Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth 10 stars
I bought this book as I wanted an overview on AI. Well, this is even more than that. It's a great book, very easy to understand. Every chapter starts with the simple basic definitions, and gets more complicated, and there is a generous amount of information and pages for each topic. Reading it I find the answers to questions I've had for a while, so I really love how...
Published on 30 Sept. 2010 by Ioana

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book is of very poor quality, pages are extremely thin
Book is of very poor quality, pages are extremely thin, it is possible to see through each page. I have seen better quality magazines, extremely disappointed considering the price the book.
Published 5 months ago by Jack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth 10 stars, 30 Sept. 2010
I bought this book as I wanted an overview on AI. Well, this is even more than that. It's a great book, very easy to understand. Every chapter starts with the simple basic definitions, and gets more complicated, and there is a generous amount of information and pages for each topic. Reading it I find the answers to questions I've had for a while, so I really love how helpful this book can be. I have the third edition, and I am mainly interested in the probabilistic reasoning part. The authors have a great writing style, they have such good jokes that it really gives me the feeling they loved writing the book and they want the reader to be relaxed and enjoy the field, so it's hard to put it down once I open it. I think it also has a good flow, the reading flow and the ideas are not interrupted, and it progresses nicely, without making me feel overloaded with information.
The mathematics is understandable, I didn't find pages with more formulas than text as I saw in other books in the field. So it's not a scary sight.
I think that compared to any other book on AI this is way beyond, and it is the one to buy as it saves a lot of time of searching the web for answers. So if you need a book on AI, if this book cannot help you, no other book will. And another aspect I really appreciate at this book is its price. I can't believe when I read it that it was the cheapest among my latest acquisitions on ai and machine learning, and it contains so much more useful information than any of them! This is a great thing. You will notice that the paper quality is not as high as in other books, but this is something I love. I don't want to pay for the glossy paper, as I'd rather pay for more pages!
Just another point for who might be interested in case based reasoning : this book almost doesn't mention it! It's only mentioned in a Bibliographical and Historical chapter, in one paragraph. Therefore, I'd advise to check the table of contents and see if the authors write about what you're interested in. If they do, that'll be a pleasure to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to date but challenging book on AI, 11 Nov. 2011
This 1100 page tome is the class textbook for the AI course run at Stanford University.

It is up to date and gives a lot of information about new approaches to AI and machine learning that have been developed in the last 10 years.

However it is not a light read. There is an assumption that you are already familiar with the mathematics around probabilities, linear algegra and matrix manipulation, as well as being able to recognise a wealth of greek symbols used in the sometimes confusing notations used. There are a few pages about these mathematical topics in an appendix bit you will probably need to brush up with other material referenced outside of the book if you want to fully understand or try to apply the probabalistic learning techniques described.

If you just want to know what AI is about then there are a lot of easier introductory books around, but if you want to know in detail the sort of probabalistic learning techniques that allowed the Stanford University team to win the $2million prize for the DARPA autonomous vehicle challenge then this book is one of the few around that covers the material in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a bible of AI, 13 April 2014
By 
hfffoman (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book starts from the beginning and covers a huge range of AI up to an advanced level. At the same time it is clearly written, though it takes a lot of studying, being packed with fascinating detail and explanation. The algorithms are written in pseudocode which makes them fairly easy to understand but it still takes a lot of working through.

One thing to consider: most undergraduate and masters students will find it goes well beyond their syllabus, while PhD students will find it is too broad for their specialised fields. I still think it worth having a copy to dip into and sometimes to study in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, a must have for every undergraduate., 15 Oct. 2013
This is one of those books that you actually should get for your year 1/year 2 undergraduate AI course. It is written in a really concise and at the same time challenging for an undergrad level and it covers a very wide range of AI enough to make you realise what you like the most. It might seem if as if the book is very dry and just theoretic but that would be if you don't do the exercises and don't use the code base. I would suggest downloading the python code from the website [...] and programming in parallel while reading the book. Since it's a big book it does have chapters that are simply discussions - Chapter 1(into), Chapter 2(expanded intro), and the last 2 chapters on moral issues with AI, but even these are interesting if you have the time and are interested.
Overall, I would say that this book is a must for every AI inclined undergrad - it doesn't have the 'state-of-the-art' cutting edge research result in every area it covers but it gives you enough to chose what to learn about next ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gigantic Bible of Knownledge, 30 Oct. 2010
This book is over 1000 pages and it has the most wild and widely used algorithms. It focuses on explaining the reader how the algorithms work and why they work rather then focusing on their implementation (and when they implement algorithms they don't do it the best way).

It has many algorithms from the most diverse areas, but the pseudo-code implementations are weak and way too general to be of any use, further more, their evaluation function is also not recommendable in most cases.

Other than that, it is a fluid book with hundreds of illustrations and schemes that will help any reader understand how things should work easily in most cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good textbook. Gives enough examples too help you fully understand the concepts without becoming tiresome. Covers a broad range of topics on artificial intelligence as well as a full chapter on first order logic and it is a full guide for any beginner on AI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good book, written in a way that people can easily get an overview before going into details, which is extremely good for understanding, not to mention the pseudo code come with it. A Must have for anybody doing machine learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good summary/ introduction to AI. Incredible tool for someone who is studying the field. As to the service from the retailer- fast delivery and provides exactly what is said in the description. Great one thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
M. OSULLIVAN - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an excellent book, it's very well written in terms of communicating the information and also the writing style is most agreeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very complete work on AI. Theory and practice are perfectly balanced.
Very good book and excellent delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach
Artificial Intelligence: A Modern Approach by Peter Norvig (Paperback - 5 Aug. 2013)
£56.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews