Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Suits me
Bought this having looked through several books in the same vein at my library. This is as clear as any and has the advantage that you can download Visual Studio Express (2012) from Microsoft for nothing and then follow it through the book. There's now a later version of Visual Studio Express (2013) and doubtless the book will reprint in the fullness of time.
Published 11 months ago by El-Bandido

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy
I initially bought this book to give me a good impression of what c# can do. The authors explanations in the book are clear and concise but i would not recommend this book.

I paid for the book so i expect the basics such as structs to be in the book, but they are not instead the authors have been quite lazy and direct you to the books website to learn about...
Published 6 months ago by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lazy, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
I initially bought this book to give me a good impression of what c# can do. The authors explanations in the book are clear and concise but i would not recommend this book.

I paid for the book so i expect the basics such as structs to be in the book, but they are not instead the authors have been quite lazy and direct you to the books website to learn about them. There are lots of occurrences where the authors direct you to the website to learn about things which they call bonus material but as this is a book on c# 5.0 they should be included in the book! Furthermore the book needs more examples.

I was also drawn in by the "7 books in 1" line on the cover, and while the authors do topics like SOA, wpf etc it is not in sufficient depth and yet again the examples are lacking. There is also no coverage of topics like linq, parallel programming, asynchronous programming etc.

Overall i feel the whole book is badly ordered and has been rushed into publication.

If you want a comprehensive debrief on C# i recommend c# 5.0 in a nutshell or pro c# and .net. Avoid like a plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Suits me, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
Bought this having looked through several books in the same vein at my library. This is as clear as any and has the advantage that you can download Visual Studio Express (2012) from Microsoft for nothing and then follow it through the book. There's now a later version of Visual Studio Express (2013) and doubtless the book will reprint in the fullness of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed., 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
A tad large for a reference book but its brilliant to have on one side, literally anyone could learn c# from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much information, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
A bit difficult to follow at times. A lot of info in a short space. Best used as a coding companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsoem!, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
Very useful has got me started into programming.
Goes very in depth is friend for both beginners and veteran programmers
Would Recommend for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C# For Dummies Review, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
Great Book - Have been mainly programming in C++ and just now considering trying C#. Glad I bought. book like brand new and I received in a few days ( within the week )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All You Need To Know About C#, 20 Jun 2013
By 
AndyBSG "A. Graham" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
The '.. For Dummies' series of books are invaluable reference guides and this latest C# one is no exception.

As a Programmer of some years experience I have been looking to learn C# for a while and this book has proven to be more than up to the task.

It is a large book and covers all you could possibly want, building up from simple console applications and progressing all the way through to conditional expressions, screen design, security considerations, loops, mathematical operations and the dreaded 'classes'.

As well as all this information on C# you also get a whole chapter devoted to using Visual Studio and web forms as well as several chapters on the vital .NET framework.

In short, if you only buy one book on C# then this is definitely the one you want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As usual an excellent "For Dummies" book, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
As usual an excellent "For Dummies" book. Easy to read, easy to follow and makes the learning experience really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book., 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
A great book for learning C sharp, and a great reference to grow your knowledge of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies (Paperback)
Fantastic book which includes sections on OOP. I recommend it for programming beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies
C# 5.0 All-in-One For Dummies by Stephen R. Davis (Paperback - 5 Feb 2013)
£17.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews