Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complete view on game engine architecture., 15 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
This is a very good book about structuring your low-level engine code when writing a game. It does feel very 'complete', in the sense of being almost everything here - though the title is kind of misleading, since there is focus on low-level engine stuff, and not that much on coding a game itself. If you're interested more in creating a game than an engine, you'll be better with books or tutorials focused on a specific framework (XNA, for example).

It's not for a complete beginner, but it isn't very advanced. You need to know some C++, as every code bit is either in C++ or in Lua (Lua syntax is explained in the book). You don't need to be a code guru to understand everything, but you won't get any C++ lessons here (which imho is a *very* good thing), maybe besides smart pointers and Lua binding. There's some DirectX and Windows-specific code, and I'm not sure I would recommend actually using such a low-level API when writing small to medium projects, so have in mind that some chapters here may be a waste of space for you (for me it was the audio chapter, 3D graphics, a lot of things DirectX-specific, Lua crash course were unnecessary).

I recommend buying the book IF you're interested in writing your own engine from scratch. I would add that if you just want to make games, creating such a low-level engine is probably a bad idea, since there are many great frameworks out there - but on the other hand it's good to know HOW everything could work inside. It's one of the best books about game engine architecture, although there could be more class diagrams and less code examples (I must say however, that most of the code examples are very readable and clean). There are some interesting object-oriented concepts that may be unknown to some programmers (concept of flat class hierarchy, component model architecture, processes, events), so it really does depend on your overall knowledge.

The rating I'd like to give is 4.5/5, so do have that in mind.

TL;DR: Buy the book if you're a programmer and want to write a game engine or if you're interested in how the insides of your game should work. Don't buy the book if you don't know how to code but you want to write games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent book, 6 Mar 2013
By 
Welsh Mat (Leamington Spa, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I would recomend this to anyone who is in education and looking to get into the games industry, as it covers the 'boring' but vital parts of game development (resource caching, source control, tools, etc) and doesn't just focus on rendering. If you are in the industry it's well worth a read, if for nothing else than the 'Tales from the pixel mines' and then thinking, yup been there.

Also if you have one of the older versions I would recomend atleast taking a lok at the index as I already own the first edition and this is a good update.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for intermediate C++ programmer, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I was looking foward to receiving this book and I wasn't disappointed, although I'm a beginner C++ programmer the explanations are good enough to slowly figure out what they are trying to teach - although I have to re-read each chapter - It is what it says, a complete experience in coding a game engine. The concepts involved are based on professional techniques so can be a little advanced but overall with patience and re-reading it does start to flow. I am taking my time to go through it as like I said I'm pretty much a beginner and with the 'further reading' recommendations, I'm using different books to accompany what I'm getting from this title. I've had the book for about a month and already feel confident in progressing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book about the intricacies of low level game programming, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
I'm still 25% into this book and as someone that wants to be a game programmer, I love it ! It explains all of the building blocks of modern games and, while doing so (and this is actually something I really appreciated), the authors share their personal experience with the reader. A small warning for beginners, you'll need some C++ background or else, you might not get the point of some concepts or they can be overwhelming, although, most of the components described here are language agnostic (but they still use C++ for the code examples so...).

I'm finishing a Game Development university course and when asked, I tell my peers that Sir Mike McShaffry and Sir David "Rez" Graham are the teachers we didn't had!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Book, 17 Oct 2012
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
Game Coding Complete is a very well written book about designing and programming game engines. It does a really great job at explaining all important aspects of modern game development. The fourth edition deals with DirectX 11 library, which is nicely explained and shown how it can be implemented to a working project. Besides the expected parts of any engine, such as a game loop, input handler, render subroutines etc., it also covers implementation of scripting languages and even how to create own game-related tools.

The book is targeted at advanced users (a good knowledge of C++ is advised).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having the personal experiences of the authors in this book ..., 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
Having the personal experiences of the authors in this book really helps to envision some of the problems that programmers face when coding projects, making them easier to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cool, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game Coding Complete (Paperback)
cool book I have not finished yet, but it takes the time too lol but I'm going to finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Coding Complete
Game Coding Complete by Mike McShaffry (Paperback - 19 Mar 2012)
£40.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews