Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
18
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 September 2012
The best for Dummies book I've ever read! David Canter, widely acknowledged as the father of forensic psychology in the UK, brings remarkable psychological insights about criminals and what investigators can now do to stop them, to life. A real easy read...never have I learnt so much so easily.

Forensic Psychology for Dummies covers a remarkable range of material, making it a great reference source - whether you're a professional wanting to know the latest insights, or just fascinated by what drives the most wicked and vicious human behaviour, as Ian Rankin says in his introduction to this important book.

Great anecdotes from a man who's been there, at crime scenes, in the toughest prisons talking to the meanest criminals.

And he's trained and worked around the world with police and lawyers; but David Canter pulls no punches about what psychologists really get up to!

There's a lot of rubbish in the forensic psychology genre. Avoid this by getting your 'bluff' expertise from a man who is really at the vanguard of this science and has provides some of the most innovative legal expert testimony in major court cases by drawing on this science.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
Perfect introduction for my psychology opener.Simple to understand. The lay out of the book is easy to follow and will help anyone wanting to understand more about behaviours in other people and themselves!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
Having read a number of pop-psychology books, I was curious as to what this one was about. I call this pop-psychology because it is within the price range affordable by the public. It's not often that the public can see what goes on within the highly secretive world of the criminal justice system. Forensic psychology is the interface between the `Tower of Babel' legal industry and the `Tower of Babel' psychology industry. The book tells you a bit about the legal system and the courts. It then tries to convince the reader that psychology is a well defined science; it's not. The main problem with the psychology parts of the book is that it mainly consists of the author's opinion. If this book is meant to be an entry point into the world of psychology, where's the reading list? The book gives an insight into the immense range of activities carried out under the psychology banner in support of the legal system. It has to cover a lot of ground but the author struggles to make it interesting reading. It's a very laid-back American buddy-buddy relaxed style of presentation. Gives a good selection of technical buzz-words and a superficial explanation, but it is up to the reader to find `further reading' on any part of it.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
Not a week goes by without us hearing about shocking crimes, whether they are about the sudden disappearance of a child or of a killing spree, the theft of a laptop or identity fraud. It is hard to understand what goes through the minds of the people who commit such crimes but this book takes us on the journey of exploration to help us try to understand. Not only is this book easy to follow and extremely accessible, it introduces us to the phraseology, methods and techniques the police and detective use when we read in the media about crime investigation and the apprehension of criminals. It gives us a clear insight into the complex process of bringing criminals to justice.

David Canter presents this book in a down to earth style with hard facts as well as anecdotes and can be read either in depth or used as a quick reference to help us understand better the causes and effects of the crimes which are perpetrated all too frequently in our society. It is rather spookily right up to the minute.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Easy to read and a very informative book. Read it before starting my Msc in Investigative Psychology by David Canter. what goes through the minds of the people who commit such crimes but this book takes us on the journey of exploration to help us try to understand. Not only is this book easy to follow and extremely accessible, it introduces us to the phraseology, methods and techniques the police and detective use when we read in the media about crime investigation and the apprehension of criminals. It gives us a clear insight into the complex process of bringing criminals to justice.

David Canter presents this book in a down to earth style with hard facts as well as anecdotes and can be read either in depth or used as a quick reference to help us understand better the causes and effects of the crimes which are perpetrated all too frequently in our society. It is rather spookily right up to the minute.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I bought this book for my granddaughter as she studies psychology at school and hopes to study for a degree in Forensic Psychology at university, so i thought it might be of help to her. She has not said, but I hope she enjoyed reading it and found it useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Informative, interesting, explanatory and all in the English language too! Fascinating look into combining psychology in criminology and the legal system.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
Great introduction to the world of forensic psychology. Gives an overview of the main topics without bogging you down in finer detail.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
Very funny and as advertised. Arrived on within the specified time. Will help daughter with her studies in college. Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Don't be put off by the word Dummies this book explains everything about jargon really worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)