Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2010
A lovely little book of traditional English Folk Songs. Don't expect such things as accompaniments or chords; the songs are presented with a single line melody, for, as the authors say, they are best sung unaccompanied. However, those with a modicum of musical knowledge would easily be able to add some modal instrumental accompaniment. The 'Notes on the Songs' at the back of the book are a particular delight and the book's size is such that it can easily be popped into a pocket for a trip down to the local folk club. Highly recommended for anyone interested in English traditional song.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2009
What can I say about this classic of traditional British music collection?
Mercifully, the authors don't devote too much space to their own prose, but instead provide a cracking collection of classic traditional songs, with useful information on variations and performance.

Scholarly, without being dry and (this edition, at least)cheap as chips!
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you're interested in traditional British folk music you really ought to have this. Performing careers have been founded on fewer classic songs than there are in this book. I had two copies of the original Penguin edition, one of which was very tatty and barely in one piece. I sold it on ebay a year ago for £20. This cheap reprint is a total bargain, although the type is a bit small. Buy it, learn the tunes and sing them - you won't regret it!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
How can you sell this as if it's the same as the paperback when it has no tunes??? It's good to have lyrics and notes on the songs but I'm still incensed that there is no mention of the melodies being omitted from the kindle version.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2010
This slim, pocket-sized anthology of traditional English folk songs, edited by Ralph Vaughan Williams and A. L. Lloyd, is one of the best guides to English folk tradition. It is a durable Penguin paperback with clear type. Conveniently arranged in alphabetical order by title, the songs cover most counties of England and always include the music: valuable information in such a short format. Most useful are the editors' historical notes on the background of each song, revealing such treasures as the hidden meanings behind 'The Streams of Lovely Nancy'. Any fan of English folk music and folklore should definitely buy it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a wonderful collection, and IMHO it is a must for any fan of British folk song. Just one thing to keep in mind -- this book was previously published under a different title -- "The Penguin Book of English Folk Songs" -- so check your shelf in case you might already have it. If not, then I highly recommend this title.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2013
This is such a beautifully produced edition of VW's folk song collections. I've found it so interesting. The songs are notated with just the melody line, though at the beginning he does show an example of how you could add an accompaniment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
The beautiful music for the songs is not visible on the iPad or iPhone. This makes the book almost useless to me and certainly not worth the money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
A good book for a historical reference of English folk. These songs would have been traditionally sung unaccompanied,and so you would not notice all the time changes that have been recorded here.

It does not contain chords to play along with, which I naively assumed it would, but just a melody line. Lots of classic tunes though, which I have heard in various recordings with out ever knowing the names.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Splendidly informative. A pocket sized essential read for all folk enthusiasts,
and for those who are interested in the historical fabric of our people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)