Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says it is and good
I like and TRUST Wiley publications. Their books are always good quality with good content from good authors. Having said that, do not expect a 'how to' manual you can tap into from time to time. This book needs to be read. It is not a step by step manual on the best SEO, it is a compilation of insights into the best and worst applications of SEO from White Hat to...
Published 22 months ago by TheShopaholic

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good info but lacking colourful touch
When I read a book, I not only want it to be informative but I want it to look appealing.

As much as there is some very useful information from Moz, I felt that if you are a follower of their website, that this material is not really original and most has been pulled from their blog and pasted into a book.

The other thing that irritates me about this...
Published 23 months ago by K. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it says it is and good, 20 Sept. 2013
By 
TheShopaholic (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I like and TRUST Wiley publications. Their books are always good quality with good content from good authors. Having said that, do not expect a 'how to' manual you can tap into from time to time. This book needs to be read. It is not a step by step manual on the best SEO, it is a compilation of insights into the best and worst applications of SEO from White Hat to Black Hat from content/on-page optimisation to using the available forms of inbound marketing (social media, webinars, emails, blogs, forums etc). What to do and what NOT to do.

The chapters are short enough to be read easily and absorbed thoroughly, the approach is logical and the content is meaty. It starts with what White Hat SEO is and why to use and why to avoid Black Hat SEO and then goes on to approach each aspect from a practical point of view. It does not assume that you are an expert in online marketing but I felt that it was not aimed at a complete novice either. It helps if you have some understanding of online marketing/SEO and want to deepen that understanding. There are plenty of ideas and useful tips included and urls to visit for further information. I would say this book is good for businesses or individuals who have web presence already but struggling to be found in organic searches and are willing to spend time and effort on improving it over time to achieve a lasting result. However, do bear in mind, that SEO is an ongoing process but you cannot go wrong with book to see you through. A lot can be learned from its content.

If it is read thoroughly, this book can provide you with a sound basis for why and how to practice the best SEO methods that will outlast 'fly-by-night'/get to the top quick methods. Real world web content has been used and analysed so you can see the good the bad and the ugly for yourself. Theory AND practice is always good. SEOMoz are experts in this field and you could not have a better source of information. No misleading, controversial advice here. Just good old solid, trustworthy evidenced based advice. Read this book carefully, put it into practice and you should have the foundations on which to build a good web presence for your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good info but lacking colourful touch, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
K. Young "craftyness" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When I read a book, I not only want it to be informative but I want it to look appealing.

As much as there is some very useful information from Moz, I felt that if you are a follower of their website, that this material is not really original and most has been pulled from their blog and pasted into a book.

The other thing that irritates me about this books is the poor quality in which its been put together. Not only is the paper like a newspaper quality, but it has blurry images that are in black and white. It begs the question as to whether this would have been in colour had you have downloaded the ebook version of it. I think even the photos that have been used look old fashioned because they aren't in colour. It's a shame as I feel it would have given it the edge to the book.

Nevertheless it would not be fair to rate this book solely on how it looks. It is a valuable book with some useful advice about gaining insights from your social media, Best practices for ranking no. 1 in search engines, link building, guest posting etc.

I do think it also guides you in terms of whats available in plugins etc. Its definitely worth a read, I dont think there are many books out there on SEO that actually take you aware from the norm and actually go into detail as to the reasons why you need to do certain practices, this book does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for online marketers, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
AR (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Moz is one of the leading companies in the world of SEO and their blog is a great resource for anyone who works in the online world. I've been reading the blog for a while, so I jumped at the chance to get hold of this book.

It is a really comprehensive look at online marketing and all the facets of the industry. Chapters cover SEO, content, social media, outreach, conversion rate optimisation and analytics. There is plenty of more technical information on SEO etc, as well as chapters that will be useful for content writers and marketers.

This is a book that I will definitely be referring back to over the coming months, both for my work in marketing and running my own website.

My main niggle with the book is that a lot of the content originated on the blog, however, with so many strong articles available on all the key topics I guess it would be foolish to produce everything from scratch. There are original pieces included in the book too and introductions to the various topics.

Definitely a useful book for online marketers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEO Bible, but not for beginners!, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
NeilC (Windsor, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like the excellent blog on which this is based, this book is incredibly current and up to date. Including all the most recent techniques and issues. However, be warned it's definitely more of a guide to give intermediates expert knowledge and to keep experts current. If this is the first book that you buy on SEO, you'll be lost. I work in e-commerce (though not directly in SEO) and I've found it great to keep me current with the latest SEO techniques and to give me practical ideas for a small e-commerce shop that I run on the side.

The chapters are written in an engaging, discursive way that keeps them current and there's constant links to new sources and websites to further your knowledge. All in all very useful, but heavy on content so it's not an easy read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEOMoz wins hands down in Search Engine Optimisation, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
David A. Nash "Nash aka Taker" (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone who works in SEO knows the value of information and content this book has both.
Snippets from their blogs and posts gives any beginner a great insight into SEO and the ability to make heir site number neon the world. Follow what it says n his book and you will see some great results. Couple that with an SEOMoz subscription and you'll be winning no time at all. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 15 Jan. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (Aquitaine and Oxford) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Yes. It is very good. Full of expertise and good sense. Highly recommended for anyone going beyond the website as brochureware situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book And Very Current, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Mike "www.nowillpowerrequired.co.uk" (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With SEO being a black art and constantly changing this is a very current book on the subject by the experts at SEOmoz. I read this while on holiday, I know I am sad!, but found it very useful as I am currently working on a Wordpress website that has good content but isn't ranking highly. Basically this is the best book on the subject for beginners and experts alike. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you already know your stuff, 21 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This isn't an entry level guide. It's for people who already know their stuff. Great detail and easy to read. Set out really nicely with specific chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST SEO SOLUTION ON THE PLANET, 17 Oct. 2013
By 
Paul (Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Bold title? Yep. I have dabbled with this dark art called SEO for a couple of years and part of our winning solution came via MOZ (formally known as SEOMOZ). So I know the organisation and I'm a paid up member/consumer of the product. If I let flow on how good the MOZ offer is I would probably come across as evangelical as it has helped our concern hugely. The thing about the MOZ team is that you can trust what they say and that they are bang on the target with shifts of requirement in search engine technologies.

This book therefore offers the reader a quick reference when away from the resources of MOZ.com and it can make a massive difference to how you approach SEO. The great thing about the book is that you do not need to be an expert to pick it up but you will do yourself some favours if you know or have some knowledge of SEO. It can not be classed as an idiots guide to SEO as it is taken from the MOZ blog but if you are ready for the next step up the SEO ladder away from absolute beginner then the insights this book offers are fantastic. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Tactics that never stop working', 17 Oct. 2013
By 
R. Tait (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a web designer who includes a bit of SEO / Internet marketing, it's valuable to have this concise summary of best practice, a couple of years after all the horrible link-building techniques. Much of the advice centres around "algorithm-proof" tactics: building an easily crawled site, creating meaningful content, and building relationships and communities; all based around the user and customer.

The content is divided into 25 chapters, further broken into steps, bullets, and actionable points. It's pacy, easy to read, and valuable stuff. I learned a lot, including ways of meaningfully communicating with clients who want to be 'at the top of Google'.

Unlike many other Wiley books, it's printed in mono on non-shiny paper - much nicer to handle and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog
Inbound Marketing and SEO: Insights from the SEOmoz Blog by Thomas Høgenhaven (Paperback - 12 July 2013)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews