Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book!
This has to be the most wonderful cook book i have ever had. I am an experienced cook (amateur) and have many great books. However, this is just super. The introduction alone is worthy of being published on its own. It gives a wonderful description of the history of eateries in downtown Manhattan and the history of the brasserie itself is very well depicted. By the...
Published on 28 Feb 2011 by Maggymay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Nicely produced but more fun eating int he restaurants!
Published 1 month ago by Noreen Chamberlain


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Book!, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
This has to be the most wonderful cook book i have ever had. I am an experienced cook (amateur) and have many great books. However, this is just super. The introduction alone is worthy of being published on its own. It gives a wonderful description of the history of eateries in downtown Manhattan and the history of the brasserie itself is very well depicted. By the time i had finished the introduction i thought that was that. And then to find the recipes! Wow. There is nothing in this book to criticise. The photographs are wonderful, the descriptions are wonderful, the recipes are wonderful. i am Irish and visit NY on business and holidays and know this restaurant well. Oh for a steak frites or the house salad...... Everything in the book is true and I just want to go there now! i cannot recommend it highly enough. Well done to everyone in Balthazars! Keith McNally and his team have done a wonderful job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 April 2009
By 
Simon P. Howes "simmuns" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
This is beautifully laid out, easy to read, the recipes simple and easy to replicate. Nice, simple, orderly instructions. Despite originating from an American restaurant, the chef-author is British-born and the recipes French Bistro-style. It names some ingredients more easily found in America but these are so easy so substitute it's really no problem at all. It's a treasure chest of all the recipes you will ever want need to recreate suberb meals. I can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Balthazar Cookbook, 22 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
I use this book all the time for special meals. It enables you to produce smart resturant/french bistro standard food at home. The instructions are clear and though some of the receipes may seem to be very involved the results are worth it. The creme brulee is to die for and so easy to make, it has never failed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the NYC restaurant you will absolutely love this book, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
I purchased this book after having eaten at the Balthazar Bistro in New York and having loved the food there.

There are a number of recipes in the book that feature on the NYC menu, I couldn't wait to try these out for myself at home to see how they compared.

The book is nicely laid out, with a photo accompanying most major recipes, and some pages with photos from the restaurant itself which gives you a real feel for the hustle and bustle origins of these recipes.

A small thing but something I love is how glossy the pages are, makes the book feel a little bit special when cooking from it / leafing through for inspiration.

It is divided into the following sections (I've also included a full list of all the recipes in the book at the end of this review):
Appetizers, soups and breakfast
Fish and Shellfish
Chicken and Game
Meat
Vegetables and Sides
Desserts
Basic recipes (mainly sauces and garnishes)

The recipes are laid out in an easy to follow manner, with an introduction for each one, usually talking about where or why it features in the menu at NYC and a couple of tips about the dish, e.g. what kind of joint you should ask for at your butcher and why the cassoulet takes so long to make, but why it's worth the time and the effort.

The recipes in the book are not quick fixes, but are perfect for those willing to invest a little bit of time and care to produce a tasty and very satisfying.

The book contains one of my "go to" recipes now if wanting to entertain which is the goats cheese tart, I had it in the restaurant and thought it was amazing, and having followed the recipe they are equally as good at home if I do say so myself!

All recipes that we have cooked from this book have really turned out well, including the Onion Soup Gratinee, the Italian meringue and the Coq au Vin.

One minor frustrating but perhaps understandable thing I found about the book is that all recipes are in American measures. So when a recipe asks for one stick and two tablespoons of butter, it can take at least a minute to work out what that actually means! However there is a conversion table in the back of the book.

All in all I absolutely love this book, it's great having it on my cook book shelf as it reminds me of my trips to New York and has some wonderful recipes in to boot.

Full recipe list below:

*Pour Commencer - Appetizers, Soups and Breakfast*
Balthazar Salad
Roasted Beets and Mâche Salad
Salad Niçoise
Frisée Aux Lardons
Chicken Liver Mousse
Rillettes à La Fermière
Brandade De Morue
Quenelles De Poisson
Escargots With Garlic Butter
Gravlax
Grilled Sardine Pan Bagnat
Steak Tartare
Goat Cheese Tart With Caramelized Onions
Potage Saint-Germain
Mushroom Soup
Oeufs En Meurette
Onion Soup Gratinée
Plateau Des Fruits De Mer
Cocktail Sauce
Migonette Sauce
Tarragon Mayonnaise

*Les Poissons - Fish and Shellfish*
Bouillabaisse
Moules à La Marinière
Warm Salad Of Grilled Trout With Spinach and Lentils
Sautéed Skate With Brown Butter, Haricots Verts, and Hazelnuts
Sole à La Meunière
Flounder à La Provençale
Sole En Papillote
Whole Roasted Dorade With Fennel, Olives, and Lemon
Grilled Mackerel With Cabbage
Cod Mitonnée
Cod With Cockles and Parsley
Cod With Lobster, Chickpeas, and Sauce Américaine
Grilled Swordfish With Beurre Noir
Halibut à La Barigoule
Roasted Halibut With Crushed Potatoes, Almonds, and Tomatoes
Mustard-Crusted Salmon With Lentils and Sweet Garlic Jus
Koulibiac
Salmon With Radicchio, Mushrooms, and Soft Polenta
Vinegar Jus
Monkfish Grand-Mère
Striped Bass With Tomato and Saffron
Black Bass With Corn and Caramelized Onions
Grilled Tuna With Blood Orange and Fennel
Turbot With Morels and Asparagus

*Les Poulets et les Gibiers - Chicken and Game*
Roast Chicken For Two
Chicken Riesling
Coq Au Vin
Duck Confit
Duck à L'Orange
Duck Shepherd's Pie
Cassoulet
Roast Squab With Giblets
Grilled Quail With Braised Figs and Port Glaze
Rabbit Moutarde

*Les Viandes - Meat*
Steak Frites
Steak Au Poivre
Côte De Boeuf
Braised Short Ribs
Roast Rack of Veal
Blanquette De Veau
Pork Milanese
Pork Tenderloin
Prune-Stuffed Roast Loin of Pork
Glazed Pork Belly
Stuffed Saddle of Lamb
Braised Lamb Shoulder
Champvallon
Roast Leg of Lamb With Rosemary and Vegetables
Choucroute Garnie

*Les Légumes - Vegetables and Sides*
French Fries
Potato Gratin
Garlic Mashed Potatoes
Crushed Potatoes
Potato Gnocchi
Pommes à La Sarladaise
Buckwheat Crepes With Eggs, Ham and Gruyère
Socca
Mascarpone-Parmesan Polenta
Macaroni Gratin
Fettuccine With Wild Mushrooms
Risotto With Shrimp and Red Peppers
Rice Pilaf
Lentils
Spaetzle
White Beans
Pan-Roasted Root Vegetables
Sautéed Broccoli Rabe With Olive Oil and Garlic
Onion Rings

*Pour Finir - Desserts*
Crème Brûlée
Chocolate Pot De Crème
Lemon Mille-Feuille
Frozen Lemon Parfait
Lemon Granité
Pineapple Upside-Down Cake
Banana Tarte Tatin With Banana Sabayon
Warm Chocolate Cake With Milk Chocolate Crème Anglaise
Profiteroles
French Apple Tart
Crème Anglaise
Pavlova

*Les Sauces et les Garnitures - Basic Recipes*
Chicken Stock
Veal Stock
Roast Chicken Jus
Court Bouillon
Lemon-Truffle Vinaigrette
Sherry Vinaigrette
Balsamic Vinaigrette
Tapenade
Lemon Confit
Red Onion Confit
Sweet-And-Sour Shallots
Fennel Confit
Tomato Confit
Sauce Américaine
Sauce Bordelaise
Roasted Bell Peppers
Mayonnaise
Aïoli
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
Nicely produced but more fun eating int he restaurants!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well presented, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Jon (Farnham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Balthazar Cookbook (Hardcover)
I confess that I bought this after seeing the duck shepherds pie recipe somewhere with the immortal description 'cooking time 4 1/2 hours, preparation time, all day'. It's well presented and interesting but one can do the duck bit in less time with less fuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Balthazar Cookbook
The Balthazar Cookbook by Riad Nasr (Hardcover - Oct 2003)
Used & New from: £13.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews