Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pi time yum yum yum
Having had my Raspberry Pi since Christmas 2012 but never having opened the box it was probably time I worked out how to use it. So with the help of this book I unpacked the tiny computer and hooked everything up. I am a very technical person and I have an ancient background in computers from the 1990s but have not looked at lines of code, outside websites, for many...
Published 20 months ago by Marcus Dawson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Totally for new comers
Very good for total new comers especially kids, the contents can be learnt from youtube & else where for free but is nice to have the basics at hand, for them daft "forgotten basic's" moments ... for the Pi collection, tempt others to take a look & get involved
Published 11 months ago by Google: "Geoengineering"


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is very useful to the beginner with Raspberry Pi. It teaches everything you need in the beginning stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great beginner's read for linux and Pi, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raspberry Pi For Dummies (Paperback)
I found the first chapters on Linux of little use to me as I knew all that stuff, but if you want this from a starting point of "I use Windows and haven't a clue about Linux or the Pi", get this book. I like the style (which may not suit all as it is not overly technical) and it told me some stuff I didn't know in an easy method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dummies still needs a bit more dumbing down, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a total beginner like myself I feel it still needs a bit more dumbing down.
Some of the techy stuff needs simplifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dummies approach the Pi, 22 April 2013
By 
Roger Bolton (Caerffili, Cymru, Albion) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good to see the standard welcoming dummies layout used to get the Raspberry Pi up from scratch, onto the powerful applications that the Pi can be used for. Well done, recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good start to Raspberry pi, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Dugal I an Heath (Perth, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes you through setting up the computer and provides and easy to follow guide.I was especially interested in the section on programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From a genuine dummy, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a complete beginner to Linux, Scratch, Python and the Raspberry Pi, I have found this book a good resource. I have the Kindle version and find the diagrams a little hard to read. I assume that the book would be better in this respect. I am part way through and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simple, straightforward, easy to use and concise this book covers bthe raspberry pi very well and is a great help on this fun computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars just what you need, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great intro and helped this newbe to approach a problem with the Pi HDMI sound setup with a enough confidence to be able to resolve the issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but very slightly out of date, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
C. Graham "silicon geek" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful in many areas of getting started with a Raspberry PI
How slightly our of date, as it does not cover the new out of box software NOOBS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Intro, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to work with computers a long time ago and decided a Pi would be a great way to get back into them as a hobby and hopefully allow me to help my 8 year old son understand how they work. I found the book really easy to understand and we will start to work through the projects soon. The links to other sites and blogs are also well researched and very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raspberry Pi For Dummies
Raspberry Pi For Dummies by Mike Cook (Paperback - 26 Mar. 2013)
£14.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews