Customer Reviews


3 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but Perhaps a Bit of a Billboard
First things first - this is a beautiful object, but as a fan of the hand drawing I do have a bit of a bias. It contains some of the most beautiful architectural drawings I have seen in a long time and has been impeccably put together. Insights from the contributors are generally very helpful in deciphering the complexity of some of them, but not always. Some definitely...
Published 18 months ago by Arcadian

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
No drawings in this glorified magizine have anything to do with architecture. Look somewhere else for inspirado!!
Published 2 months ago by M heath

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, but Perhaps a Bit of a Billboard, 27 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Architecture AD (Architectural Design) (Paperback)
First things first - this is a beautiful object, but as a fan of the hand drawing I do have a bit of a bias. It contains some of the most beautiful architectural drawings I have seen in a long time and has been impeccably put together. Insights from the contributors are generally very helpful in deciphering the complexity of some of them, but not always. Some definitely remain an enigma, and some more full page drawings would be nice in order to really get into what they're all about.

A great deal of care has been taken in constructing everything about it, and I suppose that comes from guest editor Neil Spiller's very graphic sensibility, but also his experience in editing AD (he must surely be one of the most featured guest editors in AD's history?!).

My criticism would be that it comes across slightly like a manifesto for the Architecture Department at the University of Greenwich, Spiller's own school. Members of the Greenwich staff turn up frequently within its pages to present the work they have been responsible for midwifing into the world. They are clearly doing some amazing things down there, but I can't help but feel that it comes across a little heavy-handedly. Not much of a criticism, but it's a thinly veiled advert for the school, which is fair enough, they need it - they have been getting a bit of a drubbing in the tables from what one can only assume is a difficult transitional period.
I recommend this if you don't already collect the series, and if you do, you should look forward to what I consider a nice breath of fresh air in the increasingly CAD plastered pages of AD. Mild criticisms aside, it gets 5 stars for the shear beauty of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 17 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Architecture AD (Architectural Design) (Paperback)
No drawings in this glorified magizine have anything to do with architecture. Look somewhere else for inspirado!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Georgi, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing Architecture AD (Architectural Design) (Paperback)
I chose to rate the product with 5 stars because this issue of Architectural Design gave me inspiration to keep developing my hand drawing skills in architecture and explore further ways of representation of architectural drawings. I am recommending it to other students, professionals and even to the general public because it is understandibly written, clear, concise and probably the best AD issue to date. It gives place to young talented architects so you will see a lot of diploma project drawings as well as works from world-renowed architects. Keep in mind it comes in A4 size and Royal Mail will leave a note if you are not there to receive it and sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
     Online Architect Ads opens new browser window
  www.yodle.com/Architect-Advertising   -   Download our Free Marketing Guide & Pull Clients Your Competitor Gets.
     Architecture Contest opens new browser window
  www.grandprixcasalgrandepadana.com/   -   Total Prizes Over 37,000 euro. Join Today!
     Architectural Design opens new browser window
  www.athenaarchitectural.co.uk/design   -   Athena Architectural Offer Bespoke Window Design, Call Us Today!

This product

Drawing Architecture AD (Architectural Design)
Drawing Architecture AD (Architectural Design) by Neil Spiller (Paperback - 20 Sept. 2013)
£19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Archi-Doodle: An Architect's Activity Book
Archi-Doodle: An Architect's Activity Book by Steve Bowkett (Paperback - 14 Oct. 2013)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25)   
Buy new£10.36
In stock

Architects' Sketchbooks
Architects' Sketchbooks by Will Jones (Hardcover - 7 Mar. 2011)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17)   
Buy new£26.91
In stock

Architectural Drawing
Architectural Drawing by David Dernie (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2014)
4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9)   
Buy new£21.21
In stock