Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars22
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 December 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Research by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) Social Media Panel, and shows best practice and applied theory - papers submitted by 30 plus leading social media consultants in the UK, from various related backgrounds.
The book is divided up into 7 topic areas, these then are subdivided into short chapters and are not overtly technical and are almost `layperson' friendly, giving information in a concise way.

The rise of social media and its rapidly changing nature, and the way it interfaces with the people is something that is radically changing landscape of brands. This then leads to the next progression of how brands communicate with their audiences/consumers. To be adept in social media is to stay ahead of the opposition and offer real benefit to your client. This hand book tries to do exactly that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an extremely handy book for those who not just work in PR professionally, but all those who use social media for their own businesses, blog/website promotion etc. The chapters are concise and not over-wrought with technicalities and jargon and gives an up-to-date assessment of a an ever-changing arena. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Share This Too is the second in a series published by Wiley, the first of which, Share This: The Social Media Handbook for Public Relations Professionals, was written by 24 PR practitioners in 2012. Share This Too has been written by 30 similar experts and is a bigger book, claiming to be a practical book for anyone working in communications and PR.

Trying to summarise what 30 experts' peer reviewed detailed thoughts amount to in a short review is hard. The best I can say is that if your career is in communications you should read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm a social-media hater who has been forced by the boss to get to grips with social media so I can do my marketing and PR better.

I haven't read the first book but this book stands alone and is useful regardless. I've managed to develop a Facebook strategy for the company following advice from other sources. This book has helped me enormously in making sure the strategy aligns with my PR goals.

This is an invaluable read for marketers, PR people and anyone serious about brand strategy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals

I was not expecting too much from this book but was pleasantly surprised.

Its mission.

This is a follow up book and is a series of structured reports from industry experts on the PR side of Social Media.
Social media is a fast growing communications tool which cannot be ignored by any business. This book looks at the ways businesses can channel into this revolution by using PR techniques and ideas. Yes it is biased towards PR but it's in the title.

What can you learn from the book?

The book is not a `how to book' but more of a `why you should' book. Each of the contributors is a specialist in their field and looks at the psychology and growth of Social Media and its impact mainly on PR channels but businesses overall. The book is divided into nice sections starting with `The future of PR' it then moves on to discuss how online habits from customers have developed as technology has changed. The book the delves into how and why this new channel of PR should be worked on and used by any business to develop competitive advantage.

The book the moves on to look at how Social Media will develop in the future. The individual contributors provide a mature and eye opening commentary on using PR and Social Media in a business. There is a lot of good advice and examples to explain the theories and changes of behaviour because of the advent and continuous development of Social Media.

Overall.

A great and very informative second book on this fast developing area of business. There is much good advice and explanations here and it is well worth a read if you run a business at any level that can or could use Social Media as a PR channel. I was very impressed with it and came away with lots of ideas to help my company work better in its market places by using PR, marketing and Social Media in a cohesive strategy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
I wasn't hugely impressed with this. CIPR, the publisher, is very keen to push for the professionalisation of public relations, but publishing books like this - almost entirely anecdotal, with very little research backing up the articles - is not going to help that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book describes itself as 'a pragmatic guide for anyone that works in communication or public relations'. Thirty four experts probe into 'what is current in the theory, delivery and evaluation of 21st century public relations and organizational communication'. While I am professionally involved in communications, dealing with my organisation's website and social media, I also find myself subscribing to a Bill Hicks point of view when it comes to advertising or marketing. Would this book offer me the sort of information that would allow me to do a better job?

The structure of this book is good. Each chapter is summarised at the beginning, the text is broken down into digestible chunks. At the end of each chapter there is a short biography of each contributor. It's also thought provoking. It got me thinking about how I should be investigating what keyword phrases we should be using, not only on the website, but throughout our communications portfolio (p.8). It also made me think about whether the journalists we pitch to have as many followers as the PR doing the pitching. (p.9) Sometimes the revelations are minor. but still useful, such as I didn't realise hashtags could be sponsored (p.13).

Inevitably the gap between submission and publication means the book is out-of-date when it comes to some of the details, i.e. mentions of Google's Keyword Tool. On the other hand I learned about TweetLevel (p.38) and Twitalyzer (p.38) for the first time. This book isn't quite as accessible as something like The Business of Being Social: A Practical Guide to Harnessing the power of Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn & YouTube for all businesses - its sheer size is daunting - but it is packed with useful information. There's an appealing conciseness that sometimes means you need to take a moment or two to digest the wisdom on offer. This is no bad thing.

Overall, this book meets its goals and I'm going to keep dipping into it over the coming months. It will teach you much, whether you are an expert or a beginner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Coming from an IT background over many years, I was eager to dislike this book (what do those PR/marketing fashion stubble hippies know about technology anyway). IT people having been doing "social" things with computers for decades. I was chatting on "prestel" in the 80's at school, newsgroups and things in the 90's and social media in the 00's.

I was shocked to find that the majority of the book was useful, engaging, easy to read and relevant.

Each author writes one chapter, they are short, just a handful of pages, although the book is actually quite thick. This allows the book to cover a great many bases, some were not relevant to me but most were. There are just enough stats to make an argument without making the text boring. Chapters on influence, how to enable companies to embrace social media, conversations and consumer behaviour were really interesting.

My company is currently adding social media features to its application, so there are many things here highlighted for my team to read.

Overall an unexpected gem!

Not just for PR people but for anyone interested in social media or those who need to make the business case to embrace it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
Great book for PR practitioners who are interested in social media. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2014
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Multiple contributors collaborated in producing this book about social media and its impact on Public Relations and how brands and companies are harnessing the outlets available. In a field where theory is formulated by real life examples, I am very pleased to say the book is very hands on giving practical and technical tools and more importantly, how the inoovators and front runners are using or adopting them.

Furthermore the scenarios provided have real life value and invite you to involve long term planning in the usage of social media. It is pretty inspirational and every businessminded person should consider the ideas offered for brand expansion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)