Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2013
Despite the offensive title for the Dummies series from Wyley, this guide was better than expected because I thought it would be a revision of the D7000 camera with a few passing references to the D7100. Instead, it was focussed on the new D7100 and written in a way which was not condescending. I have been involved in photography for nearly 50 years with a variety of cameras and although the D1700's manual is very intimidating, this book is an easy read with plenty of helpful and well-produced colour illustrations. The speed with which it has been written and published is commendable.
I would have welcomed more on lenses and their relative merits with the D7100, after all the camera is mainly sold as body-only.
My only other minor criticism is the sequence of the chapters. Clearly the author has wanted to the dummy reader to understand the basics early on, leaving the more technical aspects of this complex camera until later. But it does lead to some jumping ahead when you want a little more information on a function.
Nevertheless, an excellent book and very 'readable'.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Not always a gushing fan of the Dummies series - I've brought several others on various subjects but I'd recommend this particular one to any owner of this camera.

Well laid/and thought out and full of the information that a photographer who already understands the basics. Not at all patronising, rather full of just the sort of thing you need delivered in plain English with none of the irritating jokey comments so many other Dummies books authors love to inflict on the reader
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
but this book is so helpful. it gives so much info and saves a lot of time working things out. ive had slr cameras since the sixties, and there is always something new to learn. I recommend this book to anyone with a Nikon d7100.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
If you're thinking of buying or have bought the excellent D7100 this will guide you to getting better photos. Highly recommended
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
the book is clearly written and has relevant diagrams and pictures to explain everything that is required to get a good understanding of this camera. The camera is highly complex, however the extra buttons and switches to access functions without using the menu system makes it quicker to use in the long run ... that is where the Dummies book comes in. It runs through the available features in reasonable depth. There is also a good index so that when you have read it cover to cover and want to go back for a specific point, you actually find it. One of the better 'how to' books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
Picked this because the supplied manual a little too advance for me, maybe I bought a camera above my ability, ok so I did but the Dummies guide putting it all in place.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
Generally a good addition to the Nikon manual, easy to digest and you can skip back and forth between chapters as required.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This book definitely helps explain the manual and functionality of the camera. It brings together very practical setting combinations that have moved my understanding of the camera on in a huge step. I have been using the camera very effectively for just over a year, but was missing some of the finer points and power of the camera. Dummies really solved this in a few hours, excellent easy reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
first impressions are that this will be exceptionally handy for getting to grips with the D7100.
It's a pity it's not pocket size as it would make a brilliant companion when taking the camera out.
The usual straight forward explanations that are not technically challanging
Yes it's a good buy
Will I be using it most definitely yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
This is a great book, It takes you through from a 'learner' stage level of knowledge, clearly identifies what all the 'bells & whistles' are for and gives masses of information in a clear and concise, well ordered progression.
I would recommend to anyone who buys this camera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)