Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific return to form
I was disappointed by 'Dark Voyage', thought that 'The Foreign Correspondent' was a slight improvement, but am delighted that Alan Furst has re-found his unique style and voice with 'The Spies of Warsaw'.
It's a real return to the high quality of his earlier boooks like 'The World at Night' and 'Dark Star' and their masterly evocations of period and setting - here...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by George Rodger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks crisis and tension
Alan Furst is hailed on his books as 'widely recognised as a master of the historical spy novel' and by the New York Times as 'America's pre-eminent spy novelist'. The pity is that he is none of these things. The filters obviously omit Brit contenders like John Le Carre, Frederick Forsyth, Ian Fleming and one his novels are very comparable with: Eric Ambler. A look at...
Published 22 months ago by M. Spellman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Pole Positions, 11 July 2013
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
This is a book about the shadows of war. The figure of Le Carre looms large over it. Furst has Le Carre's way with character, situation and location, but his interest is more in the oblique and uncertain. The book suffers as a consequence. Because so little is revealed the story feels like there is little at stake. This may well be part of the point but it does not really make for an especially gripping read. It feels realistic and life-like but has all the faults of the real too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read - better than the film, 19 April 2013
By 
Peter Tabb (Channel Islands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
I read the book before ordering the DVD and enjoyed both but the book has, inevitably greater depth, and offers ultimately a better story. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Of his genre, he is the best., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a personal novel as the French might say, and if you dont like the style, it may not work. But if you like Camus and Sartre, this is well-written and enjoyable. A sort of Sartre lite, I suppose! But excellent all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of his best, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The characters are well drawn and involving and keep you reading. However I found the plot not only a little slow but also failing to reach any kind of conclusion. An interesting read (as are most of this Author's books) but left me feeling he had run out of enthusiasm for it so just brought it to an end. No doubt this wasn't what he did, it just felt like it to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling and well written, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An unusual but also very compelling read.It was of a period before the second world war that has been overlooked. I could not put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
I purchased this to smooth out some points from the recent T.V. production. Enjoyed it, reminded me of Philip Kerr's books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Need to read it more than once - Quite difficult to follow, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are lots of historical facts, factions and political organisations to absorb in this book, therefore it is not easy reading. I am not sufficiently informed about the history covered in this book so have found it hard work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars names to remember, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
It took a lot of concentration at the beginning to place all the characters in the story but once i got to about halfway i began to enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Spies of Warsaw, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This spy thriller is set in the Thirties in the run up to WW2. The principal character, a French military attaché, is more of a pacifist than a warmonger, but dutifully and bravely goes about the tasks his superiors give him. A very good sense of atmosphere in pre war Poland, Germany and France and the characters are finely drawn. Alan Furst's research is excellent, the settings are intriguing and a sense of reality pervades the plot. A good read, well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read., 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the book. Kept my attention from beginning to end. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good going spy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spies of Warsaw
Spies of Warsaw by Alan Furst (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews