Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific return to form
I was disappointed by 'Dark Voyage', thought that 'The Foreign Correspondent' was a slight improvement, but am delighted that Alan Furst has re-found his unique style and voice with 'The Spies of Warsaw'.
It's a real return to the high quality of his earlier boooks like 'The World at Night' and 'Dark Star' and their masterly evocations of period and setting - here...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by George Rodger

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tense and Atmospheric
Alan Furst has written a number of spy novels set in the late 1930s. Whilst they invariably take place in different locations with a new cast of characters, there are some links between the books. What sets his writing apart is the sense of authenticity and the way that the books ooze tension and menace.

This book is set predominantly in Warsaw, Poland,...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by Julia Flyte


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as complicated as a polka, 9 Feb 2011
By 
A. Browne "avid reader" (Donegal Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
This is another excellent story of pre war Europe and the Murky world of Espionage. This time the Germans are more fleshed out, even though the story primarily concerns the French Military attaché to Poland. It does pose a major question if everyone knew war was coming, how could they not see it bypassing Frances fixed defences?I think this is a question to be answered in non fiction History books. Any recommendations?
The imagery of these novels is very intense you can almost smell the kerosene and Cordite. Feel the numbing greyness of the working class areas and the sparkling life of the diplomatic circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alan Furst's Greatest Hits, 28 Mar 2010
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
Hum. There is a sense in which The Spies of Warsaw is a kind of Greatest Hits: characters, places, themes and narrative ideas from the past crop up all the time. It's now clear that Furst is in love with an idealised pre-1939 Europe of palaces, embassies, cocktail parties, country estates, aristocrats, night trains and doomed patriots. He does this very well (no-one better) but missing from this book is any real sense of Poland in the late 1930s with its unpleasant military dictatorship and desperate grinding poverty. He also makes elementary errors in the diplomatic world he tries to describe so thoroughly - you can have a chargé d'affaires or an Ambassador, for example, but not both at the same time. Like most Americans he can understand European politics intellectually but not emotionally. Here he tries to depict a couple of NKVD agents in a sympathetic light, but only produces a couple of caricatures. He has yet to depict a credible socialist or communist figure in any of his books. All in all, I can't help wondering if it's time for a break of some kind, delightful as his books are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Whether it was because the book was so different from the TV adaption or because the last quarter became rather dull, I was disa, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspired by the recent TV mini series I started this book with enthusiasm but gradually became weary. Whether it was because the book was so different from the TV adaption or because the last quarter became rather dull, I was disappointed and don't particularly want to read another of Alan Furst's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving realism., 6 April 2014
By 
J. N. Marshall "John M." (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book after seeing the BBC dramatisation
An excellent fast moving book which paints a credible picture of intelligence gathering immediately prior to WW2.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Spies of Warsaw, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
Splendid Book as are all of Alan Furst's. His descriptive powers of life during WW2 and the spying "industry" are second to none. He keeps the reader on tender hooks throughout, Recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story and I found it a worthwhile read, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It maintained my attention throughout & was a good solid spy story. I found that it was certainly worth the reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Spies of Warsaw, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
Good, pacy read.I chose this for my book club and most of the group enjoyed it, especially the men. The TV version is slightly different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Spies Of Warsaw, 26 Aug 2013
By 
J. Skowronski (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
Had heard good reports about this book. I'm interested in this period which is the run up to the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pole Positions, 11 July 2013
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
This is a book about the shadows of war. The figure of Le Carre looms large over it. Furst has Le Carre's way with character, situation and location, but his interest is more in the oblique and uncertain. The book suffers as a consequence. Because so little is revealed the story feels like there is little at stake. This may well be part of the point but it does not really make for an especially gripping read. It feels realistic and life-like but has all the faults of the real too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read - better than the film, 19 April 2013
By 
Peter Tabb (Channel Islands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Spies Of Warsaw (Paperback)
I read the book before ordering the DVD and enjoyed both but the book has, inevitably greater depth, and offers ultimately a better story. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spies of Warsaw
Spies of Warsaw by Alan Furst (Hardcover - 3 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews