Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking
Becoming a better boss looks at why so many bosses today are ineffective. Examining the gap between knowing best practise and putting it to work, Birkinshaw's book looks what has historically held bosses back from working with their employees better - essentially, understanding how to manage from their perspective.

Birkinshaw looks at ways of doing this, how to...
Published 4 months ago by Michael Sutherland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It has the potential to be very good!
I'll try to keep this short and sweet:

Pros:
The author knows his field well enough to be professing on what works and what doesn't in management.
Equally, he takes a more bottom-up approach of management, its failures and its opportunities, instead of the more conventional top-down approach of other books.
The book is not just about managers as...
Published 8 hours ago by Eleimon Gonis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking, 16 Dec 2013
By 
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Becoming a better boss looks at why so many bosses today are ineffective. Examining the gap between knowing best practise and putting it to work, Birkinshaw's book looks what has historically held bosses back from working with their employees better - essentially, understanding how to manage from their perspective.

Birkinshaw looks at ways of doing this, how to overcome organisational inertia and cites examples of organisations which have done this effectively.

It's a thought-provoking, useful guide which certainly got me thinking and stimulated a number of thoughts about how to apply it in my job and where I could be a better boss. It also spends a chapter at the end looking at where the working world is going and why an employee-centric organisation is necessary now and in the future.

If I had one critique of the book, it would be that Birkinshaw may underestimate the power of inertia - he does mention it a few times, but unless all the bosses and organisations in the world read his book, the pace of change may well be slower than he hopes. However, this is very much predicting the future, so it's a minor critique if at all. Overall, very readable, very thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and insightful, 12 Dec 2013
By 
R. A. Mansfield "bertieronbob" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's often difficult to approach management books without feeling that you'll have heard it all before.

But Julian Birkinshaw's book is different. He recognised that this is a problem and makes sure he goes above and beyond.

All his insights are backed up by both qualitative and quantitative data and his ideas are practical, rather than just being theoretical.

I'd recommend this book to anyone interested in improving their management AND leadership skills. Birkinshaw deliberately uses the word 'boss' to avoid people thinking it's only about one. Good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It has the potential to be very good!, 17 April 2014
By 
Eleimon Gonis "eleimongonis" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'll try to keep this short and sweet:

Pros:
The author knows his field well enough to be professing on what works and what doesn't in management.
Equally, he takes a more bottom-up approach of management, its failures and its opportunities, instead of the more conventional top-down approach of other books.
The book is not just about managers as managers/people, but also about managers as agents of an organisation and as such they need to represent their interests.

Cons:
Many could say that this is yet another book about management and becoming a better boss, but then again so are all the rest.
The writing style, although eloquent and free of jargon, is simple and does not strike as memorable.
As another reviewer has already pointed out, the author seems to underestimate inertia within organisations. I believe that it is a huge problem (but opportunity at the same time), which is not adequately covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful analysis and advice, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
This is not one of those books which gives you one message, and then repeats it throughout. It is a real original work, packed with new analysis and stories of how companies have put new ideas into practice.

It is not aimed solely at those running organisations but is packed with ideas and advice for managers within organisations. I loved the examples of how to sidestep the bureaucracy and implement ideas which give people more freedom and more capacity to implement change. My favourite is the story of how a manager at Roche experimented with getting rid of approval of expenses, and instead trusting people to self-evaluate their travel (while displaying their claims on the intranet). The result was not just a huge reduction in hassle, but the cost went down.

Julian Birkinshaw was rated one of the top 50 management thinkers in the world in the 2013 Thinkers50 list and this book shows the real original contribution he makes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A cut above average, 25 Feb 2014
By 
D. P. Mankin (Ceredigion, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don’t think there’s anything new in the book but the author’s strength is his ability to package the content effectively. The book is fluently written and easy to read. Ideas, concepts and theories are explained well. In several respects the content gets to the heart of what management is all about and highlights the need for self-knowledge as well as understanding of others. Whether this is as insightful as some reviewers claim is debateable. But there is no doubt that the book is a cut above average. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense Management, 20 Feb 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The market is filled with new-age management books that take a wider, often hippy-child look at management. These books impart NO USEFUL ADVICE!

This book speaks common sense and explains why handling all concerns of a business - the company AND its people - are so difficult - there's so many balls to keep in the air, while trying to hold onto your sanity!

Useful, down-to-earth advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read but also easy to forget., 20 Feb 2014
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed the ease with which I could dip in and out of this book, and its absence of jargon, It's a decent enough book, but it offers nothing new or groundbreaking so I wouldn't necessarily recommend it over any other similar books. Worth a read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Clarke (Linlithgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like how the author writes. It's an easy book to read, on an important subject, and he is both thoughtful and thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good managerial handbook, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Zip Domingo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a pretty good book so far as management advice and techniques go- well written and with some genuinely thought-provoking observations and ideas. If you are looking for a snappy handbook to hone your managerial skills, this is as good a one to keep handy as any other. Worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A better boss makes a better world., 16 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Being a good manager is one of the most difficult jobs there is. Some managers forget what its like not to be a manager. Or, perhaps, think it beneath them. No longer to worry, and be happy. There is a difference between a boss and a manager. A manager knows how to get the best out of himself, and his team. A boss just tells you what to do. A manager allows your best work to be your job. A boss makes your job into nothing more than work. In one telling early moment, he asks about the best and worst boss you ever had, and you know exactly why they were each. By clever use of example and applied psychology, anecdote and fact, the case is made for turning from a boss to a manager, a human being, and so forth. Sadly, mere argument alone isn't enough : the key skill is bravery, and that is something we are born with, not trained to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult
Becoming a Better Boss: Why Good Management is so Difficult by Julian Birkinshaw (Hardcover - 20 Sep 2013)
12.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews