Customer Reviews


4 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for building no-code SharePoint solutions
As of April 2013 there is still a lack of in-depth SharePoint 2013 books available.
This is my top recommendation of all the SharePoint 2013 books so far. It provides 600 pages divided into well-thought-out chapters and has numerous good exercises (Try-It-Outs).

NB. Wrox Press have a good history of technical books, but despite the title on Amazon this is...
Published 18 months ago by Ruth Jennaway

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Full Of Errors
Admittedly I'm only on chapter 3 at the moment and things may get better, but this book is full of mistakes and assumptions.

Page 25 "...select View Site Content from the settings menu." Should read "...select Site Contents from Settings menu." Admittedly this error is documented (although incorrectly) on the book's online errata page.

Page 26...
Published 10 months ago by D. Manship


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Full Of Errors, 7 Dec 2013
By 
D. Manship - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning SharePoint 2013: Building Business Solutions (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Admittedly I'm only on chapter 3 at the moment and things may get better, but this book is full of mistakes and assumptions.

Page 25 "...select View Site Content from the settings menu." Should read "...select Site Contents from Settings menu." Admittedly this error is documented (although incorrectly) on the book's online errata page.

Page 26 "...upon its completion you are redirected to the main page of your new site.." Not you're not! You are redirected to the site settings page.

Page 43 "...My Tasks, which displays a listing of tasks assigned to the current user." True, but only if someone else installed SharePoint. By default the account used to install SharePoint becomes the system administrator, but you can't assign tasks to the system administrator. The assumption here is that I, as the reader of this book, am not also the system administrator.

Page 44 Contains two screenshots of Gantt Charts, both containing three tasks that haven't yet been entered.

Page 47 "Select the 'Set alert on this list' option..." This option is only available if SharePoint emailing configuration has been set up - and there are no instructions in this book to do that. Again the assumption here is that I'm using a corporate SharePoint system administered by someone else.

Page 61 "Click the OK button. You are returned to the document library..." No you are not: after clicking OK on the file dialog box you're presented with another dialog box completely undocumented in this exercise.

I know that books of this nature are invariable written using pre-release software and that things inevitably change. But surely after the final software release someone should be re-reading the book and maintaining the errata.

This book is aimed squarely at people that need to create and maintain SharePoint sites and their associated functionality, and on the whole it does that fairly well. It doesn't go anywhere near administering a SharePoint server, which is odd when Appendix A covers the topic of installation. SharePoint is not an install-and-walk-away product - it needs a certain amount of post-install configuration. If you follow the guide in Appendix A to install SharePoint you will not be able to complete all the exercises in this book. Something that the editors really should have picked up on. The only reason I bought this book was because it covered installation and I wrongly assumed that it would therefore include at least some basic server administration.

As mentioned a couple of times before the book often makes the assumption that you are using a corporate SharePoint installation administered by someone else and therefore everything will work as expected because that someone has already configured the system perfectly. So again, why is system intallation covered in Appendix A?

The book appears pretty comprehensive for the audience it is aimed at, though I do find the reading a bit bland and lifeless. Loses one star for being misleading about its content and two stars for the sheer number of mistakes and assumptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for building no-code SharePoint solutions, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning SharePoint 2013: Building Business Solutions (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
As of April 2013 there is still a lack of in-depth SharePoint 2013 books available.
This is my top recommendation of all the SharePoint 2013 books so far. It provides 600 pages divided into well-thought-out chapters and has numerous good exercises (Try-It-Outs).

NB. Wrox Press have a good history of technical books, but despite the title on Amazon this is not a 'Programmer' book. For that look for the developer title: Beginning SharePoint 2013 Development (Wrox Programmer to Programmer)

In this book 90% of the exercises can be done using the browser interface, no Visual Studio, and only occasional mention of SharePoint Designer 2013 (which is a free download).
The target audience is Site Owners, and Information Workers, and the information is presented in such a way as to not require previous SharePoint experience, (although it did not feel laboured to someone who has).

Software versions: SharePoint 2013 comes in 3 licensing models in this release, 1) SP Foundation, 2) SP Server, and 3) SharePoint Online. My only reservation about this book is that if you are only running SP Foundation, you might be discouraged to find certain functionality is not available, and the chapters and exercises do not always point this out for you. On the plus side, most differences in functionality presented by SP Online are well signposted, and are generally well explained.

Overall a really excellent book, accessibly written and well explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 not so pronounced, 24 May 2013
By 
Troels Parbst (København S, Denmark Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning SharePoint 2013: Building Business Solutions (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
There is nothing wrong with this book. As long as you emphasize the "Beginning" part.

This is an introductory book for SharePoint, not a roll-up of the new features introduced in SP 2013.
Moreover I didn't really find the level suiting, in spite of the publishers promises, this is not programmer to programmer. The book is nowhere near the programming level. Only stuff at an administrator level is introduced.

Buy it, if you know absolutely nothing about SharePoint and might as well start out with the 2013 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction to Sharepoint, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginning SharePoint 2013: Building Business Solutions (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
I am very new to SharePoint and needed a book that would get me up and running quickly. This book absolutely fits the bill. I agree with other reviewers that it is not a book for advanced programmers but it is great for beginners. It is well organised and clearly written. With its help I was able to get my first team site up and looking respectable within a couple of days. Definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginning SharePoint 2013: Building Business Solutions (Wrox Programmer to Programmer)
£18.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews