Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Edition
This book of Lyrical Ballads is based on the first edition of 1798. Two years later it was re-released with a couple of pieces from here removed, and other pieces added. Although there is no active table of contents shown in the 'Go To' menu, if you go past the introduction/ advertisement you will find that there is one, so you can click on any poem, also there are...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
The text within the book only fills half of the page, making it very small and difficult to read. This was not stated anywhere online. It was packaged awfully in some sticky grey plastic bag, which was very difficult to remove and completely stuck to the book. If I didn't need it for university, I would be sending it back immediately.
Published 20 months ago by K Lane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The First Edition, 12 Sep 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book of Lyrical Ballads is based on the first edition of 1798. Two years later it was re-released with a couple of pieces from here removed, and other pieces added. Although there is no active table of contents shown in the 'Go To' menu, if you go past the introduction/ advertisement you will find that there is one, so you can click on any poem, also there are active footnotes as well.

There isn't really enough space on here to try to tell why this book is a landmark book as such. This collaboration between Coleridge and Wordsworth (most of the pieces are by the latter) was received with mixed reactions by the leading critics of the day, but was a success with the public. With its descriptions of common people and scenery this was something new and exciting at the time, and not only did it have a profound effect on future poetry in this country, but it also sent ripples out into the novel form thus changing and influencing what and how novels changed into a much more modern form.

I was happy to see this in the Kindle Popular Classics store, as it is one of those books that I love to come back to from time to time, especially when I have some peace and quiet and time to relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Martine (Tring, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic, Amazing, Superb. Read this now if you are a lover of the classic works of our greatest poets. this is a must for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lyrical Ballads 1798 (Paperback)
Great, book needed for uni studies, good for those who are interested in poetry as I needed this for my creative writing part of my English Degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text within the book only fills half of the page, making it very small and difficult to read. This was not stated anywhere online. It was packaged awfully in some sticky grey plastic bag, which was very difficult to remove and completely stuck to the book. If I didn't need it for university, I would be sending it back immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lyrical Ballads, 1798
Lyrical Ballads, 1798 by William Wordsworth (Paperback - 31 Dec 2009)
4.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews