Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars This is a reference for Quantity Surveying. It provides ..., 17 July 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a reference for Quantity Surveying. It provides for the estimation of construction materials as well as valuation and covers the economic aspect of tendering albeit briefly. In digging out previous editions from the university library, I found a totally new approach to presentation alongside the expected new units of measurement.

As a layperson, I can see how this would be a go to guide for anyone in this field. I know of at least one contractor who has an the Practice and Procedure counterpart on hand, presumably to make their own rough guesstimates for subcontracting. This is more of the up- to date reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Study Guide, 17 July 2014
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The eclectic nature of my reading knows no bounds and I'm happy to tackle interesting works on virtually any subject to increase my knowledge and understanding of the world as a whole.

This book gave me great insight into the practices of quantity surveying. Had I been interested in such stuff in my late teens/early twenties it may have resulted in me pursuing this interesting field as a profession rather that the alternative path I've chosen to take.

Lucid and never boring, this book is recommended to both students and current practioners of the discipline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No good if you are studying on BTEC Measurement Unit., 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Supplier - Very good service.

The volume has been up-dated to meet the NRM2 classification. Not much use if you are studying the Measurement unit for a BTEC level 3 though - the syllabus is still SMM7.

Those who are training QS's though will find it a good reference even though most 'take offs' are now electronic. Sandra Lee has joined the team who have basically up-dated the previous versions. The contents has very good reference to NRM2 though which industry uses. An excellent volume for the profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars While this is no doubt a great textbook, this book is clear enough to appeal ..., 17 July 2014
By 
Dinah85 "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
While this is no doubt a great textbook, this book is clear enough to appeal to the layperson. While it is no replacement for hiring a quantity surveyor if you are undertaking a large project, it is excellent to give you the confidence to be able to provide yourself with ballpark estimates when considering the viability of a project. Worth the purchase price many times over, fantastic reading for anyone considering a restoration job or building from scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, as always, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Review partly based on a friend who is a QS. This book has all the current essentials of the trade, with a clear and simple layout throughout. My current abode is being renovated and this book gives a great insight into...well, the Elements of QS! You can get an idea of what your QS is actually doing. For a student this book would be invaluable. It's the usual Willis quality. Even a pro will keep this in the car/van as a backup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for student and practitioner alike, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If Quantity surveying is your bag, everything you need to know about it in a 21st century context can be found between the covers of this comprehensive book.

Clearly presented this is an essential benchmark handbook for any practising or student QS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Of All I Survey..., 28 May 2014
By 
Bela Lugosi's Dad "Bela Lugosi's Dad" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nice, detailed text book from Wiley/Blackwell, broken down into easy-to-digest sections. Good use of figures and tables, great for on-the-job reference and study at home with a nice sandwich, or some chicken soup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Method of Measurement, 25 May 2014
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Quantity surveying embraces a wide range of construction related matters - budgets, tenders, costs, management etc. but readers should be aware the title ‘Willis’s Elements of Quantity Surveying’ appears to offer more than it delivers in practice - the book concentrates on measurement. I am aware how the construction industry has changed and use of traditional Bills of Quantities has declined with alternative tendering approaches, valuation methods etc. but it will be recognised that measurement is at the centre of the quantity surveyor’s role, and good measurement skills are vital.

As a retired Chartered Quantity Surveyor I well recall a number of revisions of what was then the Standard Method of Measurement (SMM), and on each occasion I relied on Willis’s textbooks for guidance. Willis’s explanations on taking off quantities was first published in 1935 and it is still going strong as this 12th edition clearly demonstrates. In 2009 The Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS) produced the first of a set of New Rules of Measurement (NRM), with NRM1 dealing with Cost Estimating and Cost Planning, and in 2012 NRM2 for Construction Quantities. It should be noted the list of elements in NRM2 exceed those in the coverage by Willis, but Willis does finish with chapters on Preliminaries and Bill preparation, together with straightforward mathematical formulae for measuring. A particularly useful section of the Willis is a tabular comparison of the new NRM2 and the previous latest SMM7. From my own experience I usually found a comparison between previous and latest SMM to be the easiest way to get updated.

To have a textbook as the ‘Willis’s Elements of Quantity Surveying’ is helpful but it must be acknowledged there is no total substitute for studying and understanding original documents. This book can only go so far and it is limited to basic principles, so in addition to Willis it is essential to assimilate all that is included in NRM2, plus other RICS publications, guidance notes etc. In addition to measurement for Bills of Quantities, Schedules of Rates etc. NRM2 also details definition of information requirements when works are non-measurable such as contractor designed elements, but this is another area not covered by Willis. What ‘Willis’s Elements of Quantity Surveying’ does it does well - but there is so much more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Willis Elements of Qualtity Surveying, 9 April 2014
By 
Clem Fandango (N Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Authors,Sandra Lee, Head of Product Development at the College of Estate Management in Reading and William Trench, Associate Tutor for the College of Estate Management, Reading, have produced an accessible and comprehensive work which is a 'must have' for students studying in the field of quantity surveying. Covering all relevant aspects of the subject,from stage one of a project to the final completion stage, the work brings in the relevant regulations with regard to current NRM2 rules, Written in a straightforward and clear style, this latest edition of 'Elements of Quantity Surveying' will find favour with all those who are making a career in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying
Willis's Elements of Quantity Surveying by Andrew Willis (Paperback - 28 Feb 2014)
£32.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews