Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But is it as funny?
Three Men on the Bummel is a far less well known book than its big brother, the celebrated and beloved classic Three Men in a Boat. Several years have elapsed between novels - indeed to those of us who know and love George, Harris and J it is somewhat startling to find J and Harris married with children. But domestic bliss is starting to cloy, and as the men develop...
Published on 6 July 2000 by platobueller@lineone.net

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Often funny, but not often enough really.
This sequel to Three Men in a Boat only sporadically achieves the joy of its progenitor. The narrator and his pals George and Harris (he says nothing of the dog) polish up their bicycles and go a-roaming through the Black Forest in Germany. Naturally they get into scrapes and adventures, and these are sometimes very funny. Here, gentle fun is poked at the Germans' horror...
Published 22 months ago by Jason Mills


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars but it is a good, funny read, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Matt (Southampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading Three Men in a Boat, I wanted to try the sequel. It isn't as witty as the first book, but it is a good, funny read. J and Harris both have wives and once you get your head around this, the book is far more enjoyable. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comic classic, 5 April 2001
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three Men in a Boat is one of my all time favourite books. When I read it I was banned from the living room for laughing too much. It made me laugh until the tears ran down my face. This is much the same. It took me a long time to read the sequel in the fear that it wouldn't be as good, but it was just as funny and I just wish there were more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sadly not a good read, 2 Jan. 2015
Loved 3 men in a boat but this sequel has not stood the test of time. comments about Germany would now be seen as politically incorrect and narrow minded. There were some very funny sections but it was hard to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, amusing and inessential, 8 April 2012
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The barely-known sequel to the classic Three Men in a Boat isn't a bad book. Jerome's humour is intact, but it lacks the impact of the earlier work and the unifying theme of the river. Jerome's descriptions of pre-WWI Germany and the Germans conform roughly to the stereotypes, but the teasing is gentle and it is the vanity and faintly absurd attitudes of the Englishmen that invite ridicule.

It's a pleasant description of the English upper-middle classes of a bygone age, with plenty of deliberately shallow philosophical diversions on the differences in culture and on the foolishness of the English. It retains Jerome's characteristically understated humour, provoking giggles rather than belly laughs. It's an amusing read and is all the better for being so much a book of its time (1900). To call it dated is actually a compliment.

Jerome concludes that the German nation is "still young" (less than 30 years old at the time he wrote this book) and the Germans themselves are "a good people, a loveable people who should help to make the world better". If that statement is true of the past 60 years, Jerome was sadly prescient of another era: "Hitherto, the German has had the blessed fortune to be exceptionally well governed; if this continues, it will go well with him. When his troubles will begin will be when by any chance something goes wrong with the governing machine."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was my choice and it is well made - Delivered before the expected date - and well packaged - Nothing else I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When you figure out what a "Hummel" is it is almost as good as its prequel! Very funny and well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Bob W (Pickering, North Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to submit a rating (stars) but to do that have to write some words, these are those words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome, hilarious book. Ageless comedy. Had me in stitches in public places lots of times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent story with that famous "Dry Humour" that Jerome is famous for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Follow up to Three Men in a Boat, amusing but not as funny as the first book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Men on the Bummel
Three Men on the Bummel by Jerome Klapka Jerome (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2010)
£11.92
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews