Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympian Visions.
Although smaller then I expected this book is jam packed with pictures and informative text. (260 odd pages)
For those of us that are not going in person I can recommend this, it gives a good flavour of what it's like to be there.
It's things like this that become collectors items of the future, so look after it.
Published 23 months ago by Armchair Pundit

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially very interesting, but falls at the last hurdle
I had great hopes for this book and was delighted when Vine offered me a free copy. However having read it now I feel disappointed in the lack of a few items everyone might expect to find in it.

I immediately looked for a map of the site, to see how it all related, or a sketch of what it would look like when we used our solitary pair of tickets to see the...
Published 21 months ago by R. F. Stevens


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Olympian Visions., 15 May 2012
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although smaller then I expected this book is jam packed with pictures and informative text. (260 odd pages)
For those of us that are not going in person I can recommend this, it gives a good flavour of what it's like to be there.
It's things like this that become collectors items of the future, so look after it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a touch of class, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With the eyes of the world on London this summer due to the olympics, this is a great book to discuss and describe the new buildings/stadium that have been built for the event. Seeing how Stratford has been transformed is a fascinating and a worthwhile read - worth reading just to get you up to speed about London 2012 and give you a useful few facts for your pub trivia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potentially very interesting, but falls at the last hurdle, 26 Jun 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had great hopes for this book and was delighted when Vine offered me a free copy. However having read it now I feel disappointed in the lack of a few items everyone might expect to find in it.

I immediately looked for a map of the site, to see how it all related, or a sketch of what it would look like when we used our solitary pair of tickets to see the swimming, alas nothing. (The map that comes with the tickets is clear and simple and should have been included in the book.) Also there should have been a map showing the other Olympic locations and how they are disposed about London.

The drawings showing how the buildings specific to the Olympic Park have been designed, and the corresponding photos showing the end results are excellent, and lift the book out of the ordinary. These make it definitely worth a good look, but in themselves they are not enough.

The (double spaced) text is very informative as an introduction in outlining the original aims, the many goals successfully achieved, and the likely final expectations, but again one is left wanting much more detail. And to make it worse there is a lot of white space that could have been used to better effect with more info or bigger pictures. The book is too big for a pocket, but not big enough for a coffee-table.

Conclusion.
The book should have been a larger format; it needs some maps to tie it all together, the pics should be bigger and the text needs expanding. Then it would have been excellent.

Addendum 30th July 2012

Having been to the Olympic Park today to see the swimming I can confirm that the book tallies with what you see, but it is still a pale shadow of the reality.

Nothing on paper can quite convey the actuality of just how well done are the architecture, landscaping, planting, all the thousands of little details and nice touches that make the difference between good and truly brilliant.

The book is an introduction, and no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting guide, 1 May 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
At first glance this little book looks rather like some sort of corporate brochure from the 1990s in terms of style, font, colours and layout. It is also rather smaller than one would expect from this sort of book - a large format hardback would seem more fitting. It is also a slightly odd hybrid, it's partly a souvenir of the games and partly for people interested in the engineering and practical side of the games's organisation - yet never gets detailed enough for students and scholars.

It is however very interesting. I didn't know an awful lot about the plans for the Olympic venues, and I have learned some interesting facts. The book starts with general descriptions of the approach to the games, the site and how the plans developed. There are also more detailed sections on each building and element of the Olympic park. Some venues are temporary and will be dismantled and reused elsewhere. Even the landmark buildings such as the aquatics centre and the main stadium will be drastically reduced in size so that East London is not littered with vast sporting facilities that will never again be filled with spectators. Interesting detail is provided on each of these elements, along with the less glamourous side such as the electricity generators and the sewage works. The sites away from the main site are also included.

In a city with a long history of engineering marvels this book details a major contribution to its latest assets.

Two little disappointments - there is no map of the Olympic park in the book at all, making it harder to visualise where everything fits in. Also, the publishers have chosen to have the book printed in Italy - they really ought to be supporting British industries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Architecture of London 2012, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
A fascinating collection of photographs of the varied structures erected for the 2012 games around the Stratford Olympic site. Recommended reading to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book full of stunning imagery, 1 Aug 2012
By 
J. Baldwin "Reader" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're watching the Olympics, you're no doubt impressed with the range of venues - the aquatic centre has been featured front and centre in the first week and shortly we'll be moving to the velodrome and the stadium itself (already seen in the brilliant opening ceremony).
This book is not only a great souvenir of the 30th Olympic games but a great testament to the many men and women, largely unsung (especially compared with Danny Boyle, Seb Coe etc) who drew up the often daring plans and then put them in to place.
The book tells the story but suffers from one big problem - it only goes up to the point before the games start. As a result there are no images of the venues in use. Now, you might say, that's obvious. How can you bring a book out in time for the Olympics and then criticise it for not featuring the Olypmics? Well I'm not criticising the book - just pointing out that it's like reading a novel that doesn't have the last chapter in it.
Architects are renowned for not visiting their creations after they've been handed over and used, and it would be great to see a new edition featuring people's responses to the buildings, how they fared, what they were like to sit in, and perform in...
And considering the main feature of the Olympic stadium and aquatic centres is their post-games life (both will look very different soon afterwards) it will be interesting to see how they fare.
My lack of 5-star rating is really for the size of the book. It's a handy-to-carry square size but that means the images are quite small. If anything demanded a bigger format, it was this book.
Well worth picking up and, who knows, a potential inspirer of designers and athletes alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Architecture of London 2012, 21 Jun 2012
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book was a lot smaller than I had imagined, but I found that was much better in the long run - especially when my little boy was so keen on reading it and looking at the pictures. I was also pleasantly surprised by the photographs - some beautiful shots of the Olympic buildings. I know this book is about now and the future - but I'd have been really interested to see photos of the areas 'before' the Olympic building commenced.

This is a delightful little book - and will be a great keepsake in years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 Feb 2013
By 
D. Fisentzou (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
This is a great book which offers an in depth look at how the Olympic venues were designed and built.
An interesting look at the lead up to the Olympics and a good addition to an Olympic memorabilia collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, wrong format, 9 Oct 2012
This sort of subject really doesn't lend itself to the Kindle format - it's a perfect subject for a giant coffee table glossy hardback, but not so much for an ebook. That said, there is some excellent information in here, and it's well written. Very nice to be able to look back on the event now, and see how it all came together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good souvenir book, 25 May 2012
By 
A. Woods (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A good book to keep as a souvenir. It is not too large which makes it easy to hold and read and it is full of interesting facts and photographs about the buildings and construction without being too technical. It is a suitable book to give as a gift to relatives and friends. (I will be doing this).
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaacb6030)

This product

The Architecture of London 2012 : Vision Design Legacy : An Official London 2012 Games Publication
Used & New from: 102.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews