Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars But is it as funny?
Three Men on the Bummel is a far less well known book than its big brother, the celebrated and beloved classic Three Men in a Boat. Several years have elapsed between novels - indeed to those of us who know and love George, Harris and J it is somewhat startling to find J and Harris married with children. But domestic bliss is starting to cloy, and as the men develop...
Published on 6 July 2000 by platobueller@lineone.net

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for interest than enjoyment...
'Three Men in a Boat' is one of my favourite books and never fails to make me laugh so I though I ought to read this. I'm glad I did but it is nowhere near as funny as its predecessor. It has occasional moments which are wonderful - a tale of a dog in a restaurant, for example - but what is really fascinating is its picture of Germany in the years immediately before World...
Published 22 months ago by Berowne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was my choice and it is well made - Delivered before the expected date - and well packaged - Nothing else I can say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 men on the bummel, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as funny as 3 men in a boat . But gentle humour . You can feel fond of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Follow up to 3 Men In A Boat, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a sequel to the well-known and much-loved Three Men In a Boat. It is written in the same vein about the same period and much of it is as funny as the first book. However the Bummel (German for sort of wandering lazily about) takes place in late 19th century Germany, and a lot of the humour latterly in the book is based on British perception of Germans from this era. These perceptions changed drastically during the 20th century, so modern readers are not familiar with the national idiosyncracies and type of characters that Jerome K Jerome is poking fun at. However, if you have read the first book, there is no harm is reading the 'follow-up'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good one !, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as hilarious as the first one, but good nonetheless.Definitely worth reading. Picked it up in an airport, made my trip a bit more pleasant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J is back and this time he's cycling, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cycling across 19th century Germany provides as much amusement and opportunities for the three of them to get themselves into scrapes as pulling along the Thames.

If you liked Three Men in a Boat then you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sequel/companion to 3 men in a Boat, this is just as funny. I love the observational humour and the decidedly un-PC comments throughout. It's one of those books you want to read again and again. You will laugh out loud in places. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny, well-written book., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this story about three middle-aged men cycling in Germany quite as much as 'Three Men in a Boat' by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 23 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book you will think about because of Three Men in a Boat. At times in is consciously funnier, but it is a book of its time. Some comments abut other nationalities are not what we would expect to read nowadays. Overall, fun but not as good as its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Small chuckles, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Passed a few hours by the pool,light hearted and tongue in cheek from years gone by.It was an okay short read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Three Men in a Boat, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sure it's funny, but it just reads like the extras/bonus disc of a DVD where you watch all the bits of the film that just weren't good enough to make the final cut. I get the sense of that in is book. Similar to 3MiaB, but it recounts the tale of a trip around Germany on bicycles whilst diverting off to tell amusing little tales that have little to do with the plot of the book. And if I hadn't read 3MiaB, I probably would have rated it higher.

In short, it's a bit disappointing. Read 3MaB and leave it at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Men on the Bummel
Three Men on the Bummel by Jerome Klapka Jerome (Paperback - 10 Sep 2010)
11.51
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews