Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars132
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2013
This is a wonderful, well-written and informative book. I would recommend it very strongly to anyone interested in Victorian London.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 January 2014
A wonderful book concerning Victorian London. It is full of interesting and very informative facts and history, of this great city.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This is a well-written account of what life was like in all aspects in 19th century London, evoking the sights, sounds, smells and general chaos of the city in that time. A real historical feast for those interested in London and how it compared then to now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
I love to read about this era,and this book is by far the most readable enjoyable and detailed book on the subject I've ever read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
In wonderfully readable book Flanders both paints a vivid picture of the City and passes on great scholarship and information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2014
A very good insight into the London of Dickens, how did the masses survive all the hardships and the lack of medical knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
So much information my husband loved it feel I have read it myself as he kept reading bits out to me , will also read
It
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Such a good insight to history,
as we are very honoured to have such a good life now ,how they must have struggled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
I would recommend this book all my friends I found it a very nice read and very good charters and very atomosferic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I really enjoyed this book it's an easy read but informative and made me want to read Dickens again in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)