Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of useful information about PR
The PR Master class by Alex Singleton

The books scope.
------------------------
This book mainly teaches the reader how to integrate PR into the marketing function of a company, big or small.
The author is a previous national newspaper journalist who knows his stuff. He recounts many good and bad practices within the book...
Published 11 months ago by RJP the Book Boy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More informative than masterclass
There's no doubt about the amount of information that is covered in The PR Masterclass, however I would say that with any type of masterclass has to be actions at the end of each chapter. The author talks about what they do in a way that I found a little robotic, for example " The first thing - which I do religiously - is to add journalists I come across to a section...
Published 12 months ago by K. Young


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of useful information about PR, 26 April 2014
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The PR Master class by Alex Singleton

The books scope.
------------------------
This book mainly teaches the reader how to integrate PR into the marketing function of a company, big or small.
The author is a previous national newspaper journalist who knows his stuff. He recounts many good and bad practices within the book.

Content.
-----------
This is easy to read and pulls no punches; it really does get down to using PR and marketing as an integrated business tool. He develops a range of very useful tools and ideas that are both easy to understand and apply. The parts on getting the press interested and how to deal with them is brilliant and very valid in todays World. I have learned a lot from this book, it has given me more ideas and motivation than all of the courses I have been on about business PR in the last few years.

Usefulness.
---------------
I have found this book so useful. I now have a much better idea about how to write PR and get it out into the public domain - several expensive courses have failed to do this so this book has achieved where the so called experts have failed me.
If you need to know anything about how the PR machine works as a student of business or a business person at any level in all types of companies then this book is for you. It's full of ideas, do's and don'ts and lots of advice on good practice working with the media.

Overall.
----------
A really well written and informative book that will appeal to a wide business audience. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, Crammed Full of Tips. Buy it Now!, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
I haven’t finished the book yet, I’m about half way through. So you’re probably thinking that I should have finished it before recommending it.

But that’s how good it is, I’m only half way through and I’m already singing its praises.

Despite being having a highly successful career, Alex Singleton comes across as a down to earth guy, with genuine advice. His book is both interesting and an easy read. This is what you want out of a career advice book, there’s nothing worse than having to stop every couple of lines to google the definition of some jargon or other.

The book is divided into chapters and useful sub-sections, so (although I don’t recommend it) you could in theory just skip to the bits you need to learn most about. The book does not waste a word, with every page full of tips and suggestions. Alex Singleton also intersperses the book with his own personal experiences and antidotes, which gives the book a human feel and in some cases even acts as motivation.

One of the nice things about the book is that it gives you a real PR pro’s views on a lot of the theories and myths you’re sure to come across online. Alex Singleton’s uses the book to share personal experiences and research to suggest and warn against certain tools that a quick Google search will tell you are a must. He also answers the age old question everyone starting out, or wanting to start out in PR has probably asked at some point - how long should a press release be?

There is one other thing I would recommend buying if you invest in this book; a writing pad and highlighter, or just a highlighter if you don’t have my innate horror of writing in books. Because you are sure to find snippets that you’ll want to be able to quickly refer back to, such as useful websites. There are points in it where the advice is common sense, however it is nice to be reminded of it, because when your chasing the next lesson or tip it can be easy to lay aside the things you already know, and should be doing but aren’t.

Now this is admittedly a bit superficial, and I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. But it does have a great cover. The bright colours and clean design are inviting, you can pick up this book with a cup of tea and not feel like cup of tea and not feel like you’re about to start school revision all over again.

So basically, if you want a career in PR, or want to improve skills you already kind of have, get this on your Amazon wish-list.

I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Improve your PR: Practical and useful advice from a seasoned journalist, 30 Dec. 2013
By 
David (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
The PR Masterclass is written by former Telegraph journalist Alex Singleton. It has lots of practical advice on creating an effective media strategy for your organisation or clients. Singleton covers areas that will improve your pitching and gives useful advice which will help your clients focus on more newsworthy material. As the author has been a successful journalist the book offers a very useful perspective.

It's an easy and entertaining read with tips, tricks and guidance that you can put into practice immediately. If you follow Singleton's advice I believe you can transform your relationship with the media very quickly. As I've said before, journalists will thank you for reading it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of public relations, 24 Dec. 2013
By 
Dr. M. Pirie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I declare an interest in this book. Its author, Alex Singleton, used to work for me, and his aptitude for public relations was as evident then as it is now. He has a natural flair for the subject, but unlike some others who do, he is able to communicate this to others. The PR Masterclass is a step-by-step account of how to do it. He distills his own expertise into a lively and informative account, packed with memorable anecdotes that illustrate the points he is putting across.

Alex draws on his own experience in the field to show the dos and the don'ts. Do keep it brief and attention grabbing, don't look at the world from your point of view, but look at it instead through the eyes of those you are trying to influence. Alex has worked in journalism, in public relations and in the larger field of public policy, and he draws on all three of these areas in his book to show the reader how to make an impact on the world in a positive way. For all those who have a story to tell and a position to establish, this is the book that tells them how to do it. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trustworthy and important book, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
B. Pycock (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is excellently written, and above all, teaches aspiring PR practitioners how to do PR efficiently and effectively. The book clarifies and defines everything as it goes, and is particularly useful for someone planning a media campaign (teaching them important things such as: how not to irritate the journalists you're pitching to, etc). I trust everything that the writer has said, and will implement it in all of my future marketing and PR endeavours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Excellent., 12 Dec. 2013
I read this on Kindle recently and it is a really surprisingly interesting read. It is both exactly what you expect and at the same time rather more than that. I have learnt allot from its inciteful comments and hope that I will be able to put this to good use! So I highly recommended this to anyone who reads this sort of thing, it is certainly worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Singleton has produced an informative, engaging and - most importantly - practical guide to Public Relations, 20 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
I can't praise Alex Singleton's book enough. As a journalist looking to carve out a future career in PR, I found his insights and advice tremendously valuable, while nodding along to his tips and tricks for PR practitioners looking to make journalists their best friend. (For example, his guide on how to write a press release is spot on: they should be easy to write, and yet so many are poorly written - journalists certainly appreciate people who provide well-written information.)

Having read many books on PR, communication, and strategy, I've often found myself reaching for the paracetamol after ploughing through a few chapters of jargon-heavy academic perspective, which often fails to offer the reader a practical insight to Public Relations. Conversely, Singleton's book is written in clear, plain English and is laden with handy advice that can actually be taken out into the world and put into practice. If you're going to buy one book on PR, this is the one - it truly is a master class, written by a man who has a wealth of experience on both sides of the fence.

In my opinion, this is THE book for journalism and PR students and practitioners alike. As the man says, if you're serious about being at the top of your game, it's essential that you continue your learning in order to remain sharp within the ever-evolving media industry, and this book is one of the best learning tools that will help you to do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIY PR, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Eamonn Butler (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
Professional PRs will hate this book. Why hire them when you can do the job cheaper - and better - yourself? This book shows that if you are prepared to spend a little time working out what media folk actually want, and deliver that in a businesslike way, you can get good press and save yourself a load of cash.

The best how-to manuals tell you stuff that makes you think 'obvious, really' - but just lay it out more systematically than you could. Although I have been trying to push content on journalists for 35 years, this is a systematic manual that I will return to over and over. There is lots of stuff - like the best way and time to contact journalists - that you can only know from experience. But more than that, it also shows how you can be creative in getting your name out. I liked the example of Procter & Gamble organising a soap sculpture competition. That's brilliant PR. And there is stuff about using opinion polls, holding an 'XYZ Day' that is relevant to your business and promotes your name, using diary and letters columns, doing radio and TV, and generally how to make yourself accessible to and trusted by the media. Knowing a bit about PR from years of trial and error, I would love to see the author go into oodles more detail about each of these, but that's another book. This one claims to be nothing more than a beginner's manual - but it is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It lives up to it's title quite nicely!, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With so many books on the subject of PR, would this book shed any real or more light on the over hyped at times art of said PR?. One or two I have cast an eye over in the past have not really shed much light on the ‘black art’ of PR and as such leave the reader wishing they had never bothered to pick up and open the said respective books. However on receiving this book I was totally engrossed with it as its written in a down to earth way, simple rather than over complicating the subject matter, that gives insights into the strategy used and the results, what to look out for and dealing with journalists is quite a master class in many respects as it also delves into the supposed mindset of said journalists and its also worth the cover price for the amazing amount of web links and other reference sources alone. This book is written in a down to earth way that should be understandable to most readers with even a basic intellect and should appeal to those who want to get the message across from those in big business to the folk organising the local village fete as its about that as in communicating at all, if not most, levels to get your message across and in this endeavour I think the author pulls that off and it might not be too presumptuous to say this could be viewed as person’s sort of ‘How To’ PR person’s Bible. Well worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent basic guide to media relations, 1 April 2014
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Though the title slightly oversells it, this book is an excellent guide to the nuts and bolts of media relations, and would be an ideal refresher for someone who has been in the profession a while, and could do with being mandatory reading for new entrants.

Many people enter the PR profession by taking a junior assistant or PR executive role (don't be deceived by the title — it just makes you 'someone who does the work'). If entering a busy communications or PR office in an agency or large organisation, someone will set you straight fairly soon on how to write press releases. Sadly, many people don't get that kind of advice, and I've interviewed many for jobs who seemed quite plausible, until we gave them the exercise of writing a release, and it seemed that no-one had ever shown them how to do it.

This book is a masterclass in the sense that it sets out clearly and energetically how to do the nuts and bolts of media relations. I can heartily recommend it for anyone starting out — you will save yourself months of frustration, and the dreaded comment "this release isn't quite right — could you rework it a bit", scrawled in red pen across the top, which leaves the problem firmly back with you and gives you no help in solving it.

There's a lot more to PR than this, but this is a very good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The PR Masterclass: How to Develop a Public Relations Strategy That Works
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews