Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, as far as these sort of books go.
Since acquiring an iPad several weeks ago I have delved into two or three different instruction books. None has been completely satisfactory. Even the ones that say they are for complete beginners are nothing of the sort because they soon lapse into what is at times incomprehensible computer-speak. I am now convinced that the only way for an iPad novice to get a...
Published 18 months ago by Bob Matthews

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))
Delivery excellent. The book itself assumes a large degree of computer literacy as is not, in my opinion, suitable for use as a 'primer.', in other words not for the complete beginner
Published 12 months ago by J. A. Waldock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, as far as these sort of books go., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Since acquiring an iPad several weeks ago I have delved into two or three different instruction books. None has been completely satisfactory. Even the ones that say they are for complete beginners are nothing of the sort because they soon lapse into what is at times incomprehensible computer-speak. I am now convinced that the only way for an iPad novice to get a grounding into the workings of this gizmo is to get an iPad-wise friend or relative to demonstrate it. That is what I did and if you're like me you'll find that once you've been shown a few basics - like the intricacies of iTunes and how to import photographs - the instruction manuals become more comprehensible. I'm reminded of that story about Groucho Marx who, when told that something was so easy that a six-year-old child could operate it, replied "Quick, fetch me a six-year-old child." It's surprising how clear some of these 'beginners' instruction books become after a knowledgeable friend (or a six-year-old child) has explained a few things.

Of the books that I've read, 'iPad for Dummies' (a misnomer because it certainly isn't for dummies) is probably the best of the bunch. It puts you at your ease from the start because of it's friendly and humorous approach. The layout of the book, too, is very user-friendly, the twenty chapters being sub-divided into sections, all of which are listed under 'Contents' at the beginning. Whatever aspect of the iPad you're looking for you should be able to find it at once. If you can't there's an even more detailed index at the back.

As with all the 'Dummies' series this is, of course, an American book and no attempt has been made to Anglicise it - prices of accessories, for instance, are in dollars - but this is not really a problem. All in all, this is not a bad book - but do try to have access to an iPad-knowledgeable friend when you're reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect title!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
This book is perfect for the complete novice because not only does it explain everything in plain English but there are great coloured photos with simple steps to follow. For somebody who has just got their first iPad this makes you use your device it to its full potential!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read!, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Toby D. White "TobyW7" (Hitchin, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
I bought this for my Dad who had a book before but couldn't get on with it. I am a fun of the "For Dummies" series and my Dad has so far been singing much praise for this book and has said it is very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heavy reading, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Everybody's idea of baby step instruction will be different. This is of little assistance until someone with the knowledge gleaned through using the equipment shows and says you do this or that and show the user. It then all clicks into place and serves as a reminder of what you have been shown. Not impressive overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)), 12 Aug 2013
By 
J. A. Waldock (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Delivery excellent. The book itself assumes a large degree of computer literacy as is not, in my opinion, suitable for use as a 'primer.', in other words not for the complete beginner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ipad, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Good clear instructions that I can dip in to when ever I have problem with my ipad great book thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
Good read,like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book with all you need to know to get ..., 4 July 2014
By 
D. M. Leak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
A very useful book with all you need to know to get you familiar with the workings of your iPad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for Grandmas, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
I purchased this as a reference book on how to use my ipad. I am very happy with it and have loaned it to a few friends. We are all computer literate but the concept of Apps is new to us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the wife, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) (Paperback)
My wife has had limited use of the book so far, put it in a safe place and could not find it.
Use so far has been limited to emails, saving photographs etc.
Looks to be comprehensive and will answers her needs when required
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech))
iPad For Dummies (For Dummies (Computer/Tech)) by Bob LeVitus (Paperback - 2 Nov 2012)
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews