Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernhard is the undisputed genius of indifference.
Thomas Bernhard approaches his best ever form in this book. It charts with extreme bitterness, and self-loathing the progress of an old-man as he lumbers around 'in the inn'. It is a work of undisputable genius, as Bernhard's lines seem to go on for ever, almost crazed in its style, but somehow darkly brilliant. This piece cannot be categorised as a 'serious' work -...
Published on 10 May 2000

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An incorrect review
This review is going to do something that novel reviews aren't meant to do: that is, reflect on the substance of the ideas and thinking behind the book, rather than on the quality of the book as a novel.

Stylistically the book is perhaps a minor triumph, and if you can read close to stream-of-consciousness prose there is something hypnotic about the repetitions...
Published on 26 Nov 2011 by Agent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernhard is the undisputed genius of indifference., 10 May 2000
By A Customer
Thomas Bernhard approaches his best ever form in this book. It charts with extreme bitterness, and self-loathing the progress of an old-man as he lumbers around 'in the inn'. It is a work of undisputable genius, as Bernhard's lines seem to go on for ever, almost crazed in its style, but somehow darkly brilliant. This piece cannot be categorised as a 'serious' work - on the contrary! It is the funniest book I have ever read, and the italicised rants 'the deterioration process', 'a professional aphorist' etc. and the indifference with which the narrator approaches the subject, but continues with a venomous indifference is pure entertainment, and pure ridiculousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peculiar intensity, 31 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loser (Vintage International) (Paperback)
This is my second Thomas Bernhard novel, and whilst reading it my liking for his unique prose style increased. An unnamed narrator walks into an inn and talks to himself about his two best friends (one being Glenn Gould the famous piano virtuoso, the other being Wertheimer "the loser" who has committed suicide by hanging himself near his sister's house). The obsessional, repetitive and funny thoughts of the unnamed narrator continue for half the novel whilst he stands in the inn: it must be the longest wait for a drink in history! Eventually the landlady sees him and it isn't long before he has moved on, both physically and mentally, to the subject of Wertheimer's decline and suicide. It all sounds grim and pointless, but it's surprisingly engaging, especially for the reader who has a liking for cynicism and unhinged rambling: the word "cretinism" pops up quite a lot. Overall, I didn't find The Loser as satisfying as "Correction" (my first TB novel), it isn't as deep or disturbing, but still I was impressed by the peculiar intensity of it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books by this wonderful writer, 7 Sep 2000
By 
"pbowes9116" (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Bernhard is still relatively little known to the Anglo-American audience, but I believe he is the most serious contender for the inheritor of the mantle of Celine and Beckett.
In 'The Loser' he produces a heartbreaking meditation on the demands the pursuit of an art at the highest level places upon an honest devotee. I have never encountered a more clear-sighted study of human failure depicted with an utter lack of sentimentality or self-pity. In this book Bernhard disposes definitively of the charges of heartlessness and flippancy which are sometimes laid at his door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 31 May 2003
Bernhard is one of those discoveries one makes in literature - due to the fact he is quite obscure - which will either leave you cold, or, as in my case, with a new favourite author.
His writing is - 'labyrinthine' - is probably the best word, and he uses a method of repetition a little like Broch (emulated by Sebald and Rick Moody), which serves mostly to hypnotic effect. The prose is hypnotic and rhythmic and repetitive, and quite stream of consciousness, and usually his novels are constructed in one, or a few, paragraphs, and only as many sentences as there are pages. The Loser is one of the more conventional narratives, largely about a guy who is so distraught that his sister won't 'look after him' that he hangs himself in front of her house. Though she doesn't notice. This is typical of Bernhard's black and sardonic sense of humour. It is also about the aforementioned man and the narrator's not being able to deal with the vituosic genius of Glenn Gould - and thanks to this novel I am now discovering the genius of his oeuvre - but strangely gives a lot of quite false details about this real person's life. It is very much about the musician's vocation, but not really music, which incidentally is what Bernhard studied before turning to journalism, then drama then novels. Illness, depression, music, philosophy, suicide and writing are Bernhard's core themes, and as in this novel, The Loser, you get a quite depressing, though darkly funny, and interesting read. If you are a fan of Broch, Sebald, Joyce, Bellow or Houellebecq, this is the same pessimistic labyrinthine engrossing kind of prose. The Loser is a novel not easily forgotten - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An incorrect review, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Loser (Vintage International) (Paperback)
This review is going to do something that novel reviews aren't meant to do: that is, reflect on the substance of the ideas and thinking behind the book, rather than on the quality of the book as a novel.

Stylistically the book is perhaps a minor triumph, and if you can read close to stream-of-consciousness prose there is something hypnotic about the repetitions that reflect the looping thoughts of a human mind.

It is not necessary enjoyable to read this style, though that is a subjective judgement. However I found it hard to force myself through a style that - while accomplished - I didn't much like, because the substance of the book was somewhat repellant to me.

I think it is possible to write a book about art, success, failure and so on without wallowing in delusions of superiority. This all of the characters, and I suspect the author himself (the ironic distance is not well maintained, despite some self-mocking) completely fail to do. This is a work of relentless elitism by someone who understands rather too well the feeling of disgust for his own audience. I cannot see it as anything but the author's attempt to establish his own superiority.

This is not how one is meant to write a review, because I suppose it comes down to this: regardless of the merits of the novel, I do not like Thomas Bernhard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm !, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Loser (Vintage International) (Paperback)
Since when does an endless 'rant' get classified as great literature?

Literature is not about ranting, anyone can do that.

A 'good' book, not a great one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recomendation, 22 Oct 1997
By A Customer
If you are agree with this book ... I recomend you the Oskar K. Maerth's book entitled "The Beginning was the End". Maybe you will find the answer for your questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9f11ec)

This product

The Loser (Vintage International)
The Loser (Vintage International) by Thomas Bernhard (Paperback - 17 Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 5.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews