Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book around for UKCAT
As a UKCAT tutor, I must say that I was very impressed by this book. It is written by the founders of Get into Medical School in Oxford who are both qualified doctors with lots of experience both of teaching UKCAT and of writing books.

`UKCAT for Dummies' provides a lot of background information on the UKCAT and how it is used in the selection process. There is...
Published on 13 May 2012 by James

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A startpoint
This book should perhaps be considered as a starting point for those preparing for an exam, but you would really want to also have a wider range of practice questions and to have tried those available online.
Published 16 months ago by George Rodger


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book around for UKCAT, 13 May 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
As a UKCAT tutor, I must say that I was very impressed by this book. It is written by the founders of Get into Medical School in Oxford who are both qualified doctors with lots of experience both of teaching UKCAT and of writing books.

`UKCAT for Dummies' provides a lot of background information on the UKCAT and how it is used in the selection process. There is an entire chapter on `UKCAT strategies that work' followed by four chapters dissecting each of the subtests. Each of these four chapters contains in depth teaching and further, more specific tips and tricks for each subtest. At the back of the book there are two full-length practice tests, together with full answers and explanations. If you are able to do them under timed conditions, they should give you a very good feel for the real exam.

The authors have done a very good job in choosing interesting questions, in so far as this is possible! Overall, the questions are probably on the tougher side of what you will actually get, but that is no bad thing in terms of maximizing your score.

Another positive point is the layout, which -- in common with most books in the `For Dummies' series with its team of professional editors and designers -- is simply superb. Boxed asides and even a few cartoons that help to break the monotony of revision.

In addition to all this, the book includes quite a bit of broad advice on the application process: choosing a medical school, writing a good personal statement, working on your soft skills, and so on. This might not go far enough, but this, after all, is a book on UKCAT and not a more general book on getting into medical school (of which there are many good ones -- I would especially recommend the most recent edition of `The Essential Guide to Becoming a Doctor').

In conclusion, this is a very solid book that will prepare you very well for the UKCAT.

I wish you all the best of luck with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 13 July 2012
By 
G. Cook "jillcook27a" (Essex england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter is hoping to train as a midwife so I think this will be very helpful. Well laid out and easy to follow. Lots of information and practice test. If you are getting ready for a medical career I think it would be very useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, clear, simple to follow and extremely helpful., 14 May 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
As a parent of a son who is hoping to get into med school, not only did he find this book extremely helpful, I have also been able to understand a process and time scales for supporting him. This book is clear and easy to follow. My son has found the reasoning tests and questions both helpful and enlightening. I now have a better understanding of the expectations that are required for med school. I note it has been written by 2 Drs, which makes complete sense unlike some of the other books I viewed which are written by non medical professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential preparation, 14 May 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
My daughter is hoping to get into medical school and we bought this to help her prepare. We have not been disappointed. The book is very well set out and user friendly even for people who are unfamiliar with the UKCAT. It has been extremely helpful and after reading the book, my daughter now feels prepared and confident in completing the test. As the authors are both doctors who regularly run courses helping people get into med school you can expect top notch advice. Essential reading and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winning Formula, 5 May 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
After working through 'UKCAT for Dummies' I felt far more suitably prepared to tackle the UKCAT, this book really helps you to learn a technique to tackle the questions. The questions provided have a good range of difficulty similar to those on the UKCAT, and the answers are well explained. My only minor reservation would be that although the Verbal Reasoning section is a similar difficulty to the UKCAT (if not marginally harder, helping you to be suitably prepared) the texts are shorter than in the actual exam. I believe that with using this book to master the technique and doing as many practise questions as possible you will have a winning formula!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 13 May 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
This book provides coverage of all the important aspects of preparation for the UKCAT. It is well written and focused. I would recommend this book to anyone who is planning to tackle the UKCAT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
This book was exceedingly helpful and useful in providing essential information, help and support for the ukcat test. It is intelligently written and the layout was easy to read. The book clearly displayed that although challenging and off-putting the UKCAT could be easily mastered and completed with a helpful array of useful tips, questions and answers and contained many ways to help answer the challenging questions. The book was also highly comical and had many entertaining cartoons and anecdotes. It was well worth the read and was an extremely useful and interesting piece of literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Jun 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is extremely helpful. Previously, I did not understand some of the subtests of he UKCAT. Through the approach taken throughout the book, the subtests were broken down individually and through examples I came to understand what was required of me. The language used by the authors is entertaining and easy to understand and the structure of the book meant that there is always a clear sense of direction, progress. Numerous strategies for each subtest are suggested and by implementing these strategies in the practice tests my confidence was built up. I now feel much better prepared to sit the exam, which I owe to this brilliant book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 April 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
The guide is simple and readable. Easy to understand and the perfect tool to crack UKCAT. I bought this book after reading other top sellers for UKCAT. I feel its far better than the others and wouldn't recommend buying anything else. Hope this review was helpful. BEST OF LUCK for the exams!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vital for UKCAT preparation!, 15 July 2012
This review is from: UKCAT For Dummies (Paperback)
UKCAT For Dummies is an interesting, informative and easily readable book.

I originally bought a book which contained only practice questions and answers for the test, but I found this very daunting as it contained few tips to answering the questions. UKCAT For Dummies, however, made me feel much less anxious about the exam as it contained an array of helpful techniques for doing the questions, organising time and avoiding stress. The book also contains two full length practice tests which give you a good idea about what the test is actually like and how you are performing. Finally, the anecdotes and images make the whole thing seem much less like hard work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

UKCAT For Dummies
UKCAT For Dummies by Neel Burton (Paperback - 20 Mar 2012)
Used & New from: £8.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews