Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful
This is an extremely handy book for those who not just work in PR professionally, but all those who use social media for their own businesses, blog/website promotion etc. The chapters are concise and not over-wrought with technicalities and jargon and gives an up-to-date assessment of a an ever-changing arena. Recommended.
Published 3 months ago by Zip Domingo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make friends and influence people...
...using tweets - and many other forms of social network, of course. I have to admit to being unaware of just how detailed an nuanced modern PR was, it really has become almost a science. I say 'almost' as specific and reliable facts and figures are of course hard to come by on the internet - how many clicks are from real people, how many are bots?

The writers...
Published 3 months ago by Megan Smithy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent follow up, 6 Nov 2013
By 
AR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read the original Share This when it came out and was impressed with the comprehensive nature of the content. As such, picking up a copy of the sequel was a no brainer.

As with the previous book, Share This Too is a thorough and in-depth look at the ever-changing world of digital communications, written by a number of leading industry figures.

There is a large section on professional practice, including articles on crisis management, the need for company CEOs to embrace social, legal implications and building a personal brand online, something that has recently emerged as a major talking point.

There are also section on e-commerce, events and using new channels and technology, such as Google Glass.

The chapters that discuss the future of the industry are particularly interesting, as a year from now the landscape could be vastly different as the next big innovations arrive.

Definitely one to read for anyone working in online PR, marketing, social media or content creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, useful read, 16 Jan 2014
By 
H. Eaton "Helena Eaton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great book that provides a thoughtful exploration of the application of social media in the overall PR/marketing mix. For me, it wasn't strong on the measurement side of things - but online PR isn't simple to measure and I don't know of any books that fully satisfy me on this point anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating topic, 1 Jan 2014
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not a PR professional but I wanted to find out more about the role of social media in business in an area different to my own experience. So much seems to fall under the remit of PR today - politics, showbiz, education, NHS and so on. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that this provides comprehensive coverage of the role and given the way in which it has been written should help both the aspiring and experienced PR professional. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Coming from an IT background over many years, I was eager to dislike this book (what do those PR/marketing fashion stubble hippies know about technology anyway). IT people having been doing "social" things with computers for decades. I was chatting on "prestel" in the 80's at school, newsgroups and things in the 90's and social media in the 00's.

I was shocked to find that the majority of the book was useful, engaging, easy to read and relevant.

Each author writes one chapter, they are short, just a handful of pages, although the book is actually quite thick. This allows the book to cover a great many bases, some were not relevant to me but most were. There are just enough stats to make an argument without making the text boring. Chapters on influence, how to enable companies to embrace social media, conversations and consumer behaviour were really interesting.

My company is currently adding social media features to its application, so there are many things here highlighted for my team to read.

Overall an unexpected gem!

Not just for PR people but for anyone interested in social media or those who need to make the business case to embrace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The pragmatic follow up to the practical introduction, 1 Oct 2013
By 
I. P. Gearing (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The obvious pun aside this is a useful adjunct to the first volume that was issued last year, that aims to move things on from Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals, or as it is put in the introduction from "A practical handbook for PR people interested in changes taking place ..... [to a] ... pragmatic guide for anyone that works in communication or public relations". I would say the audience goes beyond that immediate field. Given that personal branding (chapter 23) is currently such a big issue (business opportunity) and the "Quantified Self" is addressed at the end of the book, that is everyone with a social media account. Indeed that is anyone in employment, with or without a social media account.

The book addresses social media solutions and some questions, in seven parts covering: The Future; Audiences; Conversations; New Channels; Professional Practice; Change and Future Proofing. It's scope is useful and each contribution would certainly serve as a conversation opener in any strategy meeting or training event surrounding marketing and public relations. It is up to date, for example, talk of Hyper Connected Apps (Chapter 13) certainly seems to be the way Apple are thinking with the launch of iOS 7 which is a 64 bit operating system which means that it can handle vast amounts of system memory and serious computing power (at least in design if not yet quite in practice) which opens up lots of possibilities for interconnectivity and therefore multi-channel opportunities for organisations to manage and utilise their message across - and new metrics, which is addressed in the final section.

Metrics is possibly the trickiest subject that the book attempts to address. There are fashions in the ways that organisations measure their performance as in everything else and as someone once observed "Metrics are not proxies for performance". If I had a suggestion for the next edition of this very useful volume then it would be to widen the discussion on this (still no discussion on empty clicks for instance).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second helping of thoughtful papers on social media, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The sequel to Share This, Share This Too is a second helping of thoughtful papers by PR industry leaders on all aspects of social media. Like its predecessor, this book was sourced from the Chartered Institute of Public Relations Social Media Panel, and contains the latest thinking from a PR perspective in a fast moving market.

Of particular interest is the chapter on Wikipedia. The CIPR code of conduct on Wikipedia takes very much a 'high road' approach, signing up its members to only work within Wikipedia's own workflow. However, as the paper acknowledges, there have been significant examples of PR agencies offering to source Wikipedia editors willing to rewrite articles to suit a client's brief, and other examples of gradual change to an article over a period of weeks which were too slight to be picked up by Wikipedia's automatic filters, but which entirely changed the meaning. Share This Too picks a thoughtful way through these and other quagmires, very much advocating the high road, but all too aware of the low road.

Social Media is moving so fast that I would recommend to fellow PR professionals that if they only read one PR book this year, it should be this one. While most people in the profession are already wise to the more disastrous uses of Twitter (particularly) which are referenced in this book, they will most likely not have encountered, or thought of, all of the more subtle issues. The book is helpfully rounded out with long term industry case studies, which demonstrate that it is possible to have strategy even in such a fast changing world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you work in communications you should read this book, 30 Dec 2013
By 
M. Williams "Matt Williams" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Share This Too is the second in a series published by Wiley, the first of which, Share This: The Social Media Handbook for Public Relations Professionals, was written by 24 PR practitioners in 2012. Share This Too has been written by 30 similar experts and is a bigger book, claiming to be a practical book for anyone working in communications and PR.

Trying to summarise what 30 experts' peer reviewed detailed thoughts amount to in a short review is hard. The best I can say is that if your career is in communications you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow up to the first book..., 27 Nov 2013
By 
M. Dasani (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I saw this book, I knew if the first part was aanything to go by it was going to be a must read. Both books are written by those that live and breathe the industry so you know you're getting qquality information from those that know what they're doing.

In my review for the first book I wrote that Share This was a must have for any PR professional as well as those that want to know more about the industry and nothing has changed with this book. It's definitely another one to add to the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam Packed with Advice for Everyone, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I first saw this book I wasn't sure whether to get it as I do not work in the field of PR. However, it looked good so I thought I would give it a go. This is one of the best decisions I have made. It says at the beginning of the book that it could be used by anyone, and they are right. What it does give us is a fascinating insight into the world of social media and how we can use to it enhance our online reputation. From start to finish it is packed full of so much advice that I barely know where to start reviewing it. Each chapter is concise and to the point and written by a different expert in the field. Each chapter gives a number of case studies which are skilfully used to explain and enhance the discussion in the text. These are, on the whole, from large brands, but could easily be applied to any business large or small

Although this would appear to be an academic text it does not come across as such. It is easy to read and the points are expertly made in a style which makes them easy to understand and apply. I would highly recommend this book for anyone who wishes to use social media in business. This is one of those few books which, If I could give it more than five stars I would. This is high praise indeed from someone who reads and reviews a lot of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but definitely for PR, 29 Nov 2013
By 
taylzo "dvd addict / bookworm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I haven't read the first book, but found this to be an interesting insight. I'm not in PR so it wasn't entirely relevant, it was a good read, well written but as a business looking into social media there may be other books that are more suitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae41fe34)

This product

Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals
Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals by CIPR (Chartered Institute of Public Relations) (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2013)
13.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews