Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and beautifully laid out
A clear and well written introduction to the creative and great looking Tumblr blogging/microblogging site. This is so much more than an advert for Tumblr, the author has clearly detailed the benefits and drawbacks of using Tumblr, and demonstrates with clear, colour screen shots how to build an effective blogging site. I love the layout of this book. It looks as though...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by Nozza

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much
Whilst waiting 5 days for this book to arrive I frankly covered and exceeded its scope just by hunting around the net. Tumblr has changed since this book was written, and the editor pictured is not the one users are now familiar with.

For the absolute Tumblr neophyte, if they can get hold of the book before discovering 90% of what it has to offer free, the...
Published 19 months ago by Martin Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, concise and beautifully laid out, 16 Feb 2012
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A clear and well written introduction to the creative and great looking Tumblr blogging/microblogging site. This is so much more than an advert for Tumblr, the author has clearly detailed the benefits and drawbacks of using Tumblr, and demonstrates with clear, colour screen shots how to build an effective blogging site. I love the layout of this book. It looks as though it started life being a "Dummies" book - indeed it is the same height and width - but the clarity of the layout, the approach to the writing and the design within this book sets it apart from Dummies books.

I was particularly impressed with Chapter 8, where Hedengren clearly, logically and slowly goes through the linking of your Tumblr with Facebook.

Highly recommended for its clarity, inspiring approach and beautiful layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tumblr for Luddites!, 15 Feb 2012
By 
P. Stokes "Historian71" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well not quite but as someone who has, at best, a tentative apprehension when anything 'puter is mentioned then an easy to use guide to the world of Tumblr is much needed!

With more bloggers turning to Tumblr, and a very empty page of my own, this book really does simplify the how-to. Without being condescending or patronising it carefully leads the willing Tumblr newbie from setting up the account through to unlocking the many uses of Tumblr. It basically ensures the reader gets the most from the site, the optimum experience for anyone who wants to know what they are doing and how to do it well!

If you want the most out of using Tumblr then this is definitely the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tumbr Tutor, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I started my Tumblr account nearly two years ago precisely because it was so easy to get started without knowing anything about how the sit worked. So will a 250page book help?

In short, yes.

Although one of the strengths of Tumblr is it lets anyone get up and running with a good looking site quickly, you can hit a bit of a frustrating dead end after a while. This book, very clearly laid out and written, is a true step-by-step guide that will take the non-expert by the hand. The tone is supportive, never patronising and of course the joy of a book is you can go over it again and again without feeling embarrassed or left behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, I can use Tumblr properly!, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a lot of problems with Tumblr. I found Blogger and Wordpress to be very logical and easy to work with, but Tumblr - supposedly the easiest blogging site there is - has always been a pain. I set up my site theme only to have it reset when I refresh the page. I can't search for Tumblr users through the site, and I get completely confused about reblogging from other pages. I've been long awaiting a decent, idiot proof, user guide to Tumblr and over the moon it's here!

This book is absolutely fantastic. It takes you right through from starting a basic site to tarting it up with apps and layouts (I never knew Tumblr had apps!), and into a little CSS coding if you fancy going down that route. It's extremely clearly written, easy to follow, and full of screen captures to show what you should be seeing. I particularly like the way it gives consideration to what you want to achieve from the site (hobby site, professional blog etc) and helps you consider how to best use Tumblr to those ends.

The book is so much clearer than the Dummies range (although I don't think there's a Dummies guide to Tumblr yet, or I would have tried it!) It's colourful, simple and exceptionally easy to follow. If only all guidebooks were like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect too much, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Martin Anderson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst waiting 5 days for this book to arrive I frankly covered and exceeded its scope just by hunting around the net. Tumblr has changed since this book was written, and the editor pictured is not the one users are now familiar with.

For the absolute Tumblr neophyte, if they can get hold of the book before discovering 90% of what it has to offer free, the asking price may be justifiable, though frankly the price needs to come down a little, given how many pages are devoted to waffle and white space.

The sections about the history and popular usage of Tumblr proved the most interesting, even though I bought the book to help me get familiar with Tumblr development.

The section on theme creation, one of the main reasons why many will be interested in the book, is really a great deal of unfurled HTML, and needed to be more modular, thorough and better exemplified with illustrations.

The book's conversational style is a luxury given that the typeface is large, the margins excessive and the prefacing and irrelevancies numerous. The 'Dummies' books can get away with this because they (usually) finally get down to business in a clear and methodical way designed to teach concepts and then accompany the reader on practicing them in real-world situations. The author is young and enthusiastic, and his light blogging style is likely to appeal to Tumblr's core audience (and perhaps the target audience of this book), but I would have preferred it if he had come up with the goods more frequently and more abundantly. By the time this book arrived, I could practically have written it myself. Not for serious developers, and possibly not for those looking to become serious developers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use guide, 15 Feb 2012
By 
Peter Coupe (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
An ideal companion if you are just starting your first Tumblr site, or want to take a fresh look at an older account. It is clearly laid out and guides you though all the stages and levels (expert, hobbyist) to help you get up and running in as short a time as possible. Interesting information on higher level skills (CSS) should you wish to dip a toe in the water.
A good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars treasuring and trusting Tumblr, 1 Jan 2012
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Blogger and Wordpress dominate but Tumblr is one of the new web platforms to accessorise web platform construction and growth! All the basics, some CSS coding, info, detail and screen snaps will guide and serve all well. Clearer than many other how-to guides,...... It's colourful, simple and exceptionally easy to follow. Attractive and effective!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A simple introduction to using and blogging with Tumblr, 22 Nov 2011
By 
Paul (Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A very clear introduction to Tumblr. I had not used the Tumblr platform as I'm currently a WordPress advocate. I was hoping this book would lift up the engine cover for me so that I could see the differences and the implementation as I would like to try another blogging platform; it delivers on its promises even to the point of offering direct comparisons with WordPress and other platforms. It did not convince me to change but instead its stirred my interest enough to keep an eye on Tumblr for a future use. If you are new to blogging platforms and wish to use Tumblr then I would recommend that you buy this book as its clearly written and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Blogging Platform, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. C. Bleakney "Colin Bleakney" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Quite simply put: Tumblr is simply the best blogging Platform I have ever used!

After having used WordPress and other web-publishing software throughout the years, Tumblr has exceeded all my expectations.
Easy to set-up, use and navigate.
Anything from integrating all your social networks to adding video or audio.
You can also post texts, images and ideas directly or via mobile phone.

Tumblr also does a lot more, you can create business sites, conduct marketing campaigns and lots more.
I recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple
Tackling Tumblr: Web Publishing Made Simple by Thord Daniel Hedengren (Paperback - 27 July 2011)
16.23
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews