Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Alpha A77
Excellent book covers all aspects of my camera.
Many tips and suggestions that are helping on a daily basis.
The book can be used for all levels of expertise.
Be prepared to receive a larger than normal book with over 400 pages so I suggest an essential tool but not one to carry around !!
I believe there is a compact version but this book covers all...
Published on 11 July 2012 by Ladlar

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of unneccessary words used to bulk up the book
If we were to remove all of the many referral's to his other books and all of the talking about how great he is and speculation on what I might be thinking, there would be a very small book left. Reading the book is an annoying experience. It is so blatantly clear that the author is trying to score points by saying a lot of unnecessary things in an attempt to add flesh to...
Published 2 months ago by Ludmila


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of unneccessary words used to bulk up the book, 18 April 2014
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
If we were to remove all of the many referral's to his other books and all of the talking about how great he is and speculation on what I might be thinking, there would be a very small book left. Reading the book is an annoying experience. It is so blatantly clear that the author is trying to score points by saying a lot of unnecessary things in an attempt to add flesh to a skeleton. I prefer books where authors stick to the point - explanation and examples, explanation and examples. All of this speculation: "you are probably thinking... you will probably do this... you will probably ask...". What is it there for? I very much regret buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Alpha A77, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Excellent book covers all aspects of my camera.
Many tips and suggestions that are helping on a daily basis.
The book can be used for all levels of expertise.
Be prepared to receive a larger than normal book with over 400 pages so I suggest an essential tool but not one to carry around !!
I believe there is a compact version but this book covers all that anyone would require so why cut corners when you have a very expensive camera at your disposal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital Photography With Sony A77, 14 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Since I bought my A77 I have read two books written on this model; this book and the other is the one for Idiots.

David Busch (Or someone else) has written the book well with easy to read language, clear print and well explained topics. Anyone new to photography will benefit well learning about the camera and also about Digital photography eventually earning a honours degree in the subject! If the author has written the book on A77 camera he could have done it in fifty pages the rest is decorations.

I expected more in video filming in the book but unfortunately the section is very limited and was not helpful to me at all. I think as many A77 owners are very interested in camera's excellent video capabilities he should have contributed more into this section. The author has forgotten that A 77 has video capabilities no second to its still photo capabilities.

There are many photographs to illustrate many functions but I felt that most of them were from a picture library as none of them are given with the camera settings as the photos were taken. None of the photos were able to attract my eyes twice.

If you are new to photography and specially to digital, I highly recommend this book . Those who have used DSLR's for sometime will disappoint as this contains only a little more technical information than the supplied booklet.

The little booklet is in my camera bag and the big book will be going to the Amazon market place soon.
My rating: 1-Star - If this is written for keen/semi pro, and 5-stars if this has written for beginners. The problem you don't know until you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GUIDE TO USING THE CAMERA, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Exactly the book that I was looking for. Not only what the the functions are, but when to use them. Ideal for an experienced photographer but new to this camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of book, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Well written, good humour, really good content. Certainly one of the better guides I've read for quite a while. In fact I've also ordered Nikon N7000 guide by Busch for my daughter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What the Manual should have been!, 16 Aug 2013
By 
F. K. Burrage "Jolly Jack" (Shrewsbury, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
I recently bought an A77. The camera of my dreams, however, as so often with new photographic equipment these days, the manual seems to be a mere afterthought. A tiny little book that is little more than a list of features with no continuity, you have to keep flicking back and forth to try to find relevant information.
David Busch's book seeks to address this shortcoming and does it very well. It doesn't pretend to be a book on photographic technique but it does a very thorough job of revealing the A77s secrets. The rest is up to you. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well written, clear explanations for newbies as well as experienced DSLR/DSLT users, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
This item is a must for SLT-A77 owners, especially those who still like to have a real book...
Read it from A to Z and/ r consult individual chapters for more info on this great camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony slt alpha a77 user guide, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
the book is massive, however the camera is described in plain easy to understand English and takes you through absolutely everything from inserting the battery to how to manipulate the individual colour's in post processing in software.

Overall the book is complete and good for beginners and intermediate, however for more advanced users who are switching to this camera about two thirds will be useless and condescending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide, 21 Feb 2013
By 
R. Edwards (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Well written book that starts at basic level and then developes through to advanced level showing how to get the best out of this camera. Very Helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Price, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography (Paperback)
Much better than the included manual, explains functions of the camera much better.
Examples pictures well presented and Figures large enough to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography
David Busch's Sony Alpha SLT-A77 Guide to Digital Photography by Alexander S. White (Paperback - 4 May 2012)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews