Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars38
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£17.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 25 October 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I think the author actually mentions this but it is worth keeping in mind: you will undoubtedly need more than just this book to pass PRINCE2! The official manual, flashcards, a testing system --these are all required. Those are the things that this book lacks. But where it lacks a good testing engine (multiple choice isn't helpful in many respects but can get you somewhere at least) it makes up for in concise concepts. If anyone is studying for this exam you know that things need to be condensed and concisely delivered to enhance the possibility of actually remembering the processes for the exam!!!! Good- but there are better out there. I would use this as "additional reading" and definitely find better testing methods too.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I got this book for my son in law, who is to take the Prince2 exams soon. He has found it useful, and I thank him for his input into this review. This is not a textbook, but a revision manual. It needs to be used alongside other course books. It does have plenty of interesting and useful tips, and follows the usual For Dummies format of breaking down the material into digestible chunks and has quick quizzes at the end of each section to check that you've understood it, and also some sample exam questions that are particularly useful. It has the usual For Dummies conversational style which is very readable. Useful for anyone taking the Prince2 exams; a bit esoteric for anyone else.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
I used this as a revision tool prior to taking the P2 Practitioner. I found the content was well laid out and supported the P2 manula well. The quizzes really helped prepare me for the exam and the timings set for each test at the end of each chapter helped me get the right pace for the practitioner exam. Get this and 'P2 for Dummies' ahead of the P2 course and I can guarantee you will have a much better chance of passing the P2 Practitioner Exam.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Definitely not a textbook for learning PRINCE2, but that is not what it is trying to be.

Written to be used alongside other books and/or courses, there are simple hints and tips on how to pass the exams. More importantly, it looks at what the exam questions are really trying to get at, what it the thinking behind them and how to approach the Foundation and Practitioner exams. There is a lot of material here - as an example, the practice practitioner questions on Closing a Project in Chapter 10 do not just have the answers but also explanations and cross-references to the relevant part of the PRINCE2 manual.

I like the style of the writing. It is conversational, covering the material in the way I would expect a good teacher to do if presenting in a class.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 July 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Do not for a second imagine that this you can see this as a book about project management; on the contrary, this book exists for only reason, and that is to help you pass the exam. And to be honest that's as it should be - that's what it says on the tin, after all. With that in mind it does its job pretty well. There are lots of sample exam questions, and the whole syllabus (for both exams) is covered. While you'd be advised to combine it with the course materials if you engage with this book it might be all you need to be able to pass.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
Bought this book as a package of three books to help pass the PRINCE2 Exams. These certainly help. I bought these in addition to the manual which you also need but they are still worth it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've reviewed a few of these for dummies books now, and it never fails to impress me how good they are.

Each book offers a clear and concise guide to the basics of any given subject. It's not a definitive walk through, but more of beginner's intro.

In my opinion, these books are essential for anyone who needs to start revising a subject.
This book in particular has test exam questions and a revision guide. Hard to argue with that really.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I think the key thing about this book is that it is a supplement that provides advice and practice examples for doing the PRINCE2 basic and practitioner exams and you need to have access to a PRINCE2 manual and maybe a second PRINCE2 book as well.

The book is a nice size for a workbook - not quite A4, shorter and fatter but makes it easy to keep open and write on.

I liked Part 1 which is about doing the exam, how to deal with exam nerves and the like and is probably just good advice.

In parts 2, 3 and 4, each chapter deals with a significant process. It gives advice for the basic and practitioner exams, followed by key points and test questions. I like the test questions, when I've done these things before I find practice questions really useful - although you can end up depending a bit heavily on the questions and then the exam turns up and the style changes and you can be taken by surprise.

I haven't done the exam yet but I reckon this is supportive book if you are studying on your own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 May 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A useful revision guide. This will need to be used in conjunction with Managing Successful Projects with PRINCE2 from the Stationery Office and also the official past papers. YOu cannot managed without these other items.

The Revision guide is excellent. It clearly sets out what you need to do, not just in terms of the subject matter but how to go about revising. Useful if it is a while since you last took and exam.

The Guide goes through each area checks your understanding of the key areas and they gives you a set of question on that area at both Foundation and Practitioner level. It also gives the answers. All very clear.

There is a chapter for each of the Number sections in the Manual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My company wanted to put me through Prince2 and so I ordered this book to support the course. In the book it is clear that this is not a standalone guide and the author suggests you participate in a course. You also need the Prince2 manual. I used an online study package which was dull but comprehensive, the manual and topped up with this book. About a week of study later I did a formal revision day then sat the exams in a long morning passing both. The more you study the more likely you are to pass and this book definitely helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)