Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A business psychology book that treats psychology as a science
This is pretty much the only business marketing book I could find with a true grounding in psychology as a science. There are a few others that claim to be grounded in psychology, but they either don't really tell you anything practical, or don't actually base their claims on evidence. This book does both.

The basic theory is that people make purchase...
Published 7 months ago by Robert Joyce

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars unfulfilling for me
The book has a 6 chapter content:

- Decision Science: Understanding the Why of Consumer Behaviour
- The Moment of Truth: Decoding Purchase Decision
- Decoding the Interface: How the Autopilot Perceives Touchpoints
- Optimizing the Path to Purchase: The Decision Interface Makes the Difference
- Goals: The Driving Forces of Purchase...
Published 16 months ago by Su


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and accessible, 16 May 2013
By 
R. A. Mansfield "bertieronbob" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really interesting and informative look at the psychology behind why people buy things and make the choices they do.

Phil Barden uses clear, easy-to-understand illustrations to make his points and also provides useful summaries at the end of each chapter to help reinforce his points.

If I have one criticism, it's that there it occasionally becomes a bit too technical, making the points difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marketing works - what will you do for your shoppers?, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
There is an amazing fact near the start of Decoded, a new book from marketer Phil Barden. The average person takes 1.7 seconds to process the information in an advertisement in a magazine.

But this does not really matter because all good marketing needs is this 1.7 seconds. People are programmed to respond quickly to the hundreds of thousands of things they "see" every day.

If the marketing is right for what we are looking for, we will find the products we need. Even if we make mistakes, as we all do, all the time. But if we "were to reflectively think about every purchase decision in the supermarket, it would take so long to do our shopping that we would starve to death."

Barden's work builds on the field of behavioural economics pioneered by Nobel prize winner Daniel Kahneman, whose brilliant book Thinking Fast and Slow demonstrates that the way people behave is not as economists would like to think.

In a chapter on optimising the path to purchase, Barden shows how good marketing can change behaviour without changing minds. This is a must read chapter for retailers interested in laying out their shops to maximise sales.

In a 2006 paper two American academics showed how they could change what people ate by changing the order that food was presented in a canteen. For example:

· Broccoli was placed at the front and consumption rose by 10 per cent.

· Apples and oranges were put in a nice bowl and sales doubled.

· The ice cream freezer lid was changed to opaque and the number of students buying ice cream dropped from 30 per cent to 14 per cent.

· Including fruit in a fixed price lunch deal led to a 71 per cent increase in consumption. Making people pay more for cookies resulted in a 55 per cent fall in consumption.

· Putting the salad bar in front of the checkout tripled sales.

· Putting the chocolate milk behind the plain milk, making it difficult to reach, led to more students choosing plain milk.

"What these examples show is not exclusive to food consumption. They illustrate a general, fundamental result of decision science: that decisions are strongly influenced not only by what is presented but to a high degree by how it is presented," writes Barden.

"Classical economic theory is unable to explain these effects because the objective value and the objective costs of the lunch item have not changed. Broccoli is broccoli, whether it is placed at the beginning or in the middle of the lunch line."

As you read, ideas will spring forth for your shop. Consider a Snickers promotion, Barden cites. A sign "buy some for your freezer" resulted in average sales of 1.4 Snickers bars. A sign "buy 18 for your freezer" increased the average sale to 2.6. Think about it!

While at times this book is heavy on the science, it is a very rewarding read. A lot of the findings are common sense. But often we fail to apply common sense when we put our own objectives ahead of our customers' objectives. Reading Decoded will help you make money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent bridge between marketing and psychology, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
Behavioural economics has been the mot-du-jour in the marketing world for a few years now. Whilst many a media planner and the odd creative agency planner and brand strategist talk it up, there are few books that have successfully linked the latest psychology and neuroscience findings to marketing and branding. Until now. Decoded is both incredibly accessible and solid on the science bits. It offers practical guidance on how to capitalise on the teachings on Kahneman, Ariely, Cialdini, Thaler and the like. And a nice neat summary of each chapter provides a simple aide memoire.

Barden draws on his many years experience as a senior marketer at some of the world's leading consumer organisations, so he knows what he's talking about at the sharp end. But what this book really brings is a marriage of insight and practice. I have no axe to grind - this really is a great read for anyone wanting to know why consumers behave the way they do and how marketing efforts can be optimised to reflect this. Top stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for all marketers, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
There's no shortage of great reading material on behavioural economics and its related fields - but how all that insight should be used in marketing hasn't always been clear. 'Decoded' does an excellent job of explaining the theory and applying it to marketing practice.

For readers who are new to what psychology and behavioural science explain about our decision making, 'Decoded' will work as a very clear introduction to why we don't always act in expected ways - for example, why a speed camera isn't as effective as getting us to slow down as a frowning face is, or why similar products can command completely different prices, simply because of a difference in the context in which they're bought.

But even for anyone familiar with behavioural science, the book's biggest strength is in how Barden takes what academics have learnt and illustrates what marketers should do with it. 'Decoded' never reads like an instruction manual, but each element of why people buy (how they respond to the interface and context, what their true motivations are) and what marketers can do about that (designing the interface, conveying signals that address customers' goals) is very clearly set out and carefully explained. All concepts are illustrated with real-life case studies - these aren't untested ideas.

As a side note, the book is also better for two things it doesn't do: firstly, there's no mention of people behaving 'irrationally', a term with roots in a flawed model of behaviour, and therefore not a very useful one; and secondly, 'emotion' - a common buzzword in marketing right now - is shown to be too vague to be useful. There are more helpful alternatives.

It's unlikely that anyone would claim that science can answer all of the marketing industry's questions. Intangible qualities like empathy will always matter. But there's no question that the industry could do with a dose of good science - for that, start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thoroughly researched and credible journey through both the human mind and the way in which it interprets brands. A great place to start your reading with numerous references throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why we buy, 16 May 2013
By 
R. Tait (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really good overview of branding and marketing, backed up by the unsettling field of neuromarketing. There's strong, applicable advice, practical for marketing, designers and sales people of all kinds. It's equally a popular science book and marketing handbook.

There's some excellent case studies (including the Tropicana relaunch disaster). I found the concept of buyers using brands as placebos particularly interesting. A useful manual for marketing professionals and sociopaths of all kinds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When information becomes digestable analogies and well presented market research, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
As a complete new comer to marketing research, this book is a fantastic start point for anyone who holds even the slightest interest in marketing. The information is digestable and relevant, Phils use of analogy allows any potential communication boundaries to be overcome. The book appeals to all levels of marketers because you can immerse yourself at all levels, from superficial observation to the real science behind decision making. The biggest compliment I can pay this book is that it makes painfully obvious observations, after you've read the text. It feels as though you should know it already but it takes a book like this to really articulate your current observations and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - A big step forward in consumer understanding!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
As someone who has spent many years in market research roles, this book came as a breath of fresh air. It has enabled me to understand why some of the outputs and conclusions of the research projects I worked on were, quite simply, misleading.
The new perspective offered here, backed by science, has massive implications for the way we think about consumers and hence for both marketing and market research alike.
I found the book to be not just informative, but fascinating and easy to read. It is also very helpful in pointing out potential applications of the new learning in a marketing context.
I strongly recommend it to anyone who is interested in why we behave as we do, and not merely to those directly involved in marketing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling and vital, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
Seeing what Mark Earls said about this book triggered the herd instinct in me and I bought it! I'm delighted I did. As a senior marketer it's the first time I've really been able to understand buying behaviour. It also answered many questions about my advertising that no-one else had been able to. I read it in one sitting! I'm going to get my CMO to read it and then make some serious changes to the way we operate. I'd read Kahneman as well and this book applies what he says to the world of brands, marketing and advertising. Mark says it's a 'must read'. I agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy (Hardcover)
Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy
Decoded: The Science Behind Why We Buy by Phil Barden (Hardcover - 1 Feb 2013)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews