Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars22
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 October 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The first half is much better than the second. And there are some good ideas expressed, not just about ways in which companies are currently disrupting the industry, but about how they might in the future.
Where this book is interviewing people involved with the likes of Zopa it's interesting. However, it discusses Bitcoin in only a rather trivial manner, discussion of the likes of PayPal is limited, and the last half of the book keeps coming back to the concept of Gen-Y customers who don't need a conventional bank account and want to do everything online, or on mobile.
Some of the best bits are discussion of where mobile payments are proving more transformative in developing countries, and this illustrates areas where the result is not just greater customer retention or greater profits, but potentially enabling business and economic development in areas that really need it. It would have been better if the book had remained on this subject more, as this illustrates how cultural norms and differences can impact on the adoption of technology.
Additionally, while the book is undoubtedly correct in saying that the value of new payment services and the like is in streamlining the process and making purchasing more efficient, it doesn't really explore questions of trust, do enough to look at where things may go in the future, the legislative obstacles (other than some discussion of Know your client in brief), and as a result the book lacks depth, particularly in some areas, and while I was interested for the first 3-4 chapters, by the end I was feeling like there wasn't much new being expressed, with less visionary people being interviewed.
As a result this book is occasionally good, exciting, even, but not consistently so.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a short book which looks at the banking industry and is packed full of interesting interviews with those working at Google, PayPal, UBank and more. This examines how banking is changing; from automated banking, social media and BitCoin.

With financial crisis, banking scandals and rapid change, this book looks at Credit and Lending, Faster, Smarter Payments, Banks that build their Brands without Branches, Changing Brand Advocacy, different banking habits, Bitcoin, moving from Personal Financial Management to Personal Financial Performance, Technology, Neo-Banks, building experiences customers love and how money can buy happiness.

This is full of helpful advice, not only about banking, but also about changing management styles. If you work in finance, this book discusses current (and anticipates future) trends – such as the decline of cheques and credit cards, but just be aware that chapters are heavily built around interviews. I found them interesting and, as the author works in radio, I suspect it is a format he is comfortable with.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For someone in Generation Z (referred to as 'M' in this book) or for the younger parts of Gen X (which I am just in) this book probably only gets 2 stars - you already get what are the core contents of this book.

For those wanting to understand the thinking of the majority of Gen Y or indeed, and hopefully, members of Gen Y looking to raise revenue, understand opportunity and gain understanding, this gets four stars.

A good part of the book is transcripts from online conversations/broadcasts. Interspersed with this are the authors thoughts and summaries. If you're time short, read the Conclusion chapter, which gives the main thoughts of each chapter. You can then always read the relevant chapter in more detail. i picked up a couple of inconsistencies (1983 then a page later 1985 and also a further change in financial numbers - this could be down to the transcribing or perhaps what was actually said).

I work in Financial Services though not banking. I see almost all the trends and thinking mentioned in this book. I also realise that a LOT of senior managers are very good and open to this sort of thinking. Unfortunately I regularly experience the reverse - a mindset wedded to the old way which is finding it increasingly difficult to understand why revenue is falling, spend is rising and satisfaction is going no where - and it's exactly that audience that should read this and other similar books. unfortunately my experiences would say there is almost no chance they will - even if it's left on their desks.

Its worth a read, though I would say a lot of this information is freely available on the internet if you go looking for it - which I suppose is kind of the point!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2016
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Breaking Banking started off with two cracking chapters about lending and payments, focussing on peer-to-peer and mechanisms of paying people. There was also an interesting chapter about virtual currencies. The rest of the book was quite repetitive, and the chapters all seem very much alike which lots of debates about “the branch” and how it isn’t what consumers will want, a point I don’t deny.

The format of the book is quite unusual. Every chapter has an introduction, followed by a heavily-edited “interview” with one or more third-party representatives of up-and-coming companies. The chapter rounds off with a conclusion. The first few were ok, but the format does get a bit repetitive because a lot of the representatives were saying very similar things to more or less the same sort of questions. That’s why authors presumably conduct interviews but don’t dump them wholesale into their books, instead just the odd extract.

All that said, Breaking Banking does present a fairly coherent presentation of where banking is going, and I’m sure there will be a lot fewer branches, whatever ends up replacing all the things that banks currently do. It’s well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The title of the book is deliberately provocative in conjuring up images of runs on banks and banks losing money. But this is a book about how banks can be transformed. One of the key issues that I had seen before which can make a huge difference and which Bill Gates has also identified as a serious issue is the under-banked. These are the people who do not have a bank account and access to credit facilities. They are not just in the third world, a significant number of Americans do not have accounts. I had previous seen about micro-loans and using mobile devices for micro-transfers in another book about Jugaad Innovation and this is one of the key topics explored here. The most effective way of helping people is enabling them to do what they want. There is a lot of waste in current systems and I thought that this was a fantastic example of a practical solution.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
For all it's faults the financial sector is an ever changing, dynamic element of our economy and Brett King does a good job of charting that dynamism in this book through a series of interviews, broadcasts etc., further explored and explained through his own comments and summaries.

It's an easy but not light read and it's well worth a look at from whichever area is your main interest- pure finance, globalisation issues, supra-national politics, sustainability and more- in order to get a contemporary angle on the machinations of global capitalism. King explains the current situation very well and gives some interesting thoughts on future developments. A worthy addition to the economics section of your bookshelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As a Generation M (or X, or whatever label is being applied in this book) there is a lot of re-hashed obvious information here. There is a lot of transparency on the banking industry, certainly compared to how things *used* to be (or so I'm told by my "elders").

However, with many friends in the financial services industry, King is spot on with trend analysis and behavioural markers. This is an insightful book.

Despite the fact that you could go on the internet and hunt out most of this for yourself, King's work is structured in such a way that, really, buying this book is quite worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If this book was half as long it would be great. But the second half seems to lose the plot in an attempt to make a book, er, booklength; Some interesting ideas, the book looks at the disrupting ideas in modern finance. It's core premice is strong and I loved the first half of this book, ut it goes on. And on. Then it seems to lose the core thesis - banks are here to stay and disruptive ideas and technologies are here to stay. Rater than embracing change - as in the first half, the book loses confidence in change later on. Seems to be written by two different authors, or did one author simply lose his way?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I work in retail banking and it's fair to say that there is lots of change happening with technology, regulation, changing customer preferences and bank bashing dramatically changing the environment in which we operate. Brett King's book tries to cut through the fog and make sense of it all and, by and large, does a great job. I wouldn't say that I uncovered any earth shattering revelations within the book, just a number of key trends that are dissected and put into some kind of order. It's also a good read, which is no mean achievement given the subject matter!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
Brett continues to push us out of our banking 'comfort zone' and this book builds on his previous thinking in Bank 2.0 and 3.0. What I like about Breaking Banks is that each area of banking is looked at and a point of view formed through short interviews with the 'disruptor leading lights' themselves. Changing behaviour evokes new norms, and once change takes hold there is no going back. A must read for any banker, industry follower or banking customer (thats nearly all of us)......Lets get disrupted.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)