Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BuyThis Book
This is an essential read to any wrestling fan and gives a fantastic insight into the way the business has developed over the years from a variety of small franchises and roadshows into one of the worlds most extravagant, popular and hugely entertaining sports. Not only does this book let the reader in on the history of the WWF (Now WWE) but also takes you on a journey...
Published on 12 Aug 2003 by russbwhiteoak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fair effort
Sex, Lies and Headlocks claims to be the real story of Vince McMahon and the World Wrestling Federation, however, much of what is contained within can be found quite easily by anybody who has an inside interest in how the world of Professional Wrestling works.

The book serves more as a catalogue of events and outcomes as opposed to offering any real insight...
Published 18 months ago by Marc Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book on the inside of the wwe and wrestling in general from decades ago to the modern era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fair effort, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sex, Lies and Headlocks claims to be the real story of Vince McMahon and the World Wrestling Federation, however, much of what is contained within can be found quite easily by anybody who has an inside interest in how the world of Professional Wrestling works.

The book serves more as a catalogue of events and outcomes as opposed to offering any real insight into stuff people don't already know about. The book is largely narrative (did we really need to know that the federal prosecutor liked to drink Pinot Noir from grapes grown in his own back garden?, I think not) and in places some of the dates are sloppy, not good enough considering that long time wrestling journalist Mike Mooneyham was part of the book's creation.

Overall the book does offer an interesting insight into the world of professional wrestling which people don't see on the screen, and for newcomers looking into that side of the wrestling business it serves as an excellent starting point. However, for the seasoned wrestling scholar this book offers little which isn't already known about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 8 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex, Lies, and Headlocks: The Real Story of Vince McMahon and World Wrestling Entertainment (Paperback)
This book isnt realy interesting. theres some information in there that you wouldnt know (probably), but the book has one focus: to portrat Vince Macmahon and the WWE as evil, and it seems like everything in the book gets twisted into that focus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Holds Barred, 6 Mar 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex, Lies, and Headlocks: The Real Story of Vince McMahon and World Wrestling Entertainment (Paperback)
Being in the UK, I was rather confused by the habit of using initials in representing TV stations and Wrestling Promotions throughout. Surely it would have been polite and sensible to give their names in full on at least the first occasion they were mentioned. The authors/publisher must realise that not all the readers are going to be Americans. However, I waded through that.

This book pulls no punches and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a pity that Vince McMahon made no contribution towards the narrative. Essential reading for wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shines the spotlight on the real wrestling world!, 14 Feb 2004
By 
John Cotter "seancotter2004" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For years the wrestling world has been a very secretive organisation shrouded in controversy. The wrestling world has allways kept us in the dark and this book manages to bring light into our world and show us what exactly the wrestling world has been hiding for over 50 years!
The book, if your a knew fan won't be relevant. As a fan of wrestling for over 10 years it helped me get to grips with certain things i had trouble understanding.
Things such as "kayfab". In the book we learn this is the code used by the wrestlers to tell people to shut up as there was an outsider (someone who wasn't involved in wrestling and didn't know it was fake)coming. There is so much more stuff like that in this book that is so interesting.
This book is like the history book we were thought from at school. Only it dosn't contain facts on the cold war, it contains facts on the Austin and Mcmahon war. It's your wrestling history book.
BUY IT AND LEARN FROM IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Lies and Headlocks, 29 Dec 2003
Excellent book to read if you are a wrestling fan, lets you know exactly how Vince McMahon got to where he is now. Thooroughly enjoyed this book, Could not put it down from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 21 Feb 2004
By 
Paul Christopher Clarke (Shipley, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Sex, Lies and Headlocks is a great book. If you want to know what goes on behind the scenes of a wrestling promotion then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite the let down, 23 Nov 2002
Having been a wrestling fan sice i was 5 now aged 22 i throught this book would be a good insite to what goes on in the wwe behind the scenes all we got for the first few chapters was a lot of old boring stuff about the old days it went on for ever i got this book because i throught it would be straight into what vince does how vince works but that did not happen right till the end of the book which i got to quite fast as i just did not wanna read anymore about the good old days iam a massive wwe fan how ever the two guys you wrote this did notdo them justice better luck next time round i say .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews