Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!
Exploring Arduino is a very well written book. I love the fact that the author goes into technical details of not only how to write a code (which is kind of expected) but also of operation of Arduino itself and all sensors you use throughout the book (i.e. Xbee). All instructions are clear and easy to follow and author encourages experimenting with the code after...
Published 23 months ago by K.Klab

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not worth the money?
Firstly, I partly bought the book in error which was a slip that can happen using kindle. I'm going to return.
However, there seems to be a lot of theory about Arduino and electronics which may be just what your looking for, but not me. I wanted to be filled with enthusiasm for the endless possibilities of the Arduino, with some mad examples to demonstrate these...
Published 11 months ago by Andrew C


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best!, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Exploring Arduino is a very well written book. I love the fact that the author goes into technical details of not only how to write a code (which is kind of expected) but also of operation of Arduino itself and all sensors you use throughout the book (i.e. Xbee). All instructions are clear and easy to follow and author encourages experimenting with the code after completion of each chapter. This is an excellent way of learning because right from the beginning you write, modify and combine code all by yourself. The code doesn't work so you're forced to analyse and correct your mistakes and by doing it you learn even more.

The book definitely lives up to the expectations after watching Jeremy's excellent series of Arduino video tutorials on Youtube.

Pros:
- level of technical detail of hardware (not to deep, not to shallow, just right)
- creative and practical projects
- clear instructions
- nice progression

Cons:
- still looking

This is my first ever review on Amazon but since this is a brand new release and doesn't have any other reviews yet I thought I'll go into the effort to let others know how good it is. Easy 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth its weight in gold!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Look, I'm a physicist - not an electrical engineer - who dabbles in electronics. It's fun! And what better platform to use for programmable electronics than the Arduino (yes, the Raspberry Pi could also be used, but the learning curve there is certainly steeper as the Pi cannot control hardware as easily as the Arduino can). There are many good websites that describe projects for the Arduino: adafruit.com, instructables.com to name a couple. But if you want to go beyond those examples and really understand what's going on so you can design your own non-trivial projects...well, this is where this book comes in!

Blum has done a superb job presenting aspects of the Arduino in a comprehensive, fairly complete and accessible manner. Lots of bits and bobs of the material covered in this book is available online, but nowhere will you find this level of detail and coherence. The descriptions are very very clear and the projects are cool, entertaining and teach you a heck of a lot!

I have used other books on the Arduino before and always found them lacking. Yes, they had a number of projects described, but if you wanted to know why something was the way it was, well, you were out of luck. Blum's book has no such issues. He covers both basic and advanced topics clearly, always explaining how things work.

Blum covers advanced topics like serial communication, interrupts, data logging, wireless communication, communication via the ethernet, plotting data in real-time on websites and others clearly. I have already used this book to set up a number of projects involving these topics and I now feel like I actually *understand* what's going on! You can get information on many of these topics from the web, but I doubt you will really feel like it makes sense.

Get this as your reference to the Arduino and as your everyday project book. Combine this with the cool resources at adafruit.com and instructables.com and you are set to spend many a Saturday afternoon making stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read and a very complete Arduino primer, 29 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Jeremy Blum is an electrical engineer with a large following on YouTube for his series of videos on building gadgets using the Arduino board. He has now distilled his knowledge into a 300+ page book, covering the basics of programming the Arduino, using the tools and interfacing to a lot of common devices.

The book sections cover sensors, a variety displays and actuators, and ultimately embrace wireless, writing to a memory card and sending data to the internet. Going beyond the basic "connecting LEDs to an Arduino" tutorial (of which there are already many), Blum takes time to explain some of the principles of electronics, and other key topics, like the computer representation of signals. He explains interfaces that will allow your Arduino to connect to other devices, including the serial interface, SPI and I2C. The latter interfaces are widely used in sensors, and understanding them allows you to interconnect multiple Arduinos (and also incidentally the Raspberry Pi). There is a lot of transferable knowledge in this book.

If you're thinking of building some kind of robot or other self-contained gadget that needs sophisticated on-board processing, then this book is an excellent starting point, and will guide you how to program and connect the various components you need. It's easy to follow and clearly describes how to test various hookups, and download or create the software that you need to drive them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One seriously good book, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
Dale A. Haines "master_ice" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I will point out at the off that this is an interim review as I am still ploughing through it chapter by chapter rather than my normal here, there and everywhere way of reading technical books.

I should point out that this is not a book for the complete beginner since it does assume a degree of competence in electronics.

But that's not to decry the book. Over all so far I have been more than impressed with it and, combining it along with various other Arduino books I have, I'm immersing myself deeper and deeper into the dark arts of the beast and, pleased to say, understanding more and more of it.

Like many books it is supported by a website and code downloads. In this case they are also complemented by a large number of Youtube video examples of the code and the practice in setting the sketches up.

There were a couple of mistakes on the website links and I'm pleased to say that within a day of my notifying Jeremy Blum of the problems they had been sorted out.

A very impressive publication indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious, practical, well written book that takes you from nothing to doing great things, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is so far the best of the auduino "how to do it" books. With this book, the downloadable example code, and a handful of easy to obtain electronic components, you will be writing and building your own projects in no time. The illustrations are clear and the reference material accessible and relevant. I thought I knew the arduino pretty well, this book showed me how wrong I was, and I am glad of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 14 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. A. M. Ferrar "ashman121287" (leicester united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
great walk throughs and intro to electronics,4 stars given as i would have liked to see more industrial applications,but overall a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really lives up to the other rave reviews. For an experienced embedded programmer it was perfect to zone me in on what is possible, and to the great free tools available in this wonderful Arduino community I've just discovered!

Great introductory texts too in an informatilve style without too much (unnecessary) detail - enough to get you going on simple or even quite complex projects e.g. Ethernet and WiFi connectivity.

It's commonly said about some really good instructional books, but I think I might agree - so, if you get one book on programming the Arduino, make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detailed yet Accessible, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Bond "Xelous" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This little ditty could not appear soon enough for me, having plenty of little projects on my mind this book let me access and beat many technical issues around some of my ideas.

Each project the book contains is easy to follow, clearly laying out the instructions and guides you as you follow along, it balances the information with good commentary really unlocking the device as it progresses.

After going through this I felt more confident with electronics in general, and consider I can always reach up to this book and find the thorough coverage of the Arduino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes it pays to read the text book first, 28 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Having picked up Arduino programming from examples and lots of trial and error I wish I had read this book first or at least quite soon after starting my Arduino projects. Very well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not comprehensive, few projects, but a great grounding book, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
David Burton "aenikata" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exploring Arduino (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While most Arduino books focus on providing a range of projects to build, this takes a different approach. It discusses some things that you could do with an Arduino, and focuses on how you do various things that will be required for implementing those. Rather than canned projects, you have details about reading a range of sensors, controlling motors (and controlling circuits requiring a higher voltage or current), serial communication, and how to work with a number of supporting chips (such as I2C for controlling displays and other devices with just a few wires, and XBee communication).
With this information you could implement a sensor with wired or wireless serial output, or a display box, or a robot that can be controlled via XBee - there's lots of potential projects. While this avoids outlining a lot of toy projects, if you do have an idea this book may well give you a fairly complete idea on what components will do what you need and how to use them, so for those with their own ideas, this is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exploring Arduino
Exploring Arduino by Jeremy Blum (Paperback - 9 Aug. 2013)
£19.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews