Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account
The first chapter of the book opens directly in the middle of a hard arrest and sets the scene for the rest of the book. Before the book goes back to reflect on how (I assume) the author came to be part of the SAS in a very short but candid manner. After that the book jumps into discrete missions that try to explain some of the weapon systems being used and information...
Published 19 months ago by Brian J. Clarke

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
This could have been a great book,however the abysmal spelling and grammar issues completely ruined the experience. It was like reading an essay written by a 12 year old boy about what they did on their summer holiday.
Published 16 months ago by Craig Williams


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest account, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Afghan Heat: Sas Operations in Afghanistan (Paperback)
The first chapter of the book opens directly in the middle of a hard arrest and sets the scene for the rest of the book. Before the book goes back to reflect on how (I assume) the author came to be part of the SAS in a very short but candid manner. After that the book jumps into discrete missions that try to explain some of the weapon systems being used and information about the enemy along with some of their tactics. Each chapter is short and snappy most chapters are pretty much non-stop action.

A couple of chapters look at missions the author was not involved in and ones I did read about in the newspaper. Great to see that the book does not try to big up the SAS or belittle other elements of the armed forces. It just stays neutral giving the facts, but offering praise when praise is due. In many ways a modest book as all the lads and ladies out in Afghanistan are heroes if you ask me. I was humbled by the candidness of this SAS trooper. He spoke of his fear and how he very much gave the impression he was not a one man army, but part of a team that relied on each other and crucial fire support when in battle. There was an obvious warmness and fondness to his fellow allied soldiers and how well all the allied Special Forces seemed to work together on missions.
The final chapter was quite reflective on the transition from soldier to civvy street and all the difficulties that can bring, tied off a very interesting story that I am sure many will enjoy. There are a few disparaging reviews, but then that is situation normal for Amazon these days. It is all too easy to be a keyboard warrior and give opinions that you would never dream of doing face to face. I say, read the book and enjoy it for what it is, at times gritty, historical account of life in Afghanistan on the now not quite so secret SAS. Walter Mitty's need not apply as they are too busy writing reviews...
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting, 12 April 2013
Being ex-army I still enjoy reading about what the lads are up to even though I never had the balls to go for selection. I bumped into the odd SAS trooper during my career and this book seems to back up what I have heard. I served during Operation Telic in Iraq and it is amazing how many similarities they are between the two wars. Lack of manpower, equipment and of course the IED, which seems to have become ever more sophisticated since my time. Keep up the good work and great to see a book donating to such a good cause!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fast-paced book filled with action, 20 April 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book which was crammed full of action from beginning to end. It gave a true account of life in Afghanistan for the SAS and it was refreshing to read a book of this genre without all the usual macho stuff! Was also very interesting reading about combat as well as the difficult post-military transition. The fact that sales of this book also contributes to 'Help the Heroes' means I would highly recommend this to anyone who is an SAS war-story fanatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars afgan heat, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read still reading it just love it really tell how it is unbelievable, that men could suffer these conditions and still fight axs required and more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was about the operations in the Afghan war. The story was told by someone who knows. Warts and all a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good factual documentary, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was not what I expected but the real stories were interesting and was hard to put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief resume of one SAS soldiers experiences in Afghanistan., 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worth while, if rather brief account, of an SAS soldiers experience fighting in Afghanistan. Given that this up to date makes it the more important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This could have been a great book,however the abysmal spelling and grammar issues completely ruined the experience. It was like reading an essay written by a 12 year old boy about what they did on their summer holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Afgan Heat; SAS Operations in Afghanistan., 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is a great shame, because the author probably has a good story to tell, but this book is so badly written that try as I might, I couldn't struggle beyond chapter 3. There are numerous spelling mistakes, sentences are transposed or simply muddled up. Why on earth didn't he get someone to proof read it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Decidedly poor. Proof reader wants shooting., 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is so bad that I spent more time trying to get rid of all trace of it from my Kindle system in case anyone stole the device and thought I was really stupid.

The story was not bad as a group of shorts loosely tied together with fine thread (a very knotty thread)

I cant make my mind up if this was voice typed and not checked as the errors (many...oh so many) are not all spelling or grammar but similar sounding words such as "out" instead of "our" or "know" vice "known" etc.

Written by a soldier, I am sure of that, although they are made to do Key Skills in reading etc. nowadays, I know as I am from the clan. I have read all stories in this book somewhere else and written by adults and far better written too.

I am puzzled as there are some good 5 star reviews... God bless family, publishers and the Army Cadet Force for those.

Sack the proof readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Afghan Heat: Sas Operations in Afghanistan
Afghan Heat: Sas Operations in Afghanistan by Steve Stone (Paperback - 25 Jan 2014)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews