Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful
This is an extremely handy book for those who not just work in PR professionally, but all those who use social media for their own businesses, blog/website promotion etc. The chapters are concise and not over-wrought with technicalities and jargon and gives an up-to-date assessment of a an ever-changing arena. Recommended.
Published 11 months ago by Zipster Zeus

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what you expect from CIPR
I wasn't hugely impressed with this. CIPR, the publisher, is very keen to push for the professionalisation of public relations, but publishing books like this - almost entirely anecdotal, with very little research backing up the articles - is not going to help that.
Published 1 month ago by ChicChantal


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an extremely handy book for those who not just work in PR professionally, but all those who use social media for their own businesses, blog/website promotion etc. The chapters are concise and not over-wrought with technicalities and jargon and gives an up-to-date assessment of a an ever-changing arena. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rather Good, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Research by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) Social Media Panel, and shows best practice and applied theory - papers submitted by 30 plus leading social media consultants in the UK, from various related backgrounds.
The book is divided up into 7 topic areas, these then are subdivided into short chapters and are not overtly technical and are almost `layperson' friendly, giving information in a concise way.

The rise of social media and its rapidly changing nature, and the way it interfaces with the people is something that is radically changing landscape of brands. This then leads to the next progression of how brands communicate with their audiences/consumers. To be adept in social media is to stay ahead of the opposition and offer real benefit to your client. This hand book tries to do exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful in developing brand strategy, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a social-media hater who has been forced by the boss to get to grips with social media so I can do my marketing and PR better.

I haven't read the first book but this book stands alone and is useful regardless. I've managed to develop a Facebook strategy for the company following advice from other sources. This book has helped me enormously in making sure the strategy aligns with my PR goals.

This is an invaluable read for marketers, PR people and anyone serious about brand strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 21 April 2014
By 
butwhatdoiknow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The CIPR's self-published books can be a little hit and miss (and as a member and student, I have read a few). But this is an excellent follow up to 'Share This'. Short chapters, pithy information and a great balance between the informative and the usable.

From a practitioner perspective, PR and Social Media were uneasy bedfellows until recently. But now - thanks in part to books like this - their mutual interdependence is being more clearly determined to the benefit of both disciplines.

Congrats to the authors Rob Brown and Stephen Waddington, who have delivered yet another great contribution to the literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Liked and Shared too., 15 Jan 2014
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I read the previous book in this series and found it to be informative and jargon-free. This book is updated and even more current in this fast-paced world. I would not only recommend this book and its predecessor, but suggest that you read every release in this series that follows this one. Although PR professionals are of course the primary target audience, I would encourage anyone who uses social media as a tool for their business to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what you expect from CIPR, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
I wasn't hugely impressed with this. CIPR, the publisher, is very keen to push for the professionalisation of public relations, but publishing books like this - almost entirely anecdotal, with very little research backing up the articles - is not going to help that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent information and a good read., 15 Jan 2014
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals

I was not expecting too much from this book but was pleasantly surprised.

Its mission.

This is a follow up book and is a series of structured reports from industry experts on the PR side of Social Media.
Social media is a fast growing communications tool which cannot be ignored by any business. This book looks at the ways businesses can channel into this revolution by using PR techniques and ideas. Yes it is biased towards PR but it's in the title.

What can you learn from the book?

The book is not a `how to book' but more of a `why you should' book. Each of the contributors is a specialist in their field and looks at the psychology and growth of Social Media and its impact mainly on PR channels but businesses overall. The book is divided into nice sections starting with `The future of PR' it then moves on to discuss how online habits from customers have developed as technology has changed. The book the delves into how and why this new channel of PR should be worked on and used by any business to develop competitive advantage.

The book the moves on to look at how Social Media will develop in the future. The individual contributors provide a mature and eye opening commentary on using PR and Social Media in a business. There is a lot of good advice and examples to explain the theories and changes of behaviour because of the advent and continuous development of Social Media.

Overall.

A great and very informative second book on this fast developing area of business. There is much good advice and explanations here and it is well worth a read if you run a business at any level that can or could use Social Media as a PR channel. I was very impressed with it and came away with lots of ideas to help my company work better in its market places by using PR, marketing and Social Media in a cohesive strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read for all PR professionals, 10 Dec 2013
I believe this to be a must-read for all PR professionals. It is a handbook that anyone who wants a future in the industry should have. Produced by a hard-working, expert panel of CIPR members, it really is a clear, rounded and practical book. Highly-readable and enriching, I whole-heartedly commend it to PR industry colleagues - ignore it to your detriment. A big well done to the CIPR Social Media Panel for producing a great resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strong entry for those using social media in public relations., 16 Jan 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Multiple contributors collaborated in producing this book about social media and its impact on Public Relations and how brands and companies are harnessing the outlets available. In a field where theory is formulated by real life examples, I am very pleased to say the book is very hands on giving practical and technical tools and more importantly, how the inoovators and front runners are using or adopting them.

Furthermore the scenarios provided have real life value and invite you to involve long term planning in the usage of social media. It is pretty inspirational and every businessminded person should consider the ideas offered for brand expansion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and authoritative guide for the modern communications professional..., 14 Jan 2014
By 
Stuart Moses (Epsom, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book describes itself as 'a pragmatic guide for anyone that works in communication or public relations'. Thirty four experts probe into 'what is current in the theory, delivery and evaluation of 21st century public relations and organizational communication'. While I am professionally involved in communications, dealing with my organisation's website and social media, I also find myself subscribing to a Bill Hicks point of view when it comes to advertising or marketing. Would this book offer me the sort of information that would allow me to do a better job?

The structure of this book is good. Each chapter is summarised at the beginning, the text is broken down into digestible chunks. At the end of each chapter there is a short biography of each contributor. It's also thought provoking. It got me thinking about how I should be investigating what keyword phrases we should be using, not only on the website, but throughout our communications portfolio (p.8). It also made me think about whether the journalists we pitch to have as many followers as the PR doing the pitching. (p.9) Sometimes the revelations are minor. but still useful, such as I didn't realise hashtags could be sponsored (p.13).

Inevitably the gap between submission and publication means the book is out-of-date when it comes to some of the details, i.e. mentions of Google's Keyword Tool. On the other hand I learned about TweetLevel (p.38) and Twitalyzer (p.38) for the first time. This book isn't quite as accessible as something like The Business of Being Social: A Practical Guide to Harnessing the power of Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn & YouTube for all businesses - its sheer size is daunting - but it is packed with useful information. There's an appealing conciseness that sometimes means you need to take a moment or two to digest the wisdom on offer. This is no bad thing.

Overall, this book meets its goals and I'm going to keep dipping into it over the coming months. It will teach you much, whether you are an expert or a beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals
Share This Too: More Social Media Solutions for PR Professionals by CIPR (Chartered Institute of Public Relations) (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2013)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews