Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£23.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 15 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I knew that when I got this book that, as not being a Maya user, it would be beyond me to understand a lot of the language. Why did I get this then did you ask? Well I am a 3DS Max user with a bit of Cinema 4D thrown in and am interested in how other programmes function.

From my other 3D knowledge and from following a fair few tutorials over the years the wording and layout of this book is friendly and informative. If you have very limited experience with 3D (and indeed Maya) then this is not the book for you however and I'd put it aside until you've a more solid foundation as the book does assume quite a lot. For experienced Maya users though this is going to be perfect in you picking up new skills without being patronised.

The majority of the images in this book are clear, although it does fall into the trap of many books of it's type in asking you to refer to figures that are on the next page.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This title requires you to have a good intermediate-level knowledge of Maya. It assumes you know how to use all the tools and functions and is unforgiving in that respect. It is more of a guide to advanced-level use, getting the most out of the software, being efficient, and so on. Each of the projects is broken into it's constituent tasks, and this is where the value is; at some point, you will need to do something similar, and then this book becomes extremely useful. It is well written and laidout and professionally edited and produced, so not complaints there. Just know what you are buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is good, advanced and contains lots of nifty little tricks. But. This is quite a big but; I was left wondering whether this would better be described as a cookbook for creating certain effects rather than understanding the reasons/how for their creation.

Whilst I can appreciate that this is not meant to be a beginners book, nor need it be, the issue remains that often the tutorials contained are exceptionally linear in their nature. Rather than working towards a single cohesive topic it instead spends 10-20 pages on each minor topic within a 60 page major topic. Therefore you find that this is more of an introductory approach to advanced methods, this is because whilst you may know how to do something from this book, you shall not truly understand the methodology behind it unless you delve much deeper. So this book really isn't instructional in that respect. Leave it on the desk for when you need that certain Texture/Particle/etc effect.

Let us for example take painting a picture of a house, you can learn how to paint a window, a brick, a rooftile, a door etc, then combine them into a house. The feeling that I got from completing a few of the chapters (I won't pretend to have completed every exercise) was that even the subchapters werent cumulative.

On the other hand, this approach has advantages, you can dip in and out where you want without a chapter having prerequisites (except for a basic understanding of creating a mesh, surface etc (it should be pointed out that this book isn't practically that complex - it just assumes familiarity with the program, particularly the scripting used is approachable for non-scripting people), perhaps another book shall follow which builds upon this, that would be cool :) .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Coming from a background in CAD, product illustration, figurative art, and so on, I've played around with a huge number of graphics packages over the years. Maya, of course, is at the most creative and dynamic end of the world. I've done very little animation in recent years, and most of that with, ahem, 3D Studio Max.

Anyway, this book is friendly and informative, but certainly not for beginners. It dips into some of the real power of Maya, in a series of tutorials, backed up by additional downloadable content. It's a colourful book, and a real boon to your Maya armoury, even delving into such things as scripting. It's a good-looking book, let down here and there by poor page design. The page layouts are sometimes annoying, with text and pictures sometimes back-to-back on pages, but other than that, I have no complaints about its design or content.

Maya offers almost infinite creative possibilities, but that comes with a steep learning curve. You'll certainly need to have a firm understanding of Maya before taking on what's in this book. I say that because it assumes a lot of prior knowledge. Don't expect any beginners' handholding here; you'll get none of that, but then beginning is not what this book is about. As such, it stays close to its brief, and does exactly what it says on the cover.

As an only occasional Maya user, I found it tough going, but I expected that. To a professional user, or someone studying animation with Maya at degree level, I'd say this is a must-have book.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very nice book packed with practical step-by-step guides, helpful illustrations and links to downloadable exercise files.

It's laid out in 8 chapters with 3 sections to each they cover texture, particle and joint rigging (for animation) for effects, also covered are creative blend shape techniques, paint effects, nCloth techniques (usually used for simulating the movement of clothing), fluid effects and nHair and fur effects (obviously for creating realistic hair/fur). The nCloth chapter alone shows you how to melt a complex gun model, trap 3D text in a spider web and animate a drop of water.

I knew I was probably... (make that definitely) 'punching over my weight' when I read the introduction: 'Who should buy this book'....'this is not a beginner Maya book'
I have made some attempt to get to grips with Maya and watched a lot of tutorials on-line over the years but this software is fiendishly clever and always has another trick (make that Menu, drop-down or Option) up it's complicated sleeve(s)! That said this book gives you step by step guidance to achieving these innovative effects and with perseverance, you will be able to get some astounding results. This is a friendly, well written guide and, for those with a decent understanding of Maya, a very helpful book that encourages the sort of 'thinking outside the box' innovation that makes for memorable 3D graphics and animation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a nicely put together guidebook that talks you through a number of small effects projects. The writers assume a good understanding of Maya and more than a passing familiarity with the meshing and animating, so if you're looking for a jumping-on point, this is not the book to turn to. The text is instructive rather than informative and there are numerous illustrations to help reinforce what the projects are trying to achieve. If you are after a text to help enhance your animation and effects skills this may be a suitable title to browse through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Warning: not for the layman.

I'm not an IT dullard; I work in the industry for a living and therefore feel I have a certain amount of aptitude. I was wrong. This is a complex text and a complex piece of software - tread ye not here if you don't have a good wide grounding in meshing amongst other things. There is a wide range of topics covered and the book does go in to good depth. Certainly recommended as a desk reference for the professional with a good working knowledge of Maya - not for the uninitiated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is aimed at Maya users who have a good basic knowledge of the software and are looking to expand their horizons.Each chapter contains tutorials on various Maya tools with plenty of high quality illustrations and links to the Sybex website to enable downloading of the project files.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Good project and easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
of your software, if you have used this software before this guide will help you get more from it . its full of ideas and downloadable options(links to the Sybex website for downloading project files) and is clear and easy to read and work through. in my opinion a great addition to the software, good to keep handy for reference when needed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)