Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb handbook for the right audience
This is a wonderfully comprehensive and well-written guide for anyone with a serious interest in automotive engineering, be they professional or amateur. The translation is imperfect but I found no obvious examples of technical or even grammatical errors, just clumsiness caused by some literal translations.

It covers the fundamentals of construction, obstacles...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Mr Gumby

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating and detailed reference book
I was not previously familiar with this Handbook, which appears to have a history dating back almost 80 years (35 years in English translation). The current edition comprises 1265 pages of detailed, small print covering every conceivable aspect of technical car design and engineering. While it is just about "hand sized", this Handbook would be too large for most...
Published on 12 Aug 2011 by Tim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb handbook for the right audience, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a wonderfully comprehensive and well-written guide for anyone with a serious interest in automotive engineering, be they professional or amateur. The translation is imperfect but I found no obvious examples of technical or even grammatical errors, just clumsiness caused by some literal translations.

It covers the fundamentals of construction, obstacles to be overcome, engines and ancillary components, legislation, engine management systems, chassis structures, safety systems, electrics and lighting and driver aids.

The sections are all similarly structured, guiding you through basics and development to today's standards. The book is written in a highly readable way rather than just presenting cold facts. A number of authors have been involved, but clearly some excellent editorial work has ensured consistency.

The Bosch handbook makes a fascinating read and comprehensive tutorial as well as a first-class reference manual and I'd recommend it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative guide to every aspect of Motor Vehicle Engineering, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
BOSCH AUTOMOTIVE HANDBOOK 8TH EDITION

I wish this book had been available to me years ago when I embarked on my career in the automotive industry. It would have saved me fruitless hours of searching (without the internet) for information from various sources to help me attain qualifications necessary to progress within the industry.

That's not to say you must have an engineering background to appreciate the work put into this publication. On the contrary, it is written in such a way that an individual with only a basic knowledge of motor vehicles could pick it up and instantly find information that could help them not only understand how a component works, but even identify a possible fault.

It covers everything from the Basic Principles of Physics to sophisticated Automotive Electronics, from Climate Control to the latest Hybrid Drives and from the most basic Spark Ignition Engine to modern Driver Assistance Systems only now beginning to be seen in vehicle production.

Each subject and component is approached in the same methodical way so that you can understand the basic principles, learn about its development and how years of research have finally been put into practice.

The various authors, not just from Bosch but throughout the Motor Industry, have produced a lively, easily accessible and informative guide to every aspect of Motor Vehicle Engineering.

It's a must for students embarking on a career within the industry, for enthusiasts who just want a thorough knowledge of a subject and essential reading for every repair workshop, large or small.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The highly-detailed science of the motorcar, 1 Aug 2011
By 
James B. Spink "Jim" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This well detailed and informative book is one for engineers in the automotive industry rather than mechanics and motor repairers, although they too may find it fascinating as will anyone with an interest in cars. The information presented is both accessible and complex detailing the physics, mechanics, electronics and chemistry of the modern motor car.

First published in 1936 with 96 pages this 2011 8th edition has now expanded to over 1260 which are packed with diagrams, illustrations and formulae a-plenty. Really a book on the science of the car this is not one to read from cover to cover but dipping into it is highly rewarding and I have thoroughly enjoyed doing so.

From lighting circuits to emission control and parking sensors this book covers every part of todays complex automobile. Students thinking of a career in the motor industry would do well to study the science contained within these pages and, although highly detailed, I would recommend this book to anyone interested in science and cars. If you just want the simple nuts and bolts of your own car - stick with Haynes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vast wealth of information, 9 Aug 2014
By 
Dave (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
I've had various editions of this book over twenty+ years. It is an amazing wealth of detailed information on automotive engineering. Way beyond the level of vehicle mechanics, it covers serious engineering. Detailed information on the design of every aspect of vehicles; mechanical, electrical, electronic, material science. Not for DIY and garage mechanics this book is aimed at professional engineers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
Automobile Bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars exelent book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
it is well known automotive handbook it gives me all information about modern today,s automotive engineering, automotive electrics and electronics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never short of an answer, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
Whatever question has come up, the Automotive Handbook has yet to be short of an answer. As a student in thermal machinery it is priceless.

It is a complete guide to the physics behind it all, and it also contains standards and such, which I otherwise would have to travel the net for.

Very satisfied

v.good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive encompassing guide to automotive technology, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
One of the best engineering books you can buy. Great diagrams and tables for each topic. Appropriate references in case more detail is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Automotive Bible, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
I called it Bible but it is a dictionary for everything in a car. Anything you want to know it is there inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automotive Handbook (Paperback)
Excellent book, never far from my side. Would be useful for everyone from students up to professional engineers. The depth and range of the book is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Automotive Handbook
Automotive Handbook by Robert Bosch GmbH (Paperback - 27 May 2011)
£34.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews