Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the main book
You need this Guide to add to your camera bag as the book is too comprehensive to take on holiday with you.
Published 23 months ago by fairway house

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't add much to the Nikon manual
This just contains similar information to the Nikon D800 manual, except it is in larger print. The guide is therefore relatively big (A5 size). The ring binding is odd.

I have flipped through this guide briefly and I don't think I'll be looking at it again. I can't see why anyone would bother taking it with them when they go out shooting photos - you will know...
Published 11 months ago by ST from UK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to the main book, 6 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
You need this Guide to add to your camera bag as the book is too comprehensive to take on holiday with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikon D800/E, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Very good book as expected, having read the guide to D700 by the same author.
Includes so much more than the included manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Having purchased a couple of Nikon D800 guides, I was still a little disappointed. I was looking for something more explanatory and practical than a re-hash of the camera instruction manual. This book is exactly that, and is a great asset to have with you at all times. The style of writing is clear and informative, and the author imparts some of his own suggestions regarding key camera set up options and modes. This is an excellent book, and I have now read it cover to cover with the camera in my hands (the spiral bound format is brilliant for this). Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't add much to the Nikon manual, 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
This just contains similar information to the Nikon D800 manual, except it is in larger print. The guide is therefore relatively big (A5 size). The ring binding is odd.

I have flipped through this guide briefly and I don't think I'll be looking at it again. I can't see why anyone would bother taking it with them when they go out shooting photos - you will know all the simple things already.

I have just got the full David Busch's full guide to D800/D800E. I hope that this has more useful info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy book for the camera bag, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Having bought the massive David Busch's Nikon D800 Guide to Digital SLR Photography, this is an excellent companion book with the 'must do's and need to knows' from the main book that have been put in here along with other splendid items.

It makes it easier to understand than using the 'Nikon D800 User's Manual' which comes with the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
Tish (Sheffield South Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Very practical and easy to understand, it is more than a quick reference book containing many very valid explanations. The price does not reflect the quality, it really is a bargain. I also have the Nikon D3200 version, both are highly recommend.

Tish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Bought for my husband, he's very pleased with it and says it will enable him to get even more out of his new toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Factually incorrect, which gives me little confidence in this book, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
There's probably quite a few self-proclaimed photographic 'experts' out there, busily rehashing official camera User's Manuals and claiming their plagiaristic opus magna as a #1 (that's US speak for 'number one') world's best seller and it does leave one wondering wonder whether or not these guides actually have any added value?
Having recently purchased this particular 'Compact Field Guide', which I looked at in the comfort of my own home, rather than going out into a field, I immediately spotted a glaring error, which also left me wondering how factually correct all David Busch's guides actually are, particularly as he's 'written dozens of hugely successful guidebooks' and they all seem to have been released almost immediately after a particular camera model is launched?
The first section I referred to from this particular goulash of reconstituted Nikon tidbits (page 40): 'Metering mode button/Format #2', where when this is pressed, the main command dial changes the metering mode from center (sic)-weighted, to matrix to spot metering, is simply not right! The mode button, used in combination with the main command dial, actually changes the exposure mode (to either P/S/A/M). With a fundamental error such as this, I wonder where all the other error are, and sadly I have little confidence that the book is fit for purpose as a learning resource, particularly for those who pluckily acquire the D800 as entry level equipment and take each word of a highly technical tome as gospel.
The cost of the book is fairly low thank goodness, and for this reason I will keep it, if only to save the hassle of returning it and hopefully picking up on something of use (and credible) that isn't contained in the Nikon User Manual. My advice, however, is not to accept everything stated in this guide as 100% correct. If something doesn't happen in the way described, refer back to the official Nikon Users Manual.
All in all, it's a shame not to have confidence in a guide book, and perhaps this error, together with others, will be corrected in the second (no doubt rushed) issue. In fairness, mistakes do happen, but it would be good to see errata dealt with as part of the book sales process....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
Every Nikon D800 owner should have one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
By 
W. J. Skinner (southport, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E (Spiral-bound)
very prompt would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E
David Buschs Compact Field Guide for Nikon D800/D800E by David Busch (Spiral-bound - 9 Oct. 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews