Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent updated edition to an already outstanding book
I've already posted a review for the previous edition. With the new one, Tanenbaum maintains his excellent spot at the forefront of "must read" computer communications books. This is the "bottom-up" approach (physical to application layers) and if you have time, it will make sense to read Kurose-Ross' book
which takes the top-down path.
Tanenbaum has updated...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by Ramses

versus
0 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thick book from an arrogant EU author
Given the limited insight this *BRICK* book gives into several scificntic dispcilnes I must say this a book that is not needed beyond high-school.
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by Con Crete


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent updated edition to an already outstanding book, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've already posted a review for the previous edition. With the new one, Tanenbaum maintains his excellent spot at the forefront of "must read" computer communications books. This is the "bottom-up" approach (physical to application layers) and if you have time, it will make sense to read Kurose-Ross' book
which takes the top-down path.
Tanenbaum has updated this book with recent developments, although the "core material" is timeless and remains very
well explained (and untouched). This is a must read for newcomers to data comms (together with pretty much all Tanenbaum books), and it does make sense to get the new edition even if (like me) you have perused the previous. MUST BUY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have computer networks book, 13 April 2011
This is now my favourite computer networks book. The latest edition is considerably added to the previous one. Classic material plus the latest developments make this book a very good source for starting your networks studies. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and readable book on computer networking, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book covers many aspects of "networking" - from PSTN and mobile telephony and satellites, with fairly comprehensive treatment of the OSI 7-layer model, before a challenging section on Network Security.

While some of the sections are pretty basic and fairly superficial, but the vast majority of the information presented is both detailed and accessible. This makes it a great book to have to hand.

Sure it's expensive, but it's worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, Coursera course available, 4 Sep 2013
By 
Larry (Macclesfield, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book as it was recommended for a Coursera Course(free online) given by one of the authors(Prof Wetherall). This is my first introduction to Networking, and the only book I've read so I can't compare to others. However, I did find it very readable, and covers a broad range of topics in a coherent manner. The associated Coursera course follows the book very closely and is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thick book from an arrogant EU author, 5 Jun 2011
Given the limited insight this *BRICK* book gives into several scificntic dispcilnes I must say this a book that is not needed beyond high-school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xace09618)

This product

Computer Networks
Computer Networks by David J. Wetherall (Paperback - 23 July 2013)
54.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews