Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars *Like*
Buy this book now. It will be out of date by next Tuesday lunchtime (a fact that several of its authors recognise) having been compiled and written late in 2011 and early 2012. But for now it's a useful guide to social media for PR workers.

The format is of several short chapters, each the equivalent of a 5- to 10-minute speech, highlighting one aspect of the...
Published 22 months ago by Patrick Neylan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful Tool
This will have a historic legacy in, say, a decade or so. The observations and truisms will have been put to the test and certainly the commoditisation of public social relationships will have moved on. As it stands it is a digest of current thinking and practise, well written and informative. It is a book that the practitioner would do well to frequent before deciding to...
Published 22 months ago by I. P. Gearing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars *Like*, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Buy this book now. It will be out of date by next Tuesday lunchtime (a fact that several of its authors recognise) having been compiled and written late in 2011 and early 2012. But for now it's a useful guide to social media for PR workers.

The format is of several short chapters, each the equivalent of a 5- to 10-minute speech, highlighting one aspect of the revolution from the point of view of PR professionals. There are few blinding insights, although it's surprisingly light on management-speak and PR gobbledygook, and for the most part is concise and informative.

It doesn't always avoid those pitfalls. Philip Sheldrake's explanation of Web 3.0 is so cursory that one wonders whether he really understands it himself (it's going to be "semantic", apparently), although he is far more lucid when explaining how great other people think he is. Elsewhere, after what seemed a simple enough explanation of PR skills, Daljit Bhurji concluded: "We need to eat our own dog food when it comes to social media," which left me scratching my head and wondering whether I'd understood him after all. Top gobbledygook prize goes to Simon Collister for: "Fully networked 'Join In' non-profits operate as just another node within social media-enabled networks"; a sentence that seems fully leveraged for SEO ecosystem solutions.

The book has been compiled by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations, which is as respectable a provenance as you can get in PR, and the fact that it has several authors, all of whom are writing for an editor who understands their business, means that (the above examples aside) there is a welcome lack of Ego-Guru nonsense.

So it's a dry but readily comprehensible reference book; one that most companies should have a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked and shared., 20 Jan 2013
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The fact that this book has been researched by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations gives it some gravitas, even before reading it.

The contents are to an academic standard, ie serious reading, as opposed to some of the slightly fluffier, brighter tomes available on the subject of social networking.

However, I found it really useful and interesting reading. I liked the way that tweets, for example, are broken down into types which are then explained further. Understanding the different types of tweets is essential for using Twitter as a successful marketing tool.

I've been using various social networking sites for 10 years now, but I definitely learnt from reading this book, and it has given me plenty of ideas. I have noticed a difference in the way I approach social networking now, and it's a change for the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Social Media the New PR Frontier?, 5 Dec 2012
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is the culmination of research by the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) Social Media Panel, and shows best practice and applied theory - papers submitted by 20 leading social media consultants in the UK, from various related backgrounds.
The book is divided up into 8 topic areas, these then are sub divided into short chapters and are not overtly technical and are almost `lay-person' friendly, giving information in a concise way. None the less this is for all intense and purposes a handbook, and assumes the reader is knows the tenets of subject at hand.

The rise of social media and its rapidly changing nature, and the way it interfaces with the people is something that is radically changing landscape of brands. This then leads to the next progression of how brands communicate with their audiences/consumers. To be adept in social media is to stay ahead of the opposition and offer real benefit to your client. This hand book tries to do exactly that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ahead of the game!, 20 Nov 2012
By 
M. Dasani (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Social media is exploding all over the place; it has been for years and it doesn't look to be slowing down any time soon.

Social media plays a massive part in the Public Relations scene and unfortunately many PRs are still behind on the game. Being proficient in social media is a skill set that every PR must have to stay ahead of the competition and offer an advantage to their clients.

The book will give you that edge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - puts you on the right path to understanding social media, 2 Oct 2012
I bought this book after listening to Mark and co talking at the Social Media Week Conference. Having devoured the first 100 pages before bed I found the book extremely useful.

It gives a real insight into social media and, unlike many others, actually creates a framework for measurement - most books seem to skirt away from measurement but Share This tackles it head on.

Each chapter gives you information you can take away and use - the tips and tools the book recommend are accessible and mainly free.

I think the best three things about the book are:
* after reading a chapter you can seen a clear way to implement it into your own business (having cursed yourself for not thinking of it earlier)
* the links included at the end of each chapter help you get started straight away
* each author is linked to after their chapter and actually respond to any questions you have - I asked @wadds and @simonsanders questions after reading their chapters and they came back to me.

How many other books help you and let you get in touch with the authors?

The book and authors impressed me, so I asked them to recommend me some others to read - which I've bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful information in bite size chunks, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Bee of Good Cheer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
In "real life" I'm a Communications Manager for a small national charity, and use social media on a daily basis.

This book is a useful addition to my work bookshelf. It moves smoothly between theory and practice, and each topic is covered in chapters that are short, punchy and to the point. It discusses all types and incarnations of social media, including blogs, Twitter, Facebook - and speculates on what could be the "next big thing". It quite clearly lays out pros and cons of using social media, and is particularly strong on when using social media isn't appropriate - something more management boards should be aware of!

Of course, this is a book to consume - and use - now, as the scene is so fast moving. I've already used some of the evidence presented to back up arguments for changes to our own social media strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leading professionals develop social media theory and practice, 30 Aug 2012
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A collection of 26 papers by leading UK-based social media professionals, Share This joins The Social Media MBA at the top of the tree for expert-led analysis, theory and practice of social media.

While there are many books out there telling you how to tweet, use Facebook and run online advertising, most of them are practical how-to advice of the 'this is how I do it and you should too' variety. Share This, which has come from the Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR)'s Social Media Panel, argues from theory to practice and is aimed squarely at professionals who -- for the most part -- will be the in-house expert at whichever company they work at.

Share This is mainly focused on corporate Social Media. It attempts to connect the desires and expectations of the social media-using community with the legitimate aspirations of businesses and the expertise of traditional PR practitioners. In doing so it sets some significant challenges to the profession, and also to the unscrupulous practices of some of the new self-style social media gurus.

This book significantly lifts the level of debate around social media practice. It gives it a real theoretical basis, a framework for measurement, and a coherent system of analysis. What's more, the practical examples and guidance are generally helpful, and any one of these papers can be applied quickly by an in-house team to see real gains in the short term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best help-handbook, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
In doubt? This book has it ALL! As a small company I was kicked out online. I was already on social platforms, but this made me use it properly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight into how Social Media is changing the comms landscape, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
I'm just about to finish this book, and can't wait for Share This Too to come out!

It's a great insight into how Social Media has changed PR and comms in general. Each of the writers are an expert in their field so you know what they're saying is sensible, and while not giving you the answers they pose questions which help you find your own answer. As an internal communicator, I particularly enjoyed Rachel Miller's section on Corporate comms.

This book has something for everyone and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A readable social media handbook, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals (Hardcover)
'Share This', ironically, should be published as an online living publication but here it is as a hard copy crowd-sourced set of contributed chapters. In that form it is dated from the moment it was handed into the publishers and, while it is a bit ragged in its consistency, it is a very useful survey of current thinking in 2011/12 for practitioners and those seeking to make sense of social media's value. It is a good purchase but will be dated quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals
Share This: The Social Media Handbook for PR Professionals by Chartered Institute of Public Relations Social Media Panel (Hardcover - 20 July 2012)
12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews