Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in its price range
Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses)

Being a tutor of Brazilian Portuguese, I often use this book in class due to its comprehensive approach. Each unit is divided into 'words', 'phrases', 'sentences', and 'conversations', making the learning experience more complete and didactic. In my opinion, two things make the book...
Published on 3 Jun. 2010 by Mr Parker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful without the CD
I decided to purchase this book as it had very good reviews. But apparently those reviews were for the same book that comes with the audio CD. So does anyone know where can I get the CD only? Obviously I dont want to buy the whole book again (which seems to be the only option) Thank you
Published 20 months ago by Cristina Hrisovescu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best in its price range, 3 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses)

Being a tutor of Brazilian Portuguese, I often use this book in class due to its comprehensive approach. Each unit is divided into 'words', 'phrases', 'sentences', and 'conversations', making the learning experience more complete and didactic. In my opinion, two things make the book stand out in comparison with other titles; first, the 'Culture Notes' in each unit, providing interesting insights into Brazilian culture and general habits (it's hard to avoid the stereotypes and gross generalisations though); second, the care and attention to the detail, making this one of the most error-free language books I have come across in this price range.

You will not find here visually appealing illustrations or fancy glossy pages, such as in BBC language courses. This is a cheap book in terms of graphical presentation, but do not let this put you off - the content is rich, informative, and very educational. For a few pounds, you will get great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brazilian book, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
I checked several sites before choosing this book. I wasn't disappointed, it is very easy to work through and you soon feel drawn into the culture of Brazil as well. It's not the only Brazilian language book I bought but it's one of the better ones. Delivery was hassle free and quick too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended for starters, 17 July 2014
By 
Ross Broadway "Ross" (Wycombe, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
A great beginner's course in Brazilian Portuguese - ideal for picking up useful everyday vocal and sentence structuring as well as some of the quirks of the Brazilian language. I just came back from 6 weeks in the country and - having read the first 4 chapters of the book prior to leaving, and combining that with some online listening of the language - found that I could easily take part in everyday conversations with locals. It was therefore a great stepping stone onto learning more of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Um livro excelente!, 17 May 2013
By 
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
I fully endorse the review by Mr Parker. I have found this book to be clearer and more understandable than more expensive fancier packages. It is a joy to work through and fully deserves 5 stars in my opinion. Muito obrigado "Living Language" ele é um livro excelente!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Textbook for up to Intermediate Level, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
It does exactly as it says........Complete Brazilian Portuguese for Beginners. Good quality book for a good price. Broken down into nice manageable Chapters without Information Overload in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Brazilian Portuguese, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
Absolutely what I wanted, and as described. It is a different approach to learning - interspersing vocabulary and grammar with practical conversations. Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not very useful without the CD, 8 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
I decided to purchase this book as it had very good reviews. But apparently those reviews were for the same book that comes with the audio CD. So does anyone know where can I get the CD only? Obviously I dont want to buy the whole book again (which seems to be the only option) Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for the Price. Well structured., 5 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
I bought that book because of the price and the good reviews. I dont regret it. It is well done, a very enjoyable read. I bought many language methods (not Portuguese though) before and that one is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best course of Brazilian Portuguese, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
Dawnimac "Dawnimac" (Jamaica, West Indies) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
I used this course many years ago and was glad to find that it was still available.. I like the format and the fact that it comes with its own dictionary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
Easy to understand and has been very useful for learning grammar structures. I also sent one to my son in Brazil and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Brazilian Portuguese: The Basics (Living Language Complete Courses)
£8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews