Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book
Having had an iPad for Christmas and only been used to operating lap tops we needed a simple instruction manual and so far this version 6 has been invaluable which is easy to understand, so would highly reccommend to others like ourselves who are seniours who have learnt this technology in later life.
Published 3 months ago by redbull

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic
Too basic hardly need to use as a reference.
Possibly ok if first experience of "computing"
Trial and error is a quicker learning tool.
Published 2 months ago by William A Rigg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Having had an iPad for Christmas and only been used to operating lap tops we needed a simple instruction manual and so far this version 6 has been invaluable which is easy to understand, so would highly reccommend to others like ourselves who are seniours who have learnt this technology in later life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will be mostly enjoyed by those readers who know nothing about iPad, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
"iPad For Seniors For Dummies" written by Nancy C. Muir is quite similar to "iPad For Dummies" by Bob LeVitus, another recently issued book in the ...For Dummies series.
Both books for their theme have iPad device, allowing the reader to learn in the shortest time how to use iPad Air, iPad with Retina Display, iPad 2 and earlier iPad models.

"iPad For Seniors For Dummies" puts special emphasis on the elderly, therefore in certain topics entering deeply into the detail, that is reasonable considering the audience it addresses, that are not used to gadgets and all technological revolution that has occurred in recent years.
Although I'm not part of the audience for whom this book is written, I especially like its beginning where the author in an intuitive and user-friendly way is explaining how to choose the model of the iPad and its accessories, together with all of their characteristics on which attention should be paid depending on the user's interests.

After such interesting start, the authors in second big chapter included information about most important options setting, about Internet browsing and e-mail communication, how to get social with your cool gadget, how to purchase things and what are the most useful applications that can be found in App Store.
In following chapter, audio / video media is discussed, how to use iPad as e-book reader, how to play music and browse photos, watch videos and play games.
The book last chapter is probably the most interesting because it provides information about managing your life using Apple device, helping things make on time, finding and managing friends, even talking to your device when there is no other friend around...

"iPad For Seniors For Dummies" is book intended and will be mostly enjoyed by those readers who know nothing or very little about iPad, due to its instructions and pictures that are of good quality and easy to follow for older users that are using iPad for the first time.
Therefore this book primarily can be recommended to these groups of readers, while advanced and more experienced users should be recommended to search their answers in some other edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Excellent for my husband who hadn't used an iPad before. Very easy instructions to follow. I even learnt a few shortcuts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great help for seniors, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
A good basic help for iPad newcomers who have taken up computing at a later age. Very clear and helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very usefull, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great this is so useful on my new apple air, great as don't have to take a book with me and if I get stuck on something when out can quickly find the info I want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good insight into ipad, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very detailed book giving a complete overview into the iPad I would definately recommend this book if like me your new to it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too basic, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Too basic hardly need to use as a reference.
Possibly ok if first experience of "computing"
Trial and error is a quicker learning tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average,Poor Startup Info., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
Poor start !. Unclear info as how to first connect to internet and register. Mixture of American/English terminology.Gets better as progress is made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 April 2014
By 
J Darragh (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
I brought this for my 94 year old mother who loves her ipad but needed a bit of helpful tuition. She is delighted with it and finds the explanations easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Job, 4 April 2014
By 
B. E. J. Hyde (Folkestone Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) (Paperback)
This book is full of useful and helpful information. Good on yer Nancy. I refer to it all the time, at 90 years old I am almost an expert!. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa50b7c24)

This product

iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers))
iPad for Seniors For Dummies (For Dummies (Computers)) by Nancy C. Muir (Paperback - 27 Dec 2013)
11.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews