Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dummies come to the rescue, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Bruce Boogie (Stroud UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
New computer with access to Photoshop CC - boy oh boy is it complex!
This book is about as good as it gets when it comes to making sense of Photoshop.
I bought a big book from W H Smiths to sort me out - totally wrong!
The Dummies book was much better. I'm beginning to see the light with Photoshop now.
It's at the right Level for a beginner, it is clear and it works.

You only need this if you are a beginner with Photoshop CC.
If you want to get to grips with it I can recommend this book.
Good book and good value.
Well done Dummies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vastly improved publication over earlier versions, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Peter Warne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whether the publishers have heeded the critiques of the earlier versions of this publication or simply changed authors through necessity, the change has been a good one. Peter Bauer was already a member of the Photoshop Hall of Fame when he took up the reigns for the CS6 equivalent and his excellent writing style continues with this version. He goes through the basic functions which most PS users will use on a routine basis (layers, selections, masks and so on) but he also takes the reader into more difficult areas such as colour management and makes it all comprehensible. This is a real achievement; many other guides have struggled with areas such as this. So the book is an excellent reference source and just about all you would expect and need is in there. Finding that information, however, can be a bit of a challenge and this is largely due to an inadequate index. I suspect the indexing job was handed over to office staff to allow Peter Bauer to do something more creative but it's a pity. I read the book cover to cover and learned a lot but when I came to try and find a few things I knew to be in there, I struggled.

Of course, whether you approve of the new pricing structure for PS CC or not is outside the scope of the book and this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yes - I'm a dummy, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Val Birbeck (Sunderland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have a number of photo editing programs and don't read the very limited information included in the packages. This is an ideal reference tool, dip in and out as a problem arises with no need to read full descriptions. Another valuable "For Dummies" handbook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of A Trillian Books, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As ever the "For Dummies" series provides an excellent guide. This book has just the right amount of detail to enable the reader to fully utilise Photoshop without over complicating things. While the book is readable enough to work through it from start to finish, it works better as a guide to dip in as needed. Bare in mind that Photoshop can be complicated if attempting more than the most basic operations so don't actually expect this to be 'for dummies'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ambitious in scope, this book largely succeeds, 22 July 2013
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In some ways, the "for Dummies" books are victims of their own format. Anyone in the least bit familiar with Photoshop, in any of its forms and versions will know that it is an immensely versatile and, to be fair, complex program. This book attempts to go from the basics to some quite advanced techniques in a little over 400 pages, so some of the descriptions of the program's capabilities seem a bit rushed.

On the whole, though, it does a decent job of introducing new users to Photoshop and more knowledgeable ones to the additional functionality that the CC version brings. As with any book about software, it will become quickly out of date in parts, but many of the program's features outlined in the book are likely to remain similar for a few iterations. If you've paid for the ongoing licence that allows you to use CC, then another 20 quid or so is only a small additional investment, but it may only be worthwhile if you've no existing experience of Photoshop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Phototshop, love this book, 5 Sep 2013
By 
I. Mcintosh "Ian Mc" (Great Yarmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been using Photoshop since version 3 and now on its 14th edition there's is still nothing else out there that can touch it.

Photoshop can be very daunting if you are a first timer, its not like Photoshop Elements where you are handheld with wizards to create basic effects. Full fat Photoshop really lets you get under the bonnet and the sky is literally the limit when it comes to photo editing.

Because of that I would f=definitely recommend this Dummies Guide to Photoshop CC. It will let grasp that core skills required to get you familiar with the power of this amazing programme.

Personally I use Dummies Guides to keep me up to date with the latest additions on new release versions.

If you are serious about photo editing or creating your own illustrations then get this book. Its packed full of excellent must know skills and workshops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reference Book, 23 July 2013
By 
P Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Well, I've had Photoshop on my PC off and on for some years and I've never got really 'into' it. I get confused with even the basic photo-editing software and people have tried to show me the basics, but I forget what they have taught me. Anyhow, this book could well be my saviour, as it is something that I can dip into when necessary and learn the rudiments of Photoshop. Like all Dummies books they are presented clearly and thoroughly so you can learn so much. It's not a book to read from cover to cover, but more for reference.

This book leads you through what Photoshop is actually intended for and installing the actual software. Each chapter works through the processes involved with photo-editing and what you can do and go about doing it. The complicated menus and drop-downs are explained and how to access certain aspects on the programme. Layers have always been a huge problem for me and now I am working through the rudiments of using them to create better pictures. I'm not a fan of over photoshopped images, preferring the original photograph to speak for itself rather than it becoming the diminished base for an over-edition piece of art.

I know I won't become an avid devotee of Photoshop, as I haven't the patience, but I know this book will help me in my quest to master some if not all of the elements of this software programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good technical Guide for beginners and those wanting more., 9 Aug 2013
By 
Crimas (E R Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been using Photoshop for six to seven years and have grown my knowledge by reading, working with and learning from others. I have tried and reviewed many programs to edit my photography but always come back to Photoshop. At first I found the program very difficult to learn and I thought it was very complicated. Thus I review this book/guide with reasonable knowledge of the workings and abilities, but also understand some of the difficulties facing someone approaching the program for the first time or with little experience of operating it.

The book firstly covers some of the reasons for the development of the program in a technical sense, it allows you to understand the make up and build of the digital image, it then starts to build on this knowledge by introducing operations. All the basic things that you would would want to do to a photograph are there, and more. The operations are well explained in a step by step process and the reasons often why you should do it that way. Anyone not used to Photoshop should find themselves quickly getting to grips with photo handling and more. For the more experienced user, you will come across many things you have forgotten or just didn't know. The newer tools that have just been introduced are covered in a straight forward and informative manner. There is also some coverage of good working practices, which regard to handling photographs in general.

This is a book/guide that can be read from start to finish or just referred to when you need to look something up. It is well written, by someone who knows his Photoshop, it's easy to follow and a reference book that I will use on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Everything Except Take The Photo, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Graeme Wright "book worm" (salford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an avid but decidedly amateur photographer Adobe Photoshop has for quite a while been invaluable in helping to turn the slightly out of focus into sharp as a knife shots, the dull and cloud laden landscapes into efforts fit for a gallery. One of the most exciting features of Photoshop is the freedom to test the waters, stretch the boundaries and basically play with its possibilities. However this can be both time consuming and extremely frustrating when a hunch doesn't quite work.
And that is where Photoshop CC For Dummies comes in handy. Not only is it written in an easy to follow, logical way but it also points out many of the shortcuts in the software that could have literally saved this reviewer many hours and a few hands full of hair. Dealing with the very basics - the nature of pixels, how digital images are formed and installing Photoshop on a computer - through to the intricacies of cropping, colour balance and layering this book covers the whole spectrum of possibilities within Photoshop. To be able to present this in a style which even the most hardened technophobe can follow is one of the great success stories of the "Dummies" series and this title does not disappoint in this aspect. The helpful icons which are common to all the Dummies titles - tips, warning, remember and technical stuff - are used throughout and will help even more in steering the reader in the right direction. Peter Bauer, a member of the Photoshop Hall of Fame and Help Desk Director for NAPP has both the experience to write knowledgeably and the patience to explain in lay person's terms the potential labyrinth of digital photography editing.
I'm still a way from being the next Annie Leibovitz or Ansel Adams but, with this book at my fingertips, the sky is literally the limit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Photoshop CC For Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photoshop CC For Dummies
Photoshop CC For Dummies by Peter Bauer (Paperback - 28 Jun 2013)
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews