Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2014
Very limited in its case studies - they tend to focus on small, startup-type organisations and so there's quite a lot of interpretation. Some interesting premises though, and worth a skim if not a careful read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I know Will a bit. have done some work with him and have enjoyed his talks. my business is moving forward and we are facing a number of positive challenges: new team etc. I found this book uplifting and inspiring. Above all it made me realise that business can be a positive force and that you can use business to create a different world and you can be radical in a business context and successful. it really brought home the fact that different methods of management are required now. It is also honest about the practical difficulties. And there are lots of links to follow up the ideas. Well done Will and thanks for writing the book. Which is a great handbook
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 February 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
McInnes's ideas acknowledge the need for strong business acumen yet embraces concepts such as ethics, purpose, the power of the consumer, and the happiness and wellbeing of employees.

This is a terrific, inspiring book. McInnes keeps the pace fast and lively, and he packs the book with lots of ideas and examples.

Some of the ideas and case studies are also considered in Gary Hamel's What Matters Now: How to Win in a World of Relentless Change, Ferocious Competition, and Unstoppable Innovation - and both books are worth reading. As with Hamel's book, the ideas outlined are radical yet seem so sensible.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The world is changing! Business must adapt to it! We are experiencing a cultural paradigm shift! Business must Listen!

It must be flexible! It must be the New Punk! It must be

Focused/Dynamic/Lightfooted/Determined/Frisky/Shocking/Shockable/Crazy/Sensible/Responsive/Singleminded/Sustainable/Aware/Responsible but most of all On The Money.

You are now of course invited to circle any or all of the above you want to incorporate into your 21st century business model.

And heard it all before in countless other books trying to be sassy and counter-cultural over the past few years? Of course you have. And in that way this book is not really that different from many others. It is however presented in an infectious, zappy way that is alluring but still with the occasional nagging feeling that it is not really as new and groundbreaking in its ideas as it likes to think it is, and for that reason I've given this book three rather than four stars. It's almost leftist/liberal in its position on progressive, democratic business environments and ethical trading, and the book is on the right track in this area, and this aspect of the changing face of business is very well presented by the authors.

So all in all it is a good read and if you are newish to business self-help guides this is as good a place as any to start in 2013, even though 'free' market capitalism is of course on its knees and too punch drunk to stand up again with anything like it's former swagger. Globalisation itself is changing the world business structure by the minute, and everything is up for grabs, including possibly the dominance of a centrally planned, bureaucratic capitalism/corporatism such as the Chinese model, over the limping, western neoliberal one. As such all the enthusiastic new paradigm philosophy in the world isn't going to make a ha'peth of difference to that sorry state of affairs I fear, as we may well in the West be finding ourselves having to peer beyond the wreckage of capitalism to Do Business. This is a neat little book to help us on our way though, so worth a look.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
Disclaimer: I know Will. We work in the same town, in the same line of business and have evolved our approaches in parallel, you might say. We're different in our views - but it is fair to say we share many values and models for understanding the world.

That said, he wouldn't want me to be anything but honest...

So, who should read Culture Shock?

If there's a spectrum of people starting with people deeply interested I ideas like democratic workplaces and ethical business and at the other end people who people who stress the primacy of the market and the progressive, positive influence of its invisible hand, then it will be people who lean towards the former that will get the most from this book.

It's a rallying call to sympathetic souls, to galvanise and have the courage of their beliefs to try and create different types of businesses.

In an endorsement at the start, Dan McQuillan nails it when he calls Culture Shock "the field notes of a pioneer".

Will has absorbed the best books from Semler to Hsieh, the best case studies - from Noma to Gore - and spent the last decade or so putting them into practice in his own business.

The book is a rich seam of thinking, evidence and management how-to guides. If you are interested in how a transparent, democratic business might work, this book will tell you. And then give some evidence. Actually, the number of strong case studies is really impressive, and while you may have heard a couple there were a lot that were new to me and probably will be to you.

It is also completely without guile. This is not a self-consciously clever book, it is just clever. Though it was written by a talented public speaker it is not rhetorical - it is plain spoken, direct and practical.

This book is not for everyone. It will displease a lot of people. But, if you're open to the idea of business with a more human, kinder streak to it, this is a brilliant, compelling, urgent read.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Great, enlightening and fast romp of a read into what it takes to open up and build organisations that frankly don't suck in the way that most do.

With very simple, practical ideas and some deeper philosophy to guide and frame examples, Will brings a big dose of humanity to anyone responsible for building teams, organisations or businesses.

As an innovator and fledgling social entrepreneur, I wish I'd had something like this from the outset of creating our venture. Read this and Unbossed, and you've got what it takes to make an organisation awesome.

Nice one Will!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
I agree, my title does sound like it could be a bit of an overstatement, but after reading this book I truly felt inspired to do things differently in my workplace.

Some of the ideas might not be for everyone, but there IS something for everybody in this book and I've been preaching about it constantly since I finished it. I would also say that I finished it in two train journeys...on the way to London and on the way back!

If you're serious about wanting to change how your company does business, and you want to find out more about how to do that then this book is perfect for you. If you're not sure if you want to change your business, but you'd like to find out more about how and why you could do it, this book is perfect for you. If you don't want to change your business, then you need to know why you're wrong...and this book is perfect for you. Basically, this book is perfect for you...so buy it now!
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 September 2013
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I found this book offered an interesting range of ideas on how to develop a flat culture within your organisation in order to encourage staff at all levels to engage, take ownership and come up with and implement innovative ideas. It was also easy to read and kept me interested throughout.

I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in organisational culture and is keen to find new ways of working which will inspire and empower staff at all levels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 July 2014
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I quite approve of some of the concepts, putting ideas other than pure profit in the goals of a business, and integrating consideration of employees and the speed of information in the 21st century into your business processes. However, there are too many points where the book is a complete turn-off.
Too many examples are talking up either the author's company or WorldBlu, the author is selective on details about companies it lauds (praising Google for its 20% time but ignoring its financial record when complaining about companies not paying tax, for example), and sometimes the author just comes across as not liking certain things (such as repeatedly referring to IT departments as an obstacle). None of the assertions are adequately backed up by anything verifiable, so in the end this comes across as a diatribe for a socially inclusive, democratic business structure without any real substance. It claims being a social business will improve the solidity of its finances, but without suggesting how it may result in this. Totally unconvincing.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2014
Format: HardcoverVine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is one lovely book, nice quality paper, great quality printing, and I was absolutely hooked by it...couldnt put it down.
If this is the kind of thing youre interested in, you cant do much better than take a look at this!

Very highly recommended!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
World's Leading Survey Platform. Get Real Feedback From Employees.