripping with cynical wit, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Martyn E. J. Gray "Mej" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
A fantastic pseudo fantasy look at the world of corporate life with twists and turns and a plot so unbelievable it could almost be true.

The writing sparkles and shows the authors past as a clearly a very misanthropic colleague in a very apathetic company.

Looking for advice on how to be an effective manager, throw away the guides and just read this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Out on the look horizon, 10 April 2014
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Company is another one of those novels about a dystopian company with fearsome bosses, mindless bureaucratic processes and subjugated staff. In this case, Zephyr is a company with an orange corporate colour, an office building with the floors numbered from top to bottom, and a senior management that nobody has ever seen. There are slogans, superstitions and arguments about missing doughnuts. There are protocols about who sits where, with training sales team on one side of the great partition (aka The Berlin Wall) and their assistants sat the other side. Enter stage left, a new employee, Jones, who imagines that it doesn't have to be this way. Even more dangerously, he tries to find the meaning behind Zephyr's mission statement.

It's a bit of a me-too novel. The great corporate conspiracy, the satire on office politics, the naked greed of corporate America - it has all been done before (e.g. Iain Banks, Scarlett Thomas, Rupert Thompson). But Company is a reasonable addition to the canon. Max Barry is a good story teller although his achilles heel is that he can't do endings. In this case, the ending is as chaotic as all his others but is mercifully short. His characters are unashamedly cartoony stereotypes and his plot is incredible (actually, probably impossible). But his ideas are interesting and conveyed with humour.

As holiday reading, Company was amiable ... er... company for a couple of days. But don't expect it to change your horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful., 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
A real shame, since Jennifer Government was excellent. This book is unreadable, and reads as if someone who has never worked in an office wrote it. Cringe-worthy with banal characters and stereotypical cliches from the outset, I threw it across the room in disgust after just a few pages.

It is, however, just the right height to jam under my door to keep it open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated to Hewlett-Packard!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I originally added this to my wishlist after reading an article on Seth Godin's blog on some books he recommended to read.

I knew I would like the book from the minute the dedication page said the book was for Hewlett-Packard. As an ex HP employee who had to go through the Compaq merger and the dreaded Carly years, that had my attention straight away. The fact that the fictional company in this book mirrors not only HP, but other companies I've worked for like Oracle simply makes this book hilarious. It had a very sudden and abrupt ending which is the only reason I didn't mark it much higher. It reminded me of the movie "The Raid". That movie had a great start and middle, but the end came very quickly and was not as polished as the rest in my personal opinion.

Having said all of the above, if you work for a large company, this is a great book to buy, as well as e by Matt Beaumont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Some twists and turns that keep the plot interesting. The basic premise of the book is quite a cynical view on our current society, but is still thought provoking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Funny, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From page two I was laughing. The book is well written and funny, it takes small office politics you find in the workplace and exaggerates them in an amusing way. I was gripped to the end, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you work..., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...in an organisation/corporation then you need to read this cutting/
witty/insightful account of what so many people spend so much of
their time doing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company (Vintage Contemporaries) (Paperback)
Book arrived in great condition, however i bought it for my girlfriend who loves jennifer government written by max barry but this story is nothing in comparison unfortunately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Company (Vintage Contemporaries)
Company (Vintage Contemporaries) by Max Barry (Paperback - 13 Mar 2007)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews