Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Business Should Read this
In the world today individuals, and companies, are becoming ever more social. The interaction from customers is now worldwide, and due to the advance of social media, customers can air their views worldwide. It is therefore highly important that customer service , in the social media world is seen as effective. This book is designed to help us do that. The book can be...
Published 3 months ago by Wendy Jones

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delivering effective Social Customer Service....
Authors, Carolyn Blunt and Martin Hill–Wilson are described as' the top two ‘Most Respected People in the UK Contact Centre Industry' in the blurb. I'm not 100% sure what the UK Contact Centre Industry is exactly but in 'Delivering Effective Social Customer Service etc.Blunt and Hill Wilson provide a thought provoking introduction for those in business who use...
Published 8 months ago by Arthur Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Business Should Read this, 15 July 2014
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In the world today individuals, and companies, are becoming ever more social. The interaction from customers is now worldwide, and due to the advance of social media, customers can air their views worldwide. It is therefore highly important that customer service , in the social media world is seen as effective. This book is designed to help us do that. The book can be used in two ways. You can either read cover to cover, or, dip into it to use some of the areas immediately. Should you wish to do the latter, then the authors have highlighted what they feel are the most important areas with which to state. The first chapter sets the scene and chapter two sets out how you can understand the customer in this, as yet, fairly new marketplace.

The book then progresses, with each chapter discussing a different aspect of social customer service. It does so in a clear and intuitive way. The case studies which are used to support the discussion are excellent. These serve to put the discussion into context and highlight how it works in practice.

This is an excellent book which I would highly recommend. It is well written, well set out and jam packed full of advice and information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical content and format, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent mix of theory, case studies and practical steps that any business can take to improve their online reputation and customer experience. Chapter 4 - The Roadmap - is particularly useful, I find, encouraging the potential social customer service expert to assess their current competencies before taking action to improve them.

The structure of this chapter allows quick comparison between the competencies, in terms of their importance, consequences, 'quick wins' and so on. This format is a godsend for the time-poor individual, as it facilitates the creation of a first draft relevant roadmap for your own enterprise in minutes.

This book is constantly by my side. I find myself evaluating every reported social media news stories, with reference to its wisdom, whether an epic fail in he style of Comcast, or Argos' "Badman" triumph. At the moment, I am using it to help me put together some materials for a strategic decision making game, based around an adverse twitter storm scenario.

Great book, Carolyn and Martin. Hope to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars social customer care, 13 May 2014
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
RIGHT TIME
==========
Carolyn Blunt and Martin Hill-Wilson have written this at just the right time. Social media was little known a decade ago whilst today it's difficult to escape.

With the changing landscape of Customer service it a well thought out book (ideal for small or medium size businesses) and how to effectively embrace social media.

The chapters are well defined and allow you to simply dip in or out of those elements.

CUSTOMER SERVICE
================
Although you could read it as a consumer of customer service it's ideal for those who made need to provide customer service.

As I read it it made me think, "How to engage with new or potential customers" and provided real world examples. Remember the interaction isn't just on facebook but could, for example be a restaurant response on trip-advisor...

RECOMMENDED
===========
If you need to update your 'customer service' skills to include the 'social' aspect then this is for you. It quite readable too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of useful advice and information, 28 Jan 2014
By 
RJP the Book Boy "Book boy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation.

I run a small web design company and we use social media a lot in web design and feedback.

The scope of the book.

This book treads into new business territory which most of us in business need to sit up and listen to. The book looks at how social media is being used by customers and how businesses should take note and use this intelligence to market and develop wisely.

Audience.

The book is easy to read and aimed at anyone with an interest or need to know about how the growth of a social media can influence a business and how to tap into it.

Structure.

The book develops the history and then leads on to the practicalities of using social media. The book shows the reader how social media is a growing and important business channel which needs to be addressed so that a business remains competitive.
The book discusses the merits of Facebook and Twitter and how business to customer interaction can take place and how a business can harness this new channel for its own good. The book does not explain how do interact more of why you should interact with social media. The arguments are well documented and explained. I have learned a lot about the power of social media just from this book. It was a call to arms for me, I need to get social media savvy in order to compete and this book is a great route map.

This book is full of ideas and explains all the modern thinking of how a business should be interacting with social media and not just as an advertising platform. There is plenty of food for thought here.

Relevance.

The book is a good read for any business person who needs to know about the power of social media. It’s easy to read and gives lots of advice. However, I can see it going out of date quite quickly as this is a fast developing business area.

Overall.

Plenty here for a business that needs to harness the power of social media and reach new customers and keep old ones happy. Well written, explained and easy to read. Recommended to business professional and students of business investigating the new business channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important business book, 14 Jan 2014
By 
antom "antom" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whether you like it or loath it, social media something that your organisation can't afford to ignore. Customers will be discussing your products and services through social media sites that are public and global. They will be setting up their own networks as well as expecting to use social media to interact with you.

Delivering Effective Social Customer Service is a very welcome guide to using social media to manage the customer experience. Carolyn Blunt and Martin Hill-Wilson provide a useful framework for companies to follow, and include some very helpful case studies.

What I especially liked and found reassuring is that, although they are championing social customer service strategy, they offer a very human perspective. The opening chapter, for example, gave an insightful description of the anxieties that staff are likely to feel in the face of transparent social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for ANY customer service professional, 23 Oct 2013
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Social is coming, there's no denying it. But don't be scared - Carolyn and Martin have pulled together an extremely comprehensive textbook here with everything you need to know about the rise of social as a contact channel. Why are people using it? Do I need to listen? What value does it add to my customer service strategy? An excellent deep dive into just about every question I could think of - and plenty I hadn't even considered. The perfect handbook to get you thinking about the right areas of your social customer service strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book had some great tips and information regarding how Customer Service should be ..., 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as I have recently moved into Social Media with a Customer Service aspect as well as marketing. I have worked as a Customer Service telephonist for a while but in the world of 140 characters it is a very different challenge. The book had some great tips and information regarding how Customer Service should be approached on the public stage of Social Media. There were also interesting articles - one from the creator of Conversocial - a tool that I use at work. All in all a good read and excellent starting point for me in the new and exciting world of Social Media. I have recommended it to others in my team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful tool for anyone using social media for customer service, 26 Jun 2014
By 
AR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book takes a slightly different approach to the other social media manuals I've read, as the focus is on delivering great service to customers using the social networks.

With plenty of tips, covering things from integrating capabilities to legal issues, this is worth reading if you use social media for work or business. The book is structured so that you can dip in and out, and each chapter has a breakdown of the key points at the end to make things easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
A great book that covers the changing dynamics of consumer behaviour and how organisations need to 'step up' and evolve their service capability. Some excellent examples to bring the subject to life which i have referenced myself on numerous occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, insightful guide, 15 May 2014
By 
Mark H (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Delivering Effective Social Customer Service: How to Redefine the Way You Manage Customer Experience and Your Corporate Reputation (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My friend runs his own business as a web site designer and SEO. We both had a read of this as he is looking for ways to make his business stand out from the crowd and really push him to the next level. And it seemed like understanding a bit more about social media and how to make that work for him as he deals with potential and existing customers. I wanted to help him if I could so it was interesting to see what I could get out of it too.

The book gives a lot of very good practical information on how interaction on social media can help or hinder a business. It looks at how social media can work not only as a means of building new business and attracting new revenue streams but importantly how it can help retain and develop your existing customer base. How by understanding how Facebook and Twitter really work and are used by people how it can help you develop a very sophisticated way of managing your customers.

The book is most definitely relevant right now. It is written in a way that both my friend and his relatively small business will get benefits from the advice but actually I find I can use it to help me in my role at a FTSE 100 financial services company. Many of the suggestions have been useful, not only for helping our external customer-facing areas review how they use social media but also for me in dealing with our internal networks. Being able to use our internal social media more effectively to work with our business partners and colleagues and give them a better service is definitely paying dividends.

A recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews